Quincunx

Quincunx

by Charles Palliser

Paperback(Reprint)

$20.00 $22.00 Save 9% Current price is $20, Original price is $22. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Quincunx 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This hefty volume is a real page-turner--I was glued to it for about 4 days--as well as being an extraordinary tour de force. The plot is an intricate and far-flung labyrinth with unexpected twists at every turn. If you like to savor puzzles, this is a great one. It's patterned on a Victorian novel, and its scrupulously accurate descriptions of the wretched underside of Victorian society are extraordinarily vivid. Like a Dickens novel, it's populated with striking characters from all walks of life, especially the underclass. And the writing is very good. But there was one aspect that put a damper on my enjoyment and stood out as a striking anachronism for a book aspiring to Victorian novelhood. The chapters have the kind of bouncy, chirpy period titles like those I remember from the cheerful books of my youth like Little Women and they led me to expect a certain Victorian-style heartiness in the tone of the story. However, except for the first section, the rest of the novel is a story of sheer unrelieved misery, evil, and hopelessness. The author seems to have bent over backwards to systematically demolish every prospect of help or escape and eradicate any possibility of lasting happiness or hope, no matter how small. Even Dickens' grimmest novels offer comic relief, and they usually offer a ray of hope or a chance of happiness at the end for some decent character or other as well. Victorian writers lived in an optimistic era, and in the books I'm familiar with, glimmers of that optimism are generally evident in their work. (Villette is a striking exception, for those who like gloom.) It's not that I prefer saccharin endings, but in my view, the relentless blackness of the Quincunx's worldview reflects more of the sardonic mindset of a'90's novelist than it does a Victorian one. Whether this is supposed to make it more 'realistic' to match the taste of contemporary readers, I don't know, but I don't think that's necessarily achieved by taking the opposite extreme in an effort to flee conventional happy endings. In any event, the novel's inexorable woefulness wore me down after a while. In the end, it left me feeling unusually depressed and also a little like I'd been had. I thought I was reading a novel that was supposed to be faithful to the spirit as well as the form of a 19th century novel, but at the end I discovered that it was actually a bit of turn-of-the-millenium nihilism tricked out in elaborate Victorian duds.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is perhaps one of the 10 best books I have ever read. It is an epic read but well worth the time you need to devote to it. There are many twists and turns, plots and counterplots that will keep you guessing and hanging on until the very end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One other theme of this book: the hero of the tale is a young boy whose adventures we trace until late teenhood (although his exact age is never made explicit). He is driven nearly mad by the quirks of fate, the conspiracies, the puzzles of the lost will and codicil, the elaborate family history, on and on. Even though I'm now 50, I resonated with his puzzlement and perplexity. My teen years (1960s!) were pretty confusing and I seemed to be in a perpetual fog. If you are a confused teen, or want to understand the bewilderment of life that some teens experience, this book will help. It inspired me in my role as a mental health counselor to have greater empathy for the perils of life in the teenage zone. I read mostly non-fiction, so to finish this 700+ page novel speaks to Palliser's great skill and incredible research of early 1800s London. One last note: family therapists frequently compile what are called "genograms" of the family tree, a visual map of who is related to whom and who had conflicts with whom, and so forth. I'm tempted to reread this novel and compile a genogram for John (the young boy/teen). Charles Palliser, if you're listening: Has one been done before? Your rough draft of plot lines, relationships, and characters must have taken up several walls (or gigabytes). Great job!
Guest More than 1 year ago
With more than a passing nod to Dickens and Collins, Palliser has written a fabulous pastiche of the Victorian Mystery Novel, pioneered by the above. Add to that all the degredation of 19th Century London, tricksters, prostitutes, body snatchers et al, this book has everything.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I devoured this richly detailed book, relishing the tale as well as it's brilliance of execution! It was a pleasure to be so thoroughly engaged by an imagination as rich as the author's, to temporarily occupy a world fully fleshed out with great care and research, as well as emotional complexity and depth. I highly recommend The Quincunx!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found myself becoming thickly involved with all aspects of this novel: the well-drawn characters; the historical richness; the social and moral implications; the harrowing dive into the ugliest of human hearts as well as a fair share of human compassion, forgiveness, and unbreakable will.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have just finished the Quincunx an hour ago, and I am still under the influence of its majestic writing. The story starts really slow like someone already mentioned, but after like 400 pages the story just goes faster never to settle down again. when in the first half you kept on reading by the intruige the writer makes. and in the second half of the book it gets you by the throat and it won't let you rest until you have finished reading. its truly wonderful how Palliser manages to describe all parts of the 19th century society, this book has so many details it is a historical document and it makes you think of the luck we have today. My overall impression is that this book is worth putting some time in because the experience you get in return is to remember for the rest of your life I just want to add that I read the Dutch version so I do believe the translater did jus job very good
sarbow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It starts off slow, but once the main cahracters get into london, the movie gets quite interesting and engaging.
bjbookman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Add a pinch of Trollope's 'Orley Farm' and some Dickens' "Bleak House" and a bit of Collins' 'Armadale" and a big helping of le Fanu's 'the Rose and the Key', you have this novel.
30oddyearsofzan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Quincunx is the first book I've read this year that I haven't been able to finish, although paradoxically I would still recommend it. Palliser's quasi-Victorian potboiler is meticuously researched and technically brilliant, but I found myself unable to warm to it, and its humourless, priggish hero. I managed 931 of the 1200-odd pages, but when I realised I'd worked out the villain about a hundred pages previously - and he was my favourite character - I gave up.Nevertheless, this is absorbing and well worth a read - I may well attempt to complete it in the future.
oddvark59 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Simply the greatest novel written in the second half of the twentieth century. Complex plot, complex characters, and a great Dickensian romp through London and the English countryside.
cabegley on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is so plot-driven that I hesitate to give much information, but suffice it to say that young John moves from the remote North countryside to London to try to discover the truth about his origins, slowly uncovering clues about an inheritance that may or may not rightfully belong to him. We travel with John all over London (and underneath it), encountering company both high and low.I was completely absorbed by this book, staying up several nights for hours past my usual bedtime in order to read just a little more. My heart raced for the last hour or so--when's the last time a book did that for me? The plotting is incredibly convoluted (at some point, I wished I had kept notes), but it all ties together beautifully. There is a wealth of period detail--apparently, Palliser spent twelve years researching--all of which weaves seamlessly into the story.Readers may be put off by the length--my hardcover copy is 788 pages of small type--but those who take it on will be amply rewarded. A highly recommended read!
shawnd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Umberto Eco meets Charles Dicken, with a little Anthony Trollope and Ian Caldwell thrown in. Not many British Victorian novels written in 1989 +/- 20 years but here it is. Deep, complex, fairly fast paced but not as accelerated as they've become since it was written. I recommend this. Small type and 700+ pages.
JBD1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A twisted and suspenseful Dickensian-style monster of a book, intensely absorbing and affecting. Well worth every page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great blend of history and fiction that you can't put down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. If you love Dickens, Wilkie Collins, etc., you will love this novel and be sad to see it end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From start to finish this book had me hooked!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
...frustratingly depressing. Read the 6th review posted August 2002 and it sums up exactly how i felt, and expressed far better and more precisely than I could.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago