Relic (Special Agent Pendergast Series #1)

Relic (Special Agent Pendergast Series #1)

by Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child

Hardcover

$5.99 $20.95 Save 71% Current price is $5.99, Original price is $20.95. You Save 71%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Relic 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 446 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a re-read for me. I read it years ago and decided to buy it again for my Nook and it was well worth the money all over again. It was my first introduction to Agent Pendergast who has since become one of my fav fictional detectives and the first but not the last Preston & Child book I read. Loved it! Great blend of mystery, horror and police procedural. I have read every Pendergast novel since and can't remember ever being disappointed. I would definitely recommend it.
PainFrame More than 1 year ago
Better than the movie. Hey, I LIKE the movie (Yikes - those special effects do not hold up!), but the book is much better. The quote on the cover says that this book is "Far above Crichton's Jurassic Park". Now, of course that's crazy nonsense, but there are similarities between how Crichton writes a thriller and this story. Namely, the plot unfolds at a good clip, and is interesting and suspenseful enough that I always roll right into the next chapter. Also thought the end was great, if I had book 2 handy, I would already be halfway through it. A great start to the series!
Peggy Schmidt More than 1 year ago
This book was a great mix of science, history, and fantasy. The action moved at a good pace and kept me interested enough that I finished it in just two days.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this was my first Lincoln Child and Douglas Preston book and i thought they did such a good job. it was such a different idea i had to read it and i was glad i did. i have found a new set of authors that i can't wait to read each and every book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Though I'm only on pg 98, I still felt compelled to stop & write this review. I suppose this story is good enough, but I am so distracted by the typographical errors which abound that I can hardly focus on the plot. I don't know how such a hot mess made it past any sort of editing standard. My 3rd grader could catch most of this! What a disappointment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book in a very exciting series. I love that the New York City's American Museum of Natural History plays a starring role in the frist few books and love all the New York facts and fiction thrown in to spice and flavor the book. THe story itself was over the top but i fell in love with the characters, Pendergast, Smithback, Nora and dear sweet D'Agosta are a great team. I ordered the next 3 books in the series before i finished Relic, i have read the entire series to date and you can't go wrong. Lots of twists and turns in this book and just enough pages to get you hooked and running out to buy the next book. If you continue through the series you will find yourself worrying, laughing and loving the main characters. Enjoy this series is a winner.
VeronicaJR More than 1 year ago
I just recently discovered the Special Agent Pendergast series and am so glad that I happened upon it. The first two books I read were the most recent, and was thrilled with both of them. I decided to look for more by these two authors and started right at the beginning with "Relic". I enjoyed this book very much, but it didn't have as much Pendergast in it as I thought it would. I am now Reading "Reliquary", with the same cast of characters, for the most part, and I think this book will be just as good as the first one.
Prestonjunkie More than 1 year ago
This is my all time favorite book. The writing is exceptional and a real page turner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! Jaws and Jurassic Park have nothing on Relic. This book is the beginning of a love affair for these characters. Pendergast, D'agosta, Smithback, and of course Mbwum, are some of the greatest characters ever. And if you want a book full of twists right through the last page, this is the one for you!
Silverleaf More than 1 year ago
This book started out slow & gained momentem, once you get through the first part of the book it flys along at a furious pace. well written. I would read the book again.
CleanGene More than 1 year ago
If you like suspensful, character driven stories, this is a good one. The super agent is a little over the top, but not so much to be off-putting. The science was a tad fuzzy, but did not strain creduity. On the basis of this read, I purchased the following 5 books in the series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Could not put this book down. It was my first Preston-Child book but certainly not my last. A real page-turner. And a great shocker at the end. Any avid reader of thrillers MUST read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A fast paced book with all the stops pulled out to create a masterpiece by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. If you enjoy mind twisting plots and non-stop action this is your book.
2013BookWorm More than 1 year ago
I love this series and am now on book 4. The main character is an enigma and I thoroughly him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great, scaaaaarrrrrry story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book....hooked on another series of books!!! THANKS MICHAEL!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pendergast is such a character -- I'm addicted.
crazybatcow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The characters are fairly realistic and fleshed out but the story itself is pretty lame. I read sci-fi and thrillers/detective stories and thought this would be a blend of the two but it doesn't really hit the mark as either.You have to accept the existence of a monster, which is fine. But you also have to accept that a museum would not shut down as soon as there were a series of atrocious and unexplainable murders inside it. Then you have to accept that a graduate student would be the "detective" and the "real" detectives more interested in... I'm not sure what they were doing, but they weren't doing any detecting. Thr3e and any of the Harry Bosch stories are better thrillers. Altered Carbon is a better blend of sci-fi and detective. Artifact is a better "monster" story. In fact, I can't think of a book less interesting - and still finishable - than this one.
AuntieClio on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
And into each life a little schlock strays. I had such high hopes for this, the first Pendergast book, after reading The Cabinet of Curiosities. Instead, I found something derivative of Michael Crichton, someone I read a lot of when I was younger and, I like to think, more discriminating.There¿s monster on the loose in the museum and it¿s up to the people the establishment don¿t like to rescue them and destroy the monster before more lives are lost. The body count in this book is pretty high, including children and dogs.Yet I have to admit that it¿s a fast read and since I¿ve already purchased the entire Pendergast series, I¿m stuck with reading them. (That¿s sort of a rule, if I buy it I have to read it unless it so extremely awful I¿d rather clean house.) I¿m hopeful they get better as we go along because I would hate to think Pendergast only shone in one book
ken1952 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've been meaning to read this for years. Finally took the plunge and really enjoyed it. Nothing like a good monster story to keep the old heart tickin'. And now I have the sequel home from the library. Hope it's as good as the first.
marcejewels on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
From my blogDouglas Preston and Lincoln Child did a great job of keeping you wondering what is next, you wanted to know what or who is killing in the museum. Everyone is thinking what the hell is going on. I don't enjoy pages of description so it was perfect how the authors gave me a visual chill with direct gruesome description and action. There is a ton of scientific language and conversation but I feel like it was needed, maybe only a touch to much. The science part added to the mystery of the story and the dynamic versatile personalities of all the museum staff. There was a great amount of characters that was developed well and they were all a part of the puzzle. The before, during, after and epilogue. And the police detectives were my favourites, especially Detecitve D'Agosta. There was an overall feel of i'm better than you, right from the Executives of the Museum, Scientists and Police Detectives.This book was executed very well, a little long for my preference but great stuff. It wasn't scary to me, I love and look forward to the 'scary' parts but I can tell you that the characters were scared out of their minds.
corlomoski on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Relic is the first book in Preston & Child's series featuring Agent Pendergast of the FBI. It's not my favorite of the series (that would be The Cabinet of Curiosities), but Pendergast is one of my favorite characters in contemporary fiction. In Relic, Preston & Child create a mystery in the Museum of Natural History with just enough scientific justification that you ALMOST believe it could be true.
rocalisa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed about the first 2/3, then it turned into "monster rampages" and I got bored. I read the end to check how it finished, felt cheated by the fact the "answer" to the mystery got turned around right at the end and was glad I stopped reading.
chinquapin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Something is stalking the halls of the Museum of Natural History in New York City and leaving behind a wake of mutilated corpses. Museum officals, concerned about a spectacular exhibition that is about to open, try to stifle all rumors, speculation and discussion that there is a monster in the museum. However grad student Margo Green believes that there is a monster and she finds a clue connecting the murders with a failed expedition to the Amazon years earlier. An FBI Detective named Aloysius Pendergast from New Orleans arrives to help in the investigation because he believes the murders are connected to some similar murders in his part of the world. They begin to unravel the veil of secrecy that the museum's officials have laid over the disastrous Amazon expedition and discover the true origins of the monster that has made the museum its home. I found this to be a fast-paced, very exciting story full of action and edge-of-your-seat type suspense. The characters could have been a little more developed, especially Pendergast. The Museum of Natural History with its warrens of underground storage rooms and unmapped subterranean levels and rooms full of spooky artifacts was a perfect setting for this story. The plot was far-fetched and stretched believability at several points, but well developed anyway, and once you accept the premise, it was terrifying.
JennieLeigh on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
First off, if you haven't seen the movie, PLEASE don't! I, unfortunately have. I saw it at the insistence of my husband, who'd read the book and loved it. He was so aghast at the butcher job done to the story by the movie that to this day (9 years after it's release) he will begin a rant every time he sees it in a store. I didn't actually read the book myself until last year. After I did, I understood his point. The movie took a truly creative and engrossing thriller and turned it on its head. The fact that they entirely omitted the Perdergast (upon which an entire series of stories has been based, now) should be enough to warn you to stay far, far away from the movie.The book is very interesting, though somewhat dated now. It was written when DNA testing and mapping was in its very infancy. Still, the premise was interesting and the monster appropriately horrifying. (Honestly, I cannot imagine why the screen writer thought the movie ending was somehow better than the original!)If you enjoy sci fi/horror/thriller books, then by all means read this one. It is well worth your time.