Reliquary (Special Agent Pendergast Series #2)

Reliquary (Special Agent Pendergast Series #2)

by Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child

Hardcover

$23.33 $24.95 Save 6% Current price is $23.33, Original price is $24.95. You Save 6%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Reliquary (Special Agent Pendergast Series #2) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 272 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put the book down. Had me on the edge of my seat. Excellent writing. I have it in my permanent library now.
ybdude1936 More than 1 year ago
"Relic" I thought was pretty fair if you stretched your imagination as Coleridge suggests we do. Characters were introduced well, the plot got a rousing send off and the ending was a clue to a sequel---which is "Reliquary." Apparently the Monster from "Relic" has been reincarnated in the form of a group rather than one creature. Pendergast solves this problem, but it takes him over a thousand pages to do so. Took me longer as I kept going to sleep.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow, I just finished this and i couldn't tell you if i like this one or its predessecor better. If you love twists and mystery, if you can watch a scary movie with the lights off, then this is for you. Highly recommend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you liked Relic, you won't be disappointed! Preston and Child have followed-up with another bone-chilling murder mystery that you'll have a hard time putting down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to read this book since it was the sequal to relic. i thought it was done very well since somethines sequels can be so disappointing. i think the research Lincoln Child did to make it as real as possible with regards to the NYC Tunnel life really helped the plot of the book. I would read this again!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed 'The Relic' and was thrilled that a sequel came out! It starts out a bit slowly but turns out to be another great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved Relic! The sequel won't disapoint ! What a ride all the way to last page!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series is not my typical read. I started with the first one based on the recommendation of a friend. Now I've finished the second one. It sucked me in; next thing I knew the book was done! Easy read with twists you don't anticipate. Gotta say I was disappointed when it was over.
sunshine0624 More than 1 year ago
Loved this book also. Can't wait to start the third one tonight.
honeycreole More than 1 year ago
I got this on audiobook and I love it. The audiobook is excellently done. It was full of twists & turns. Truly an enjoyable thriller. I hadn't read or listed to The Relic and now I have to get that one too!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have not yet read Relic, however, it is the next book on my list to read. This book was still very good and was not confusing at all even if you didn't read Relic. It describes everything clearly and describes any important characters or events from Relic that are relevant to this book. I would definatly recommend this to anyone that enjoys a good mystery/thriller!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Same+story+as+%231+in+the+series+and+not+told+nearly+as+well.
ken1952 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This sequel to RELIC is even better. Scary, exciting and a finale that doesn't let up. A perfect crossover novel for teens...especially boys. Who would have thought such things happen in the bowels of NYC?
tororojo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book has a rather contrived plot and is an over-the-top example of the genre. Resolutions are too convenient.Don't despair, though! Later books in the Pendergast series show that this earlier effort was a case of Child & Lincoln finding their stride. It's an enjoyable series, although (again) sometimes rather fantastically contrived. If you can suspend disbelief a little bit, it's a pleasure to read authors who continue to show progress in their craft.
JennieLeigh on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another thriller by Preston & Child. I was somewhat disappointed by how early on in the story that I guessed who the "other one" would turn out to be. There was no surprise at all about that. Still, I enjoyed it enough to keep me reading their work. Generally, I'm not overly critical of works that require me to suspend my disbelief. If I were, I'd stick with nonfiction. I enjoy action, sci-fi, thrillers, and some horror. That may be why I've enjoyed the first 2 Pendergast books. If you are looking for profundity or literature, this isn't the book for you. But if you're looking for a nice bit of escapism, then you shouldn't be overly disappointed.
fingerpost on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a pretty hokey book. That said, I liked it. Preston and Child know how to write a thriller. The Relic was better. Within the world as established for that book, the story made sense. In Reliquary, the plot does get a little silly at times.The major characters from "The Relic" return. New Yorkers, particularly the homeless who live underground, are being plagued by strange murders in which heads are cut off and taken away. You can't say a lot more without spoilers, but the book has mutants, tunnels 30 stories underground in New York city, a riot between homeless people and stock brokers, Navy Seals, etc.
cwlongshot on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book still had some of the overly predictable characters as did Relic, but it has a tighter plot that kept me reading. This author duo seems to have improved and I look forward to reading the next book in the series.
RogueBelle on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fails to maintain the heart-stopping pace and horrifying chills of the original. Still an entertaining read, and I really did find Mephisto and his bizarre society an interesting diversion, but Reliquary is just a bit pale compared to its predecessor.
Anntstobbs on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Reliquary grabs you at the start and holds on for dear life until the end. This is a sequel to the book Relic and it grows where the other book ended. I love agent Pendergast and his smooth ways that get answers out of rocks. The whole book is great, but the ending appeared to be a bit predictable. I can't wait for the next.
Brian55 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good follow up to Relic.
CynDaVaz on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This novel, while good, is one of the weakest in the Pendergast books. It's sort of like a semi-continuation of Relic. IMO, the series would have been fine without #2 - though any Preston & Child fan will still probably want to read it.
istoria on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A relatively good sequel to Relic. Not as much fun as the original but a good read none the less.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Didn't want to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic follow up to Relic! Love the Agent Pendergast series! Preston and Child work their magic and create a tale woven with scientific mystery and thrills that keep you on the edge of your seat. I couldn't put it down and highly recommend!