Royal Assassin (Farseer Series #2)

Royal Assassin (Farseer Series #2)

by Robin Hobb

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Royal Assassin (Farseer Series #2) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 264 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i'm usually very picky about what i read and not much of a book worm but this book is just amazing. Once you pick it up it's hard to put down and i think it's even better than the first book. The way the author writes makes you feel like you're part of the story. Robin Hobb is truly amazing. I think five stars is not enough for this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite book in the wonderful and enthralling Farseer trilogy! Robin Hobb creates a brilliantly dark and wild tale of treachery, adventure, and utter sorrow. The world she spins around you will have you seething with rage when Fitz does, and feeling light-headed when you pull your head out the mystical waters of the Farseer world. Although this trilogy is marketed as an adults series, I'm thirteen and it is my favorite fantasy series, so if you are looking to buy this for your teen, buy it (there's no graphic sex or anything, and there isn't any horribly disturbing violence)! You will not regret it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Frickin awsome story
geokatgrl More than 1 year ago
The progression of Fitz's life gets more complex, with even more rollercoaster rides of emotions. The first book was awesome, and this only adds to it. Hard to put down!
angelTX More than 1 year ago
This is a great book. The characters are great. You really get to love Fritz and feel sorry for him! It has great adventure and its just really easy to imagine while your reading.
epow50 More than 1 year ago
I am just finishing Golden Fool from The Tawny Man series. I absolutely loved both The Farseer and Tawny Man series. I have only one book left to read and will be sad to end the saga of FitzChivalry. I might just have to read it all again soon.
Rich_A More than 1 year ago
Wow! How to summarize the amazing ride you'll be taken on in the Farseer trilogy. First off, don't expect a lightweight ride through the fantasy clichés as with other authors. Hobb treats her main character Fitz like a well-used hammer -- flinging him around and not getting too upset with a few nicks and marks. If you can make it through the first volume in the trilogy, this book picks up where it leaves off and continues the complex and emotional roller-coaster ride. There is so much to enjoy about Hobb's work, especially her wonderful skills as a story-teller. Just expect to endure some pain as a reader as the main character is buffeted and clanged around through the story. The only criticism I had for these books were the horrible cover art. I really thought they not only looked dumb but really missed the mark when it came to portraying the mood and emotional impact of the stories. They make these books look cheap and cliché which is a big shame for those who, in fact, judge books by their cover. Highly recommended read! I can't wait to finish Fitz's tale in the next trilogy.
Anonymous 11 months ago
good+writing.++
reading_fox on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
How much better it could have been! The writing is really quite good, the characters empathetic, the general plot structure almost not obvious. But it fails majorly in the details - the foreshadowing is horrendous, the consistency almost completely lacking, the bad guys unbelivable, ... the little things that elevate a good book to the great are so absent that it's barely good.The story picks up where the previous volumne left off, and it would be wise to read Assassin's Apprentice first for little retelling is given. Fitz, bastard, Chivalry trained assassin to King Shrewd (yes the names start to grate after a while. Does the kingdom have nothing better to do than give people who appear important in the story (excepting burich) character defining names, whilst those who only appear briefly only get normal ones?) had accompained the royal party to the neighbouring Mountain Kingdom (yep original name there too), where he became embroiled and attacked in the youngest Prince's (Regal) scheme to rise to Kingship. Fitz recover slowly and painfully, until he's needed when suddenly almost overnight he is clear of mind and whole of body, occasionally in a quiet moment when it's convenient, suffering extremely mind reminders of his former illness. If only all heros could recover so quickly. The Red Raiders attacks on the kingdom continue and the good Prince Verity needs Fitz' assistance. And there's a girl, and a wolf, and Prince Regal continues his evil plotting. Poor old Fitz is quite torn in where to place his loyalty, and as matters come to a head he is increasingly required to choose for himself, withou guidance from his elders and betters, which leads to the dramatic finale.It really is all quite good, there are twists and turns and the pace of action keeps up with Fitz's problems and information. But there are also way too many issues. Skilling either takes a while with Fitz staring into space, or is over "in the blink of an eye" depending on the need of the story, which is very poorly thought out. The King is or isn't lucid again depending on the infomation being presented to him. many other peopel change their mind or opinion on a whim. Even deeply held convictions are suddenly overturned with no more anguish than a 'oh well, I suppose it's ok' And worst of all much of the plot is obvious. Guessable way in adavance. What is supposed to be surprising twists, become oh look that foreshadowing has come to pass. It's quite hard to explain just how much these minor details, each in their own way insignificant, combine to majorly distract the reader from enjoying the story. Readable, and if anyting lightly better than the original, it's disappointing to find it could be much better...........................................................................
littlegeek on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
About a third of the way through this book I had an epiphany--there are werewolves and zombies in this book! It's obvious, but the way they are portrayed is so unique, I didn't even think of it that way until half way through the trilogy. The end of this book is chilling. This is the way to do a trilogy: each book has a beginning, middle and end, with a cliffhanger, and yet there's a satisfying stopping point that still eggs you on to the next book. How does she do that?
willowcove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This entire trilogy is a very good read.
eddy79 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Even better than the first volume, Hobb really puts Fitz through the wringer here, both physically and emotionally. She expands on the world created in the first volume, in geography, politics and the magic system.
rbtwinky on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What a fantastic book with a terrible ending! Hobb builds up all of this tension and opportunity and then destroys it all with the ending! This is seeming to be a pattern with Hobb. I have so far only read this book and its predecessor, Assassin's Apprentice, but each time the ending seemly erradicated everything that proceeded it.What's great about this book are the characters and the politics! Fitz is coming into his own and starting to have an effect on his life and the lives of those around him. The characters around him change from the guiding forces that they were in the first book to challenges for Fitz to confront or lratn to accept. I'll read the next, but Hobb is threatening to alienate me as a reader...
Merneith on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This one drags a bit but the series as a whole is worth your time.
mentatjack on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm relearning the lesson that a great fantasy series can be quite adictive. I love the play between the Skill and the Wit and the intrigue of the royal family. Full of unforgettable characters, this series just keeps getting better.
xicanti on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I honestly think I could've just sat and read this book straight through, if I'd had the chance. I didn't willingly take a break until I was about five hundred pages in, and even then it was a short one.I found Royal Assassin even more absorbing than Assassin's Apprentice. The character development continues as Fitz returns to Buckkeep and assumes a more active role in the country's defense. My one complaint with the first book was that I didn't get enough of a sense of the danger that threatened the Six Duchies. That was no longer a problem with this book. As the Red-Ship Raiders became a larger concern for Fitz, they became a larger concern for me. I felt the characters' frustration as they struggled to keep their people safe.And, once again, it's really the characters that make this book. Robin Hobb's characterization is excellent; everyone has depth. Even their minor conflicts feel important because they come across as real issues that these people struggle with. I found it very easy to get lost in the story; I was always eager, (and sometimes desperate), to see how things would turn out for the characters I'd come to care for.At more than two hundred pages longer than the previous volume, this is a big book. It flies by, though; despite the wealth of detail, I didn't feel that it lagged at all until right near the end. And even then, it's difficult to say whether the momentum diminished because of the writing or my own horror at what was happening.I highly recommend both this and the previous volume. They're excellent, character-driven fantasy that works. I'm only sorry I didn't dive into Robin Hobb sooner.
TerrapinJetta on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Bits of this are quite good, but it's depressingly like any other fantasy book. It's quite readable all the same mind you, I was just expecting something more. A lot of the characterisation is quite deft.
Amaunette on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fitz's story continues as King Verity takes a wife and attempts to battle the zombie-like plague.
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The second instalment in the series and it opens with Fitz seriously debiliitated by a poison he has taken. I've been there, my poison was chemotherapy and it was pretty much like it was described in the book. Fitz is now fighting Regal more openly with the red ships preying on the kingdom. Full of interesting characters and interesting situations although it's a big book it's a quick read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was pretty disappointed in this book as it was basically 650 pages of a few people knowing what the issue was but refusing to do anything about it and a few others steadfastly refusing to believe it could happen...until of course it happens. It got to the point that by the end of the book, I was hoping the bad guy wins because our hero had proven himself totally inept!
PollyBennett More than 1 year ago
Amazing, spellbinding, tragic and epic. What a series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fair
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A slow tedious read featuring a pathetic protagonist who spends far to much time letting the antagonists dominate his very existence. I had hoped after the first book that the story line might improve. It didn't. I'm 460 pages into the book (yawn) and as I get into each new chapter, check to see how many pages are left, hoping the next chapter may be better. Usually it's just more of the same. I'll be moving on to a new author now. There is no chance I'll be reading the next book in the trilogy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great