Schooled

Schooled

by Gordon Korman

Paperback(Reprint)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Schooled 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 178 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Schooled Book Review
By: Lyndsey Stevens
Schooled is one of the most interesting books I have ever read. This book confusing yet it was so capturing that I couldn¿t wait to turn the page, to see what would happen next. Schooled was defenetaily one of my favorite books I have ever read and all in all I really loved it. This book was about a boy named Capricorn Andrews and you see this teenager wasn¿t any old teenager, he was a hippie that lived in Garland. Along the way Capicorn moves in with a family for a few mounths and learns about all a teenager needs to know, but he just does everything a little bit diffrently. Schooled¿s genre is young adult. I think the theme of this book was always be yourself and if people like you enough they will take you as is. If you like an interesting realistic book then you should deffenitly read Schooled.
KaylaNicole_MusicLover More than 1 year ago
This is such a cute book. Good for kids in middle school, but I am in high school and loved it! This book will make you think about your life. I guarantee anyone who reads it will love it!
Writerly79 More than 1 year ago
My nine year old son read Schooled and loved it so much he asked me to read it too. I thought it was a great book for his age group and maybe for a little bit older kids too. The main character, Capricorn Anderson, is an eighth grader and it takes place in junior high school so that is probably the ideal age group, but I think many ages will like it. I even really enjoyed it as an adult. This book shows what happens when someone that is very different is placed within a junior high school. Cap is "a hippie" raised on a farm commune by his grandmother and has no real experience with the outside world. He starts out being a target for ridicule at his new school. He feels like an alien. But throughout the book, he develops an understanding for his new environment and the other kids in the school develop and understanding for him and soon he becomes one of the most popular kids in the school. It is interesting because it changes point of view every chapter. Each chapter is narrated by a new person. It's a unique premise and story. I think it teaches understanding and takes a strong stand against bullying in schools, two very important lessons for kids.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am 11 years old and have read Schooled over 20 times. Though my lexile reading range is extremly high I thought this book was quite easy. To get more feedback I asked my sister to read it (she is 9) she said it was just right for the average or above fifyh grader. I also gave the book to my mom to read and at nearly 40 and a teacher she agreed that the story line was very well thought through and thought that age 9+ is the most appropriate age for reading. The stojry is about an 8th grader named Capricorn Anderson.After living on a hippie commune all his life when his grand mother falls oit of a tree he is forced to live in a world he has only set foot in to buy supplies. I highly recomend this book forany one who loves a good novel. It defenatly deserves five stars
thenewyouktimes More than 1 year ago
A Great book for young readers! And it Also teaches them some lessons.
cbz99 More than 1 year ago
I thouhght that this was a good book I recomend it to anyone that is going into a new school and from grades 4th through 6th. I thought it was funny. It kept me very engaged at times I never wanted to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CAN U TEXT????????? PLEASE????? ~AwesomeShots
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Want something to read over and over! Read this!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who agrees that there should be a Schooled 2
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Capricorn Anderson is a hippie who has been home schooled by his grandma. He has never eaten pizza, watched TV, or even heard of a wedgie. One day Cap’s grandma has to go to the hospital so a school counselor takes him in to stay. While he stays there, he attends Claveridge Middle School. Cap is a vegetarian Buddhist who listens to 60’s music, wears tie-died clothes, practices T’ai Chi, and has long, unkept hair. While attending Claveridge Middle School, he gets elected as eighth grade president. How does that go? I personally loved this book because it’s funny and Gordon Korman is a great author. This was one of the best books I have ever read. I recommend this book to everybody! If you like comedy than this book is waiting for you read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pretty good book. Very touching Very sweet. If i could do it I'd give it four and a half stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book, a slight of sketchy ending, but all in all a very good book. Recomend for young and old readers
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I honestly hate reading. Most of the time i will pick up a book and read the first page and say no. But this is a great book. It shows you the story from different point of views and is very well written, i reccomend this book to everybody!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have to read this book for my summer reading to go into 6 grade. So I would recomend this book to rising 5 graders like me. So far Capricorn or Cap some might call him is living in this community that has almost no connection to the real world.then his grandmother rain falls from an tree and brakes her hip. So cap has no guardian and has to go to real school bc he can't be homeschooled and he is staying with a guy whos parents use to live in the same comunitie he lives in now. Sorry for writing so much when you read it you will want to too:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVE LOVE LOVE this book! Im homechooled so its easy to relate to. Thanks mr.korman!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think that this book is great. It shows kids that they hav to be greatful for what they have and apprrcieate it
bookgirl888 More than 1 year ago
This book was slightly interesting in the beginning, but as I got further into it, I just couldn't read anymore. The plot and structure is very clever, but this book just wasn't my style. Even though, you may still want to give this a try.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once I saw this book I wasnt to sure if I was going to like it but at the begining there was an amazing hook and it kept me reading! Capricorn Anderson was like a lost puppy in his new school. He had no idea about anything and he didnt understand when people where mean to them. I thought this was very interesting. I also found some things funny by the wasy he reacted. This book teaches you a life lesson and I recomend it for all ages
chelsiking on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Cap had never experienced the real-world before & would never had had to if his Grandmother, who was a true hippie, fell out of a tree, injuring her hip. Cap was placed in foster care & forced into a very unknown & confusing world without any guidance from his Grandmother. The obstacles & challenges Cap faces in his journey in public school are very heartwarming & realistic to any one who may feel like a complete outsider in society.
smheatherly2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great book to look at the quirky main character, Cap, you can relate to him if you have ever felt out of place and you wish to be more like him and not care what others think. He is honest, open and curious, a great character to fall in love with!
ALelliott on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Capricorn Anderson lives alone on a commune with his anti-establishment Grandmother, Rain. Cap is perfectly happy growing his own food and tie-dying his own shirts. But when Grandma Rain falls and breaks her hip, Cap is sent to live with the very-establishment guidance counselor and her testy daughter, and has to attend Claverage Middle School. He is completely unprepared for the trials of public school, especially the long running prank that the most unpopular kid in school is elected class president. Cap, bewildered, accepts his new position, and goes about trying to improve the school. As he learns more about his classmates, he begins to make some real changes that turn the tables on his bullies.This book is funny and totally relatable to any kid who has had a hard time fitting in. Cap is a lovable character because he is so bemused by his treatment, but he never becomes angry or vengeful. He practices Zen Buddhism to help himself relax, and refuses to abandon his idealistic hippie principals. This book might make readers think twice about bullying someone for being different.For ages 9 - 14.
readerworm12345 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
You will NEVER read a book like this. Really original, funny, and belivible. I loved it so did lots of people I know it was a truly wonderfull book! I would recomend it to comedy loves and Gordon Korman fans.
CAmbs on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Schooled by Gordon Korman won the 2010 Young Reader¿s Choice Award in the intermediate division and was nominated for a 2011 Rebecca Caudill Young Readers Book Award.Capricorn Anderson is the star of Schooled. Raised as a hippie in isolation, he has never watched television, eaten pizza or interacted with other teenagers. All of that changes when his grandmother is injured and he is forced to attend the local middle school. Cap is made class president as part of a joke but it doesn¿t take long for the pranksters to stop laughing and start reconsidering the cosmos. This book is written in an alternating chapter format that fully develops Cap and the characters he is affecting. There are nerds, bullies, love-struck and angry teenage girls. Gordon Korman manages to make a far-fetched premise seem entirely possible. He also creates a wonderful role model in the main character. This book is a humorous fast-paced read geared toward readers who are in middle school themselves.
jfoster_sf on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a great story about Capricorn Anderson, a kid whose been homeschooled his entire life by his hippie grandmother, who also happens to be the only person he knows in the world. Once his grandmother falls out of a tree and breaks her leg, Cap is sent to public high school and his world is turned completely upside down...great read!
MMChat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Schooled is a funny book on a boy who is famous and his grandmother broke her hip. Cap is also threatened to be arrested because he was driving his bus driver to the hospital since he got a heart attack. The driver said you are in big trouble kid.