Scream for Me

Scream for Me

by Karen Rose

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 26

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Scream for Me 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 73 reviews.
Darsey_spudnick More than 1 year ago
After a string of brutal murders takes Special Agent Daniel Vartanian to Philadelphia, dark secrets from the past bring him back to Dillon, GA. There he meets Alex Fallon, whose own tortured past has forced her to return to the last place she ever wanted to go. Compelled to search for a missing person from her painful past, Alex becomes entangled in the investigation of a copy cat murderer. The original murder is what sent her away from Dillon years ago. In a town where nobody is who they seem, years of secrets and lies erupt in a series of murders. And when Daniel discovers that Alex is a target of the killer, he races to discover the truth and protect the woman he finds himself falling in love with. Roses' eighth novel and hardcover debut, SCREAM FOR ME is her best yet. It is the second in Roses' FOR ME trilogy but is outstanding as a stand alone novel. Readers will appreciate Roses' trademark bone-chilling suspense, diabolical plot twists and secondary characters who all cry out for a sequel of their own. And they are sure to appreciate this sturdy hardcover, because it will go on their keeper shelf to be read again and again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once again I have read a Karen Rose book that delivered. This book brings back Daniel Vartanian from Die for Me along with some new and wonderful characters. It is a fabulously written story that will keep you on edge reading it, but will also make you laugh and cry. That is what makes this and all of her books so wonderful. While that keep the thrill level high, that also hit all of your other emotions. I would recommend this book to anyone, along with any other her other books to read as well as to own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I read from Karen Rose and I will definitely be reading more from her. I really enjoyed the plot and the characters and how she ties everything in together. I couldn't put the book down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Scream For Me is a chilling tale of romantic suspense by Karen Rose. ______________ Special Agent Daniel Vartanian is back on the job after dealing with a ruthless serial killer, his brother Simon. Simon left behind a group of photos showing despicable things being down to young women. These photos haunt Daniel. When woman start to show up dead in town, Daniel is convinced that somehow these photos are connected. ___________ Alex Fallon rushes to Georgia when her step sister is reported missing leaving a young child to be cared for. When Local law enforcement is unwilling to help, she then turns to the Georgia Bureau of Investigation. Her first meeting with Daniel shocks him. Alex resembles one of the victims in those old photos. Alex's twin sister Alicia was murdered years ago and it has always haunted her soul. _____________ Soon more women are turning up dead and Alex is in the killers sight. Daniel is drawn to Alex's strength and beauty. He will do anything within his powers to protect this woman who has worked her way into his heart. ______________ Daniel makes Alex feel alive and willing to take chances. These two meet and fall in love under stressful circumstances. Will their happiness outlast the killers plans to harm Alex? _____________ Karen Rose books are a must have for me. They keep be clued to the pages, trying to figure out who is the killer. Scream For Me is gut wrenching story, the killer is pure evil and will make you wary. The romance between Alex and Daniel is sensational, these two characters have gone through so much and to have found each other is priceless. I am patiently waiting for Karen's next book...
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book in two days. I just could not put it down. And I loved the fact that I did not guess the final bad guy at all it was a surprise at the end. Loved it! It followed 'Die for Me' perfectly and left a perfect opening for another spinoff book in the future. Can't wait for it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Scream For me is such a fantastic read, I love how the characters meet by chance in Dillion the last place either of them want to be. if you like mystery and suspense you will love this book. I know I did!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Karen Rose has touched every base with this one! Her writing is clean and energetic, her characters fully-developed and her plotting is mind-blowingly thorough and original. Whew. This was one book I could not put down. Having read the previous book in the trilogy, Die For Me, made reading this book a richer experience, but it wasn't necessary to enjoy the rich tapestry of suspense and terror and romance and human drama she has created. Even more impressive is Rose's insight into human psychology and her sensitive portrayal of people living through and growing past great trauma. I highly recommend this book, but give yourself plenty of time to luxuriate in it. . . it deserves your full attention!
Guest More than 1 year ago
After a string of brutal murders takes Special Agent Daniel Vartanian to Philadelphia, dark secrets from the past bring him back to Dillon, GA. There he meets Alex Fallon, whose own tortured past has forced her to return to the last place she ever wanted to go. Compelled to search for a missing person from her painful past, Alex becomes entangled in the investigation of a copy cat murderer. The original murder is what sent her away from Dillon years ago. In a town where nobody is who they seem, years of secrets and lies erupt in a series of murders. And when Daniel discovers that Alex is a target of the killer, he races to discover the truth and protect the woman he finds himself falling in love with. Roses¿ eighth novel and hardcover debut, SCREAM FOR ME is her best yet. It is the second in Roses¿ FOR ME trilogy but is outstanding as a stand alone novel. Readers will appreciate Roses¿ trademark bone-chilling suspense, diabolical plot twists and secondary characters who all cry out for a sequel of their own. And they are sure to appreciate this sturdy hardcover, because it will go on their keeper shelf to be read again and again.
kherbrand on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was book 2 in a series with Agent Daniel Vartanian, but it read well as a stand alone. The first book, Die For Me, I have on reserve at our library, so that should tell you that I really enjoyed this book!Daniel Vartanian is a Special Agent with the GBI, Georgia Bureau of Investigation. He has just returned from a case which involved his parents and his brother (I have a sneaky suspicion that this is what Die For Me is about...) He isn't even home a day before a murdered girl is discovered in a ditch and the investigation lands in his lap. It appears to be a copycat murder from 13 years earlier.Alex Fallon is the twin sister of Alicia Tremaine, who was killed 13 years ago. She has received a call that her stepsister, Bailey, is missing and she is listed as the emergency contact for her 4 year old niece, Hope. This comes as quite a shock, as she didn't even know she had a niece. The last time she saw Bailey was to get her into a rehab program 5 years earlier.Daniel's investigation and Alex's missing stepsister lead them on a collision course to each other - and the sparks start to fly. As the bodies pile up, will Alex ever find Bailey? Can Daniel catch the murderer? And can they both confront the ghosts of their past so that they can move into a better future?This was a quick read for me, even at 569 pages! It was great the way all the suspects fell into place one-by-one. It was like watching dominoes fall in slow motion. I almost just typed a spoiler here - so I will just end on that note! Great book!
nbmars on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book falls into the genre of ¿romantic suspense,¿ a genre I ordinarily eschew. But I won this book in a contest, so there it was, calling out to me from my TBR pile. It was interesting to realize that if you excised all the scenes involving "romantic" encounters between "ruggedly handsome" Daniel Vartanian and "beautiful, full-lipped" Alexandra ¿Alex¿ Fallon, you¿d still have a pretty good suspense novel AND not really notice the difference. Daniel Vartanian (of ruggedly handsome fame) is a Special Agent with the Georgia Bureau of Investigation, called in to help with a brutal murder in Arcadia, Georgia because the locals lack the resources to deal with it. It is immediately clear that the case is a copycat crime of one committed thirteen years previously, when Alicia Tremaine was found dead in a ditch. Alicia¿s twin, Alex, was seriously traumatized by the crime, although, as indicated above, she managed to grow up to be beautiful and full-lipped. As if the brutal murder of her sister weren't enough, it was quickly followed by her mother¿s apparent suicide. Alex¿s aunt took her away to live in Ohio. Alex, now 29 and a nurse, comes back to Arcadia because her stepsister Bailey is missing. Alex is afraid Bailey is a victim of the copycat killer and contacts Daniel.Daniel too has a painful family history, and he and Alex bond at once, first spiritually, then physically. The descriptions of sex were kind of cheesy but displayed two attributes I appreciated: (1) a dearth of anatomical descriptions; and (2) Daniel uses a condom: yay!Meanwhile, bodies continue to turn up apace in various ditches around town, all exhibiting the same modus operandi. Will Daniel, Alex, and the others involved figure out what is going on before they all end up dead?Evaluation: We know the killer¿s name and mindset from the very beginning, as he speaks in alternate chapters along with other characters, some of whom are identified and some not. In spite of the reader being fairly well-informed, the level of suspense stays high in the book, and it also manages to be rather scary, even though there isn¿t much in the way of graphic description (thank Heavens). I came away with the impression that if the author sacrificed the ¿romantic¿ part, which would include ditching the provocative title and cover, she could attain mainstream acceptability, i.e., among that part of the mainstream that enjoys books about serial killers preying on women.
ctfrench on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
GBI special agent Daniel Vartanian is still reeling from the deaths of his brother Simon, a well-known serial killer, and his parents, who died at the hands of Simon, when called back to his hometown to investigate the brutal murder of a young woman found in a ditch, wrapped in a blanket. This murder is similar to that of Alicia Tremaine 13 years earlier. Daniel is shocked when he meets Alicia¿s identical twin sister, Alex Fallon, who approaches him for help finding her stepsister, Bailey Crighton. Daniel believes his brother Simon was involved in the murder 13 years earlier, and when more women are killed in the same manner, suspects someone is acting on Simon¿s behalf. Daniel becomes attracted to Alex, who appears to have been targeted by the killer, and is determined no harm will come to her. To complicate matters, important men in the community are turning up dead. Could these murders be tied together or are there two separate killers?This romantic suspense is a very good read although readers may become distracted by the numerous characters and the two ongoing investigations. The chemistry between Alex and Daniel, two emotionally damaged people, is well-done. Characterization is in-depth and revealing, although the suspense at times becomes lost in the complicated plot.
emigre on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Scary read, felt tiresome toward the end, maybe because the subject was so dark or the book had too much details one had to keep track of.
gercmbyrne on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A welcome sequel to Die for me, which resists the temptation to revisit the main characters but instead cleverly links a subplot of Die for me and the characters involved in that plot into a new and fresh, and very scary thriller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Worth the read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sherri_Hunter More than 1 year ago
If you are a fan of Karen Rose, then you already know all of her romantic suspense books are connected, character wise.  I really enjoy this aspect of her books because I am one of those readers that like to feel a bond with the characters and having various past characters make an appearance in future books gives me a warm fuzzy.  I first met Daniel Vartanian last year when I read Die For Me.  As stated in that review, I didn’t feel much of a connection to him at that time but I also knew that would change when I started this book and I was not disappointed. Scream For Me picks up fairly soon after the last book ends.  Special Agent Daniel Vartanian has returned to Georgia and is trying to piece together the horror depicted in his brother Simon’s photographs and come to terms with the fact that his brother was a monster.  Daniel receives a shock when he learns that one of the women in the photographs was murdered thirteen years ago and an even bigger shock when he meets her identical twin, Alex.  Alex and Daniel begin to work together to find Alex’s step-sister, Bailey, a recovering drug addict who has gone missing and has left behind a young daughter.  After an attempt is made on Alex’s life, they realize both cases are connected.  Danger escalates as they race against the clock trying to figure out who was behind the crimes thirteen years ago and how they are connected to the murders happening now. The villains are not easily identified in this story and between all of the bad guys and good guys, I had a hard time keeping everybody straight.  In addition, there is a lot of back-story to comprehend.  Alex’s entire past history plays front and center throughout the entire story and is quite detailed and sometimes complicated.  My mistake with this book was choosing the audio book instead of another format.  I had to keep backtracking to refresh my memory as to which characters were who and what their roles were.  There are just too many details that need to be processed thoroughly.  Do yourself a favor and steer clear of the audio format for this book. I really liked Daniel and Alex.  On the surface, they are both very strong people who have made something of their lives and are successful.  You would never know from looking at them that they each carry a very heavy load of emotional baggage from their pasts.  It’s logical that they would be drawn to one another so quickly and with such intense passion.  I liked that in spite of the horrors of their painful past histories, they are able to open their hearts and care about others. I am looking forward to reading the third book as it centers on Daniel’s sister, Susannah.  I found her to be a very interesting character that I am extremely curious about.  I expect it will pick up where this one ends and will pack quite a punch of its own, as well. My final verdict: Scream For Me is a very good book that continues the story that began with Die For Me and will conclude with Kill For Me.  I highly recommend this book if you like character driven books packed full of intense suspense, action, intrigue and passion that keep you in anticipation with each chapter.  Don’t start here, however.  Give yourself a better treat and read all of Karen Rose’s suspense novels, starting with Don’t Tell.  You will be glad you did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago