Stay with Me

Stay with Me

by Ayobami Adebayo

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.83 $16.00 Save 7% Current price is $14.83, Original price is $16. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Stay with Me: A novel 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very powerful story! Once I got into it I didn't want to put it down. Definitely recommend.
DoranneLongPTMS 4 months ago
Stay with Me is a wonderful novel set in Nigeria. Ayobami Adebayo skillfully tells her tale, incorporating Nigerian culture and history from the 1980's forward. I lived in Nigeria as a child; this book feels real to me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was very captivating and emotional. There were some parts that I did not understand, but I still enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once I got into the book I did not want to put it down. The characters began to evolve and become more complex. The ones you thought that you liked, you begin to dislike. The ones you disliked, you begin to like.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Authentic and universal, beautiful language, strong characters, strong emotions. Fantastic read.
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
This was such a heartbreaking story in so many ways. From arranged marriages, deceit, attempting to achieve the impossible demands and always being overruled, Yejide is hoping and trying to conceive a child. A major necessity of a wife in her native Nigeria. I felt so sorry for this poor woman. First with the demands, then the arrival of a "new" wife and her in-laws were incorrigible! And the husband? I will leave interested persons to discover that feeling as I don't want to insert a spoiler here. I thoroughly enjoyed my journey with Yejide. She was a great character and she grew on me very quickly. I really liked this story a lot. Huge thanks to Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group and Net Galley for providing me with a free e-galley in exchange for an honest, unbiased review.
Jaruwa More than 1 year ago
Yejide and Akin are happily married, and, for the most part, satisfied with their life, except for one thing. Yejide, despite trying for years, still hasn’t been able to carry a baby to term. In Ethiopia, apparently, this is considered extremely shameful, and it seems the woman is always blamed. Not only does Yejide grieve because she longs for a baby, but they are both under intense pressure from relatives to do whatever it takes to provide them with descendants. This “whatever it takes” includes Akin taking a second wife, not unusual in their culture, but a terrible blow to Yehide. She in turn makes some desperate decisions in order to conceive. What follows is a series of traumatic events that test them both. I appreciated this author’s vivid writing style, and it kept me reading avidly even though the extreme reactions of Yehide didn’t seem credible to me. I thought Akin’s reactions much more believable. I was especially dubious of Yejide’s decision near the end. Would any mother really do this based on unverified information? Of course, this could be due to cultural differences. I enjoyed gaining more insight into Ethiopian culture. This alone is a good reason to read this. I can’t say much more without spoilers, but I will look forward to reading more books by this author in the future. Note: I received an advance copy of the ebook from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi I ppik Hpj