The Sunflower: On the Possibilities and Limits of Forgiveness

The Sunflower: On the Possibilities and Limits of Forgiveness

Paperback(EXP)

$13.56 $16.95 Save 20% Current price is $13.56, Original price is $16.95. You Save 20%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Sunflower: On the Possibilities and Limits of Forgiveness 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 46 reviews.
saberchic More than 1 year ago
If you're looking for a book that makes you question the very core of your soul, this is it. Powerful and moving, this novel recounts the life of a nazi soldier and jewish prisoner during WWII. This book sparked a lot of debate between me and my friends. Was the prisoner right in his actions? Was the soldier out of line? When is it ok to forgive, and who is at liberty to forgive some of the atrocities that occurred? Half the book is the true story between the soldier and prisoner; the other is a symposium from people from all walks of life (professors, religious leaders, etc.) answering the question the author's question: What would you have done in my shoes?
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was one of the best books I have ever read. I found Weisenthal's dilemma challenging. As Christians, I was taught to emmulate Christ and to forgive our enemies 70 times 7. But does that include extending absolution for crimes against those who can no longer speak for themselves? Where does personal responsibility begin in a world gone insane and dominated by groupthink? Can an individual speak on behalf of a people so persecuted? These are just a few of the questions this book made me think about (and I continue to ponder). I find myself thinking one thing, I look at the book again and find new questions and different answers each time. Even as I read different responses from others, I see a new dimension to the question. I highly recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a Jew that was not brought up very religious I really learned a lot about how both religions view forgiveness and repentance. I would definitely recommend this book for everybody.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book over 5 years ago and am re-reading it. I am finding it even more engrossing and challenging than the first read. This is a book to be studied and discussed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The story of the 'sunflower' is itself worthy of reading this book. However, the dilemnas and questions and reactions Wiesenthal must deal with present a new opportunity for the reader to view the Holocaust and other atrocities in a way that I have never seen presented before. As a post-MEd student with a life long interest in the reasons behind man's inhumanity toward man, this book is a must read. The 53 responses of others who have been situated in horrific life situations are an invaluable contribution to this book.
annieCG More than 1 year ago
The Sunflower is a book of enormous inspiration. Everyone should own this book and read it very often. I've read this one at least 1/2 a dozen times and will continue to go back to it. Also, I've enjoyed this book so much that I've given it to 4 people already and I will gift it again in the future. A truly beautiful and excellent examination of conscience.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mr. Wiesentthal does a great job in presenting his battle and allows the reader to feel and understand his pain and suffer. The short writings that follow his actual narrative are also very informative and interesting. The book turn the reader to face himself and question himself. The book serves as a guide of different opinions. I truly don't think that an individual can answer the question of forgivness unless put in similar situations.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mr. Wiesenthal's story is one of the most difficult I have ever read and one that I am so very grateful that I did read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'To forgive or not to forgive' that is the question this author poses to people of different backgrounds and different faiths. The responses are beautiful, profound, and heart-wrenching. You will not be disappointed in the faith-filled pages of this book. A Triumph!
EllenH on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A tough read, but one that we read for book club.Very interesting questions, can or should one be able to forgive and forget the transgressions of one person to someone other than oneself? Is there a future without forgiveness?
suesbooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Interesting and thought-provoking responses regardin Wiesenthal's not forgiving a dying Nazi
serendipitina on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The power of forgiveness, both in being able to forgive and not being able to forgive. It also begs the question...who is forgiven for...the person who committed the act that needs forgiveness, or the person against whom the act was committed that must decide whether to forgive. Wiesenthal protrays this decision on forgiveness quite effectively....first in telling his own story and then in inviting others to share their views. This book will not provide you with any clear answers on forgiveness, but will hopefully open up your mind to it and its possibilities.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My daughter recommended this book because in one of her college classes a student did a paper on this book. I highly recommend it if you are interested in WWII.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its brittany 7403429700
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
heavypaws23 More than 1 year ago
Well written, thought provoking, I applaud Mr. Wiesenthal for sharing this experience with us.  We can all learn from the past and this contains powerful lessons.  I really appreciated the commentaries that were added when the book was republished in the 1990's, especially Mr. Levin's.  Thank you for writing this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alright.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yeah, i tred to tell you on friday i was going camping, but my wifi just zonked
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago