Sunset Express (Elvis Cole and Joe Pike Series #6)

Sunset Express (Elvis Cole and Joe Pike Series #6)

by Robert Crais

Hardcover

$20.04 $21.45 Save 7% Current price is $20.04, Original price is $21.45. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sunset Express (Elvis Cole Series #6) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 43 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I recently picked up a Crais book for the first time. Outstanding. Accordingly, I then got the order of publication and have methodically read them one after the other. All have been outstanding. And I just finished Sunset Express. This book is a CLASSIC. The best detective novel I have ever read. Publishers Weekly voted it a 'best book of the year' and they are right on target. Elvis and Joe are at the top of my list. Headed for the book store to buy several more and you SHOULD TOO. I rarely rate a book as ' a page turner not to be put down.' This book redefines that image. Do not pass Go, pick it up now and read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tongue in cheek humor throughout, twists and turns, and always the interesting relationship between Cole and Pike. Read it!
nhayes More than 1 year ago
Robert has it down. You get into the book from the start and it keeps you until the end. All of Roberts books are a must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story. Keeps moving. Always with great humor.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great characters. Not perfect but just about human. Joe and Elvis are just about the best characters in fiction today. The stories leave me guessing. The locations are so descriptive I can just about feel the heat( and that feels good in the middle of winter in Minnesota) and just about smell the tar. If I ever visit Los Angeles I doubt that I will need a map.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the first Robert Crais novel that I read and I enjoyed it. Elvis Cole is a likable character.
Anonymous 26 days ago
More!
daddyofattyo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good series, will read more. Love the locale, all right where I live. I also kept seeing this book as a movie, and specifically Gary Oldman as Joe Pike - go figure... Oh, and props to Crais for brevity of love scenes - plenty of chances to mess it up, but he's refreshingly restrained - so appropriate since there was a kid around. Other writers - take note!
charlottem on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Wherein Lucy comes to Las Angeles, Rossi¿s reputation is at stake, and good doesn¿t always triumph over evil.
bushard on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
good old studly, Elvis Cole is a neat private eye.
bookczuk on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I got this on the recommendation of the guy at Sullivan's Trade-A-Book, who knows I like to ear-read audio book mysteries while driving. Even though this was an abridged book, the reader was great, and I will probably keep my eyes open for another one in this series for future driving reads.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Robert Crais tells a great story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great read! It was suspenseful and I found myself throwing my arm in the air and saying "yes" a number of times! I am looking forward to the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great plot
Carstairs38 More than 1 year ago
Who Can Elvis and Joe Trust? While I have had my issues with the Elvis Cole mysteries by Robert Crais, I’ve still found them enjoyable enough to continue listening to them on audio. I’m glad, too, since Sunset Express is the best in the series to date. It’s been three months since we last saw PI Elvis Cole and his partner Joe Pike. They’ve been hired by Jonathan Green, something of a legend in the defense attorney crowd, as part of his latest case. Teddy Martin, a rich kid who has gotten richer thanks to his restaurants, has been arrested for killing his wife, and the Big Green Defense Machine is trying to find anything they can to prove his innocence. They initially hire Elvis to see if there is anything to the rumors that the cop who found the murder weapon plants evidence, but it isn’t long before Elvis is also tracking down tips that come into the tip hotline that’s been set up. But something doesn’t feel right to Elvis, and the more he gets involved in the case, the more he feels that way. Is he helping an innocent man? Or is he being set up himself? The plot of this book is a lot of fun. Things slow down for Elvis and us a bit at one point, but that is the only issue with the pacing. In fact, it builds to a wonderful climax that had me glad I had several hours in the car planned so I could see how everything played out. Plus, he didn’t have to resort to a dues ex machina ending to resolve things this time around. In addition to Elvis and Joe, we also get a couple of characters who return from the previous book in the series. I was thrilled to see them, especially since it meant that, for once, Elvis didn’t have women throwing themselves at him. That’s been an irritant for me in earlier books as every available woman seemed to want to go to bed with Elvis. Anyway, we actually get several cameos from previous books, and that’s a fun touch. We also get some great new characters here that were created just for this story. Even with everything else firing on all cylinders, the author still can’t stop himself from putting in a scene that serves little purpose except to increase the foul language count. Yes, I know people use it, but there is a scene where we didn’t need to hear it and does little more than pad the word count with swear words. That’s my only real complaint with the novel. David Stuart took over as the narrator on this audio book. I must admit I had to adjust to his take on things and the characters, especially Joe Pike. But as I got into the story, I noticed the changes less and less. If you go into this book with no preconceived ideas, you won’t notice at all because he really did a great job with the narration. When Robert Crais is on, his books are great. Sunset Express is a fantastic PI novel and addition to the Elvis Cole and Joe Pike series. Here’s hoping the next is just as strong.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting read
1dachsmom More than 1 year ago
HIGHLY RECOMMEND!! Another great read by this author. Don't miss this one!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
nicelynicely More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best Elvis Cole/Joe Pike stories yet. I enjoyed every page and recommend it highly to anyone who is a fan of mystery novels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the entire Elvis Cole and Joe Pike series. I purchased #8 because it was very inexpensive. I enjoyed it so much, I paid far more than I normally would and have now read books one through 15. I eagerly await #16. Book #6 was quick, fun and at certain points, edge of your seat reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story as usual!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Favorite author. Always a good read.