Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas

Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas

by James Patterson

Paperback

$15.27 $16.00 Save 5% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 766 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Suzanne's' Dairy to Nicholas is the first novel I have read from James Patterson's collection and I have to say it won't be the last I read. Not only is this a compelling story of love and romance, but it's pages are full of suspense that keeps you reading on until the very end. Patterson tells the story of a young woman named Katie who finds herself deeply in love with a man named Matt. Everything is going great for the two of them when out of the blue Matt ends their two-year relationship without even explaining himself. Katie is given an old diary from Matt, which he uses to explain his poor actions. As Katie reads through the pages she discovers many of Matt's hidden secrets, which includes a wife, and son Katie never knew about. After finishing the dairy Katie realizes she had been wrong for assuming the worst out of Matt and she finds their relationship has grown even stronger after reading this diary. This story had very few weak points except for the occasional sad moments. I highly recommend this book to any audience, male or female, who is in the mood for a great read and has time to sit and read. Once you start this book you won't be able to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. Beautiful and sad. But a great read for the afternoon.
Elle-Dinnell More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. It wasn't what I expected when I began reading it. It was a pleasant surprise and I enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had just moved back to New Jersey from North Carolina and I was cleaning up the attic of the house I had just bought. As I was sorting through the things left behind by the previous owner I saw a book propped up against one of the posts. I picked it up and began to read the first page. I saw the words New York and North Carolina and immediately became intrigued. Already the setting was relating to my own life. The book was Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas by James Patterson, published in 2001. I had never read James Patterson before but I had heard of his books. This did not seem to fit his usual genre. He is best known for his mystery thriller books such as Roses Are Red and Kiss the Girls. James Patterson’s Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas is instead a powerful love story, with of course a bit of suspense. The story is about Katie Wilkinson a New York writer whose boyfriend Matt has just broken up with her. Instead of the wedding proposal she was hoping for he mails her a diary, written by his former wife to their son Nicholas. Katie is heartbroken and cannot imagine that Matt was cheating on his wife. Although unsure of what she is about to find out, she begins reading the diary. This story is about Katie, Matt, Suzanne and Nicholas and how their lives are joined through love, loss and the hope of finding love again. The book begins with Katie Wilkinson. The man she had been seeing for a year, Matt has just broken up with her. He sent her a package and in it was a diary, Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas. A note from Matt read, “Maybe this diary will explain things better than I ever could. If you have the heart, read it.” With that, the mystery began. The main events of this book were excerpts from the diary left by Suzanne to her son Nicholas. James Patterson uses both first and third person narrative through the book. The majority of the book is in third person as Katie reads the diary, which is set in Suzanne and Matt’s hometown in Martha’s Vineyard. It then changes to first person as Katie reacts to what she is reading. The diary describes Suzanne’s life after suffering a life threatening heart attack and makes a major life change where she leaves New York to become a country physician in Martha’s Vineyard. It is hear that she meets Matt a painter and inspiring writer. The two fell in love and Katie has to push through the pages of details of their relationship, not knowing how this will change her life, if at all in the end. I became completely engulfed in the lives of these four people and how they were intertwined and couldn’t wait to solve the mystery behind the diary. The characters are all very likeable and at times it feels as this family is meeting and coming together like they are part of our own. One of my favorite quotes used several times is, “Isn’t it lucky?” It is a statement they created after Matt learned Suzanne had survived a life threatening heart attack. As I read this line on several occasions throughout the book, I couldn’t help but feel the sense of love and gratitude in the situations in my own life, like when my own son was born with a heart condition. As Katie finishes the diary to its poignant end, she realizes why Matt had been struggling. She learns the truth and the mystery was revealed. She realizes there may be hope for them after all. This book is definitely a page turner and I strongly recommend it to anyone who loves a feel good easy read. It is one that keeps you routing for the good guys and the promise of love, hope and family. After reading this book I felt there was definitely hope for love, even after love had been lost. I felt so grateful for my health and the health and love of my family. I find myself on a daily basis saying, “Isn’t it lucky?”
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My first James Patterson book. I couldn't put it down!
Kristina_G More than 1 year ago
This was a a great book. It was very touching. I finished it in a day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reading this on the paperback version. This is the first James Patterson book I've ever read. I'm on page 30 right now, an dI feel like I'm a character! I feel as if I myself am in the book. When he rights, it's so powerful! He makes it feel like home! This may be my first James Patterson book I've ever read, But I can tell you one thing. It won't be my last!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas is a story within a story. The bulk of the book is a diary written by a mother for her new-born son. She explains how she met her husband, how they fell in love, what the pregnancy was like, and recounts her reactions to the life of young Nicholas. This part of the book works beautifully. I think the concept is a brilliant one, and I hope that parents who read this book will create such diaries for their children. The reading by Becky Ann Baker is moving, and brings these experiences to life in a wonderful way! The external story doesn't work nearly as well. Katie Wilkinson has fallen in love and is pregnant by a mysterious poet from Martha's Vineyard. Just when it looks like marriage is in the cards, he flees. The next morning, she finds the diary along with a note that it may be hurtful to read the diary. She cannot figure out what the message of the diary is until the very end. This story's superstructure just dilutes the beauty of the story in the diary. Mr. Patterson does one thing that I consider unforgiveable in a novelist: He deliberately shows off how easily he can mislead the reader . . . to me it felt sort of like him sticking his tongue out at you to establish his superiority over you. As one of several examples I could cite, Suzanne comes to Martha's Vineyard and runs into an old friend, Matt. In other places, she describes the baby's father as Matt. Naturally, many would assume that it is this old friend. No, it is someone else. The first Matt is in the story only for that purpose. Now, really! The most annoying example of this showing off was giving Suzanne a very extreme and unusual heart condition just so Mr. Patterson could create a tricky ending in the diary. I would not normally complain so much about this sort of flaw, but these sleight-of-hand sections seriously degrade what is otherwise a very lyrical and well-written book. After you finish reading this book, think about who else you could write a diary for . . . and then do it! Gently share your feelings with those you care about. Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a suspense/thriller novel reader. I dont read love stories but this book is great! I am a die heart James Patterson fan and will read anything that he writes. this book is definitely a deviation from Jame Patterson's thrillers, yet it is as suspenseful as the thrillers. I bought the book at his book signing on July 18th. I begin reading it that night, at lunch at work the next day and finished that night (24 hrs). I couldnt put it down! It makes you long for the love displayed in the book. To love and lose, and then love again...That's excellent! Once you become a James Patterson fan, you are hooked for life. He's incredible. Go get the book; you wont be sorry.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book in one night. It was very good and extremely moving. I certainly belive that James Patterson can write books for all types of genre after this!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought and finished this book the same day I bought it. I litterally could not put it down. I read and read till I was finished and once I was done, with tears in my eyes and my heart aching for Matt and Katie I was sad to have finished it so quickly. This book is great. I am an avid reader of James Patterson's novels and to date have read and collected all of them. I must admit, as were some other James Patterson 'suspense thriller' fans, that I was a little shaky about a 'love story'. I am sorry Mr. Patterson for any doubts I had. Like the insert in the books jacket says, this book is for anyone that has every loved. I highly recomend.
harstan More than 1 year ago
New York book editor Katie Wilkinson believed that she found her soul mate in poet-house painter Matt Harrison. However, instead of a lifetime together, they share a year before Matt vanishes. After disappearing from her life, Matt mails Katie a diary written by his wife Suzanne. Katie cannot help but read the journal that Suzanne has written to her and Matt¿s son. She explains how she was a yuppie doctor in Boston until she suffered a heart attack in her mid thirties. Knowing she needed a lifestyle change, Suzanne fled to Martha¿s Vinyard where she falls in love with Matt. They marry and have a child. As she reads, Katie begins to feel she knows Suzanne and Nicholas as old friends. Still even she wonders if she should try to see Matt one last time once she finishes the cherished diary lovingly written by a mother to a son?

Fans of James Patterson¿s powerful Cross mysteries will find SUZANNE¿S DIARY FOR NICHOLAS quite a departure for the popular author. There is a mystery of sorts and plenty of suspense but in a different manner than usual for a James Patterson novel, but no murders or crimes are committed. Still, the writer flexes his muscles as he provides a strong, insightful, yet teary character study that looks closely at loss through the souls of Suzanne and Matt and the reactions of Katie. Using his usual switching from first to third and back to first case, Mr. Patterson provides a warm, somewhat overly maudlin tale that will stir the audience to want more dramas of this sort from a talented scribe.

Harriet Klausner

Namwan_ on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A quick read - finished it in a few hours. First I thought I was going to cry as most of it was like reading one of Nicholas Sparks' books, but the ending wasn't quite what I expected.
irinka87 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This one is a tear-jerker, so when you are ready to curl up on cold winter day, grab this book! I couldn't put it down, and read it in one setting!
abigailyow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
To be honest, I have nothing to say about the book, besides that it was slightly better than Sundays at Tiffany's - though it wasn't by a long shot. Like his other book, I read it in one sitting and as disappointed as I am, I think I would try his thriller books next time. Somewhere in the far future.
myeclecticbooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I must admit that I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this book. I've not previously read James Patterson...I'd certainly heard of James Patterson (many of my friends read him) but what I knew of him was thrillers and mysteries, grit and crime...not the emotional and sensitive look at life and love that this proved to be.The book flowed masterfully as I expected and from that standpoint was a joy to read. The character of Suzanne quickly captured my heart and I couldn't help rooting for her despite the obvious supposition that things could not be expected to end well for her. The sweet and honest romance between Suzanne and Matt at times seemed almost too perfect and idyllic and thus was for me a bit unbelievable. Despite that, I was sucked in and as the suspense built could not help but rush through to the end which I'll admit had me shedding a few tears.I'd definitely recommend this one as a quick and easy sweet read for a rainy afternoon. You won't be left pondering the universe, but a pleasant sense of melancholy and perhaps a need to re-examine your priorities in life will linger.
BookWhisperer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tragic love story no matter how you look at it. Enjoyed reading this story. Wasn't what I expected. This is the first James Patterson book that I read, I throughly enjoy his style of writing.
TheGoldenPen on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I simply adored this book! I read Patterson's other books, etc.. 'Along Came a Spider' and 'Kiss the Girls' but this one blew my mind away. I cried as i read it. At first I hated the main Character who seemed to have two timed his wife with another woman and left the other woman with Suszanne's Diary as a consulation prize, but as I got near the end I understood completely. This is a tear jerker. I couldn't put it down. This is my absolute favourite. I would read it again and again. I've read it twice and am contimplating getting it on my Kindle.
tracylg13 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
WOW, this book went a total different direction than i had thought it would. Get the Kleenex ready. Has made me a James Patterson fan. I finished this book the same day I started it.
AnneCurrin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very good, held my interest
DF6B_LaurenE on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a good book. It is about a young woman named Katie who begins reading this diary that her ex-boyfriend, Matt sent to her. The diary is from Matt's first wife, Suzanne. She had a heart attack at a young age and she decided that all the stress from work had caused this heart attack. So she moved to Martha's Vineyard. She meets Matt there. A little while later, they are married and she becomes pregnant with Nicholas. Not too long after his birth, she finds herself pregnant...again. After a terrible accident, Matt is left all alone.After reading about Suzanne and Nicholas, Katie decides to go visit Martha's Vineyard and "meet" Suzanne and Nicholas, while trying to find Matt.
babemuffin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A very sweet book - sometimes it's soo sweet that it's corny but you know I think we all wish for that something. It definitely squeezed my heart a lot and near the end squeezed my tear ducts as well. It kept me guessing til the end although I guess that's only because I really did not want to guess, I wanted to be surprised. I wanted it to be special and it didn't disappoint.¿
WillowOne on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Katie Wilkinson had, what she thought to be, a perfect, dream come true relationship. But the wind gets sucked from her sails quickly and painfully.Matt Harrison was the man of Katie's dreams, but also the man who would eventually hurt her.What Katie didn't know and would learn in time was the unimaginable pain and sadness Matt has survived and unfortunately was unable to let go of.After the break up Matt send Katie a diary, Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas and tells her that maybe by reading it she will begin to understand.The book is written from Katie's point of view and also from Suzanne's. You will learn by taking the journey of discovery, with Katie, reading the diary. The transition of present day to the diary is seamless and helps pull you deeper into the lives of every major character. You will celebrate, mourn, fall in love, cry and rejoice. It is hard not to become intertwined in the lives of the characters. I think it was best said by another reviewer at the beginning of the book that it will move you to your soul. I know it did mine.
Kanellio on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not thrilled with this although still love Patteson's short chapter style of writing. I think I am so used to his mystery genre that at times I can't get into his writing this type of fiction. I am sure it is just me as he is SO talented!