Swimming to Antarctica: Tales of a Long-Distance Swimmer

Swimming to Antarctica: Tales of a Long-Distance Swimmer

by Lynne Cox

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Swimming to Antarctica: Tales of a Long-Distance Swimmer 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An interesting chronicle of Lynne's swimming accomplishments. I think more enjoyable for swimmers, dedicated athletes than others. If you are looking for a book on what it takes to be #1, this is not it. But if you are looking for an informative and entertaining story of a true extreme athlete, you'll enjoy this book, as I did.
rosiefuzzypony on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a great book, I would highly reccomend it.
Morgester on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Lynne Cox discovered early that she loved swimming in the elements, and as a very fit swimmer with loads of endurance but not much speed over short swims, she is a natural at swimming for hours in open water. At the age of 14 she began by swimming the Catalina Channel between Catalina Island and Seal Beach just south of Los Angles (26 miles/over 12 hours). She then went looking for more challenges and set world records for the English Channel, was the first woman and one of only 5 people to swim the Cook Strait in New Zealand, and raced in the Nile River. She then set her sights on swimming the Bering Strait between Little Diomede Island and Big Diomede before the end of the cold war on her way to her most extreme swim in the life threatening cold of Antarctica. In the mean time swimming around the shark infested Cape of Good Hope, in Alaska¿s Glacier Bay, across Russia¿s Lake Baikal and in various other spots around the world. I don¿t usually like biography but I was sucked into this book from the first page. Throughout the book Lynne shares her fears, her determination and her triumphs with a humble spirit and with sincere acknowledgment of all the people in her life who have supported and encouraged her to follow her very extreme dreams. A fabulous read!
anotterchaos on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Terrific read; reads quickly, lots of great information about a pursuit I'd never guess existed. A lucky random library find!
dougcornelius on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading the autobiography of Lynne Cox - Swimming to Antarctica: Tales of a Long-Distance Swimmer. She is a remarkable athlete with an incredible ability to swim long distances and withstand hours in freezing water. Her accomplishments start in 1971, when at the age of 14, Lynne swam across the Catalina Channel with a group of teenagers from Seal Beach, California. They swam the 27 mile crossing in 12 hours and 36 minutes. She held back waiting for her teammates. But the seed was planted for her bigger adventures.At age 15 Lynne swam across the English Channel and shattered the men¿s and women¿s world records with a time of 9 hours and 57 minutes. When that record was broken, she returned the next year and broke the world record for the English Channel a second time with a time of 9 hours and 36 minutes.She went on to bigger and bigger adventures, breaking more swimming barriers. Her writing is very matter of fact. Sometimes just a brief mention of some crazy swim. The book fails to get at the core of what motivates her and interests her in swimming long distances. Her remarkable achievements carry you through the narrative.The last swim in the book gives the book its name as she swims a mile from a ship to the Antarctic shore. The more interesting swim is across the Bering Strait at the end of the Cold War. She swims five miles in thirty-eight-degree water in just a swimsuit, cap, and goggles from Little Diomede Island in Alaska to Big Diomede Island in the Soviet Union.Although the writing is a bit plain, it is filled with joy and a sense of adventure. All of the tales are stirring and heart-warming. A worthwhile read.
lalalibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I can't believe I've never heard of Lynne Cox before seeing this book in the library! She's basically awesome and has swum in water as cold as the mid-thirties wearing only a bathing suit. She held the record for the English Channel when she was only 15 yrs old and has since swum in lots of dangerous and cold waters where no one else has gone without a wetsuit. She even swam part of the Bering Strait to promote peace b/w the US and the Soviet Union during the Cold War. After a while hearing about her swims got a bit repetitive, but overall I recommend this book to anyone who likes reading about amazing physical feats. I was really inspired. I think I'll do the fundraiser swim across Buzzards Bay here in MA this summer!
she_climber on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As an adult that doesn't know how to swim, this book made me want to learn even more. I love the strength of her mind and how she didn't have the stereo-typical athletes body, but was able to accomplish such amazing physical feats that helped bring a world together.
bobbieharv on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
About all her swims around the world, beginning with the English channel at 15. Mesmerizing at first, but the same thing over and over got tiring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terry Smith More than 1 year ago
I have done some open waters and swim in a chlorinated pool, but what happened in this book makes you think that anything is possible in swimming and in life itself. After reading this book 79 degree water doesnt sound too cold for me.
Tara Mocker More than 1 year ago
This book was awesome it was so exciting and captured my attention. I swim in a pool and i cant imagine how she swims in the oceans with currents and tides and cold water. Awesome book i recconmend it for everyone
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
blwertz More than 1 year ago
Read about a woman that defies science and can swim in the coldest waters of the world. Not only an athlete, but a humanitarian, Lynne is able to reach across oceans, lakes and rivers to many different cultures. You will not stop shaking your head at what Lynne has accomplished.
milburnt7c More than 1 year ago
Not everyone can swim (or would want to) in 32-degree water, but Lynne Cox can. Swimming to Antarctica, by Lynne Cox, is an inspiring memoir about a young girl's journey to "swim around the world", and conquer her dreams of swimming in some of the coldest waters on the planet. Each swim she talks about is truly amazing and it leaves you wanting to know more at the end of each chapter. I admire her writing and the flow of her voice in her story. Swimming to Antarctica has an Alex Award and is truly a memorable memoir for ages of 10 and up. Lynne Cox, the author and main character, describes her thoughts and adventures of swimming in lakes, oceans, and rivers throughout the world. When she swims across the Bering Strait, she doesn't know if she will be able to handle the 32-degree water so she takes you deep into details about her problem and solution to the cold sea. I gave this story a 3 star rating because I felt that each chapter was the same struggle, swimming for so long, the cold water, and the crew. There were not many different ideas and stories to really capture your attention. "Oh, yes, I'm so cold. It will feel wonderful. I'm breathing so fast and hard. My body is shivering hard; my muscles are instinctively working to make heat..." Lynne Cox immerses you in her thoughts of swimming in the cold ocean. This quote from the story really is a overall "picture" of all of her swims. All the detail she proposes makes me think she is crazy but in fact mighty amazing. I truly admire her passion and mind to persevere through all of her struggles she has and I would recommend this book to anyone who doesn't give up and likes adventure in their reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not a distance swimmer--I've only done a few sprint triathlons--but I'm somewhat of a distance runner. I know what it's like to run the distances Lynne swims, but I can't imagine swimming them! Her attitude and focus can be applied not only for accomplishing long distance swims (and runs!) but to many other goals in life. The book was full of many amazing moments and was very enjoyable to read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago