The Tao of Pooh

The Tao of Pooh

Paperback(REPRINT)

$15.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 29

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Tao of Pooh 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 93 reviews.
Brandon_Eroles More than 1 year ago
"The Tao of Pooh" combines the philosophy of Taoism with the characters of Winnie the Pooh. Here, these ideas of Taoism are better illustrated then said and thus, Hoff explores and illustrates these ideas through the characters of the Hundred Acre Woods. Several notions analyzed and discussed include: simple mindedness, nowhere and nothing, and the negative effects of being too busy, too calculative, too complicated, too pessimistic, and ultimately anything "other" than what you actually are. Here, Taoism notes that we shouldn't try to be anything other than what we are and to accomplish this; we simply need to be ourselves, just as Pooh "is." Thus, it was a quick and satisfying read. Although lengthwise it is short, it may surprise you with its depth, complexity, and strong messages. Personally, the principles of Wu Wei and the other teachings presented in the "Tao of Pooh" will make you want to change many our own lifestyle choices. I would recommended this book to everyone!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I teach sixth grade social studies and one unit I teach is ancient China. When we talk about the different religions/belief systems in ancient China, I use this book to help students understand Toaism. They really understand it better when I read excerpts from this book.
Bambi728 More than 1 year ago
It's a wonderful little book that I bring everywhere. Pooh is expressed in his usual humble fashion... a bear of very little brains, but that is his advantage. He lives for the moment... in the moment. Benjamin Hoff is excellent at explaining the Taoist viewpoint in an easy to read and enjoyable light. I have learned so much from this book and would highly recommend it to anyone searching for answers all the time. It's a combination of familiarity with the relatively unfamiliar terminology of Taoism. Full of wit and good humor!
ProfessionalBookNerd More than 1 year ago
This is a very well written book about Taoist philosophy. If I picked up this book thinking it was going to be a cute little Pooh book, I would be confused and disappointed. But for the reader interested in Taoism, this is a very entertaining, insightful, refreshing take on the philosophy. Same goes for Te of Piglet.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Good day. This book is a life changer. Putting people in my life as a character in the world of Pooh has helped me understand them and myself better. A true find for the journey of life. TTFN.....
Kyniska on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A great introduction to Taoism and explanations of why it is relevant today.
aleahmarie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"Rabbit's clever," said Pooh thoughtfully. "Yes," said Piglet, "Rabbit's clever." "And he has Brain." "Yes," said Piglet, "Rabbit has Brain." There was a long silence. "I suppose," said Pooh, "that that's why he never understands anything."---------------------------------------In this classic, Benjamin Hoff explains the principles of Taoism using the most familiar Western symbol of all, Winnie-the-Pooh. Any beginner to the philosophy of Taoism will learn some history of the movement and several basic principles: P'u (Uncarved Block), Wu Wei Wu (Doing without doing), and even the Cottleston Pie Principle. My favorite lesson is about the dreaded Bisy Backson. Hoff describes them thusly: "The Bisy Backson is always going somewhere, somewhere he hasn't been. Anywhere but where he is."The book is fun and very readable. Hoff intersperses conversations with Pooh, Piglet and the gang with quotes from actual Taoist masters. He also throws in lots of passages from A. A. Milne's classics. This is my third reading of the book. I come back to it every few years for a pick-me-up. It's very much a "feel good" book.
OccamsHammer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good at showing how the Tao applies to Pooh, not quite as good in showing how Pooh applies to Tao. A pleasant book that uses the novelty of using Winnie the Pooh to explain the Chinese philosophy of Taoism.
the_awesome_opossum on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Tao of Pooh is a cute introduction to Taoism, as illustrated by the stories of Winnie the Pooh. I think it's wonderful to have a philosophy that can be boiled down into, essentially, a children's book - as the author says, too often scholars deliberately obfuscate their beliefs to appear important, so it's nice to see simplicity stressed here. Also, it makes me want to go back and reread Winnie the Pooh, to see what other gems of philosophy I missed out on as a child
melydia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The timing of this read was intentional. Mired in the chaos of NaNoWriMo, I knew I would need something that was not only calming, but nonfiction. There are those who prefer to read fiction to inspire or comfort them while in the midst of a major writing project, but I knew that it would be distracting - I'd either get caught up in the storyline (and forget where I was going with mine) or the writing style would serve as a constant reminder of what tripe I was producing. A gentle philosophy book starring a Bear of Little Brain seemed to be just what I was looking for.And in that respect, it was. However, I was not so impressed with the ideas presented in this book. It seemed to spend too much time explaining why Confucianism (which it consistently referred to as "Confusion"), Knowledge, and Cleverness were not the correct paths in life. I disagree; I believe that everything has its proper place. Perhaps we put too much emphasis on the latter two, but shunning them completely is not the answer. Things do not magically fall into place by doing Nothing all the time. Trust me, I've tried it. It's relaxing, to be sure, until things start falling apart and suddenly you have to become a "Busy Backson" to catch up.This was not a bad book, to be sure, and I am open to the possibility that I missed the point entirely. It was light and fun and in fact quite Clever. Its biggest benefit, however, was to instill in me a desire to read the A. A. Milne tales that inspired Hoff to write this book in the first place.
Marewinds on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Recommended for everyone, a lighthearted look at the Tao and a simpler way of living through the eyes of my favorite bear. My husband lives the Tao of Pooh. If you're having trouble understanding the Tao, or having a hard time relating to that duck that seems to let the world roll off his back, this book puts everything into perspective. There's no denying the fun in this book; the beautiful, flowing, clear writing style is classic A.A. Milne Pooh, and demonstrates what a perfect example this bear is for the concepts of the Tao.
inkstained on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a fabulous introduction for westerners to taoist philosophy. The use of familiar childhood characters to illustrate taoist themes is effective and will make nearly anyone smile. I haven't read the sequel to it yet, but I expect it to be just as delightful.
adeptmagic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
an excellent introduction to Taoism through the ever-familiar Pooh, Piglet and Eeyore.
dk_phoenix on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Well, I enjoyed the Pooh anecdotes and the little quips from familiar characters... and I liked the readable style of the text... but that was where my enjoyment ended.Perhaps it's the philosophy itself that I didn't like most (I didn't), or perhaps it was Hoff's somewhat hypocritical approach to deriding Western culture while showing off his knowledge (and at the same time telling us that knowledge from learning is a waste of time)... but certainly, both contributed to my frustrations with it.Rather than spend all my time pointing out inconsistencies and the points on which I think Hoff's attitude needs adjusting, I'll provide one example in particular, the one that bothered me the most:From page 146:"While the Clear mind listens to a bird singing, the Stuffed-Full-of-Cleverness-and-Knowledge mind wonders what kind of bird is singing."So... asking questions, learning, and gaining a greater understanding of our universe and the world around us is a bad thing? Doesn't understanding which bird is singing lead to a greater appreciation for that bird's song?!?As someone who constantly seeks knowledge for the pure joy of learning, I'm afraid Taoist philosophy as presented by Hoff sounds incredibly ignorant.As my husband said when I read him that passage: "Wow, sounds like Taoism is a great way to control a population..."Agreed. And that's what frustrates me the most: encouraging willful ignorance.
Bidwell-Glaze on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was going to review this book, but find that everybody seems to have got as much out of it as I did. As an introduction to Taoism, it was wonderful. I just need to note that I didn't know the Pooh stories before I read it and have gotten into reading them from this book also.
Othemts on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A fun introduction to Taoism through the lens of AA Milne's Winnie the Pooh characters.
sabs83 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A fun way of explaining Taoist ideas through the character of Winnie the Pooh.
fduniho on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An excellent introduction to Taoism.
SweetbriarPoet on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Tao of Pooh is a very accurate way to describe Taoism. It is simple and lighthearted, and Pooh is the perfect character to pull off how a pleasant life can be found in the smallest of things and the broadest of environments. In fact, this small book is perfect for anyone interested in the religion; without the detail and deep analysis of an academic, this book flourishes in its relation to an everyday Taoist. It is elegant in its relation to childhood and the wisdom that comes with reverting back to childlike happiness.
bexaplex on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Whimsical introduction to Taoism. The author's voice is a little bitter, which is odd for a book on the child-like mind. When he goes on about 200-year-old men and shoe shopping towards the end, I lost interest.
Cygnus555 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A beautiful little book filled with thought-provoking, easily-understood and digestible concepts.
Meh_ssdd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. It is a very lighthearted approach to explaining Taoism to those with little background in it. It is very accessible.That being said, it is not a book of serious philosophy, in any sense of the word 'serious'. It basically presents Taoism as a perfect system of thinking, without any serious consideration of other religious/ philosophical approach. It never presents criticism of its subject and lacks discussion of how followers of Taoism apply its principles in real life. Please do not read this book and then decide to convert. It is very nice as a brief introduction to Taoism, but you cannot claim to have any complete knowledge of it from a reading of this book.A hate feeling like I'm coming down on the book, but some perspective is in order.
punkypower on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really loved this book. I've always loved Pooh. I've always wanted to learn more about Taoism. Unfortunately, the principles are so hard to put into action is today's world. Try "Doing Nothing" when it comes to your job, and you'll usually find yourself out of work.I will try and keep an open mind and try to put the principles to use when I can, though.
veneta09 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
this book really helped me grasp the basic idea of Taoism. really great philosophy on living simply with the natural world. ideas about helping you understand your personality and it's flaws.
kaelirenee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A light-hearted, but never disrespectful, explination of Taoism, using Winnie the Pooh as the Taoist archetype.