Confessions (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Confessions (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Paperback

$8.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Confessions 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 80 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is by far the best translation I've read. It is vibrant and the wording flows with an excellent rhythm.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm only somewhat more than halfway through the Confessions just yet, but I already find St. Augustine's extremely deep knowledge of God, His Triune nature, His Incarnation, et cetera, are amazing! No other saint that I've heard of can take you so deeply into the mysteries of God, with such simple language! Now, there are times where he gets more philosophical, and one needs to read a paragraph several times in order to understand exactly what he's getting at, but that is rare. For the most part, St. Augustine's story of how he went from sinner to saint is a truly amazing story- not even so much that it's amazing in itself, but that the way it will move one towards God is certainly amazing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very readable and good translation. Vessey's introduction is informative and helpful in appreciating Augustine's work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent Read, great gift
Dr_Rob More than 1 year ago
I wish more Christians would read this autobiography by Augustine of Hippo, which is actually an ongoing prayer to God about his life and conversion. His honesty in describing himself to God is a good example for contemporary Christians. I especially liked this translation, too, because it brought out the humanity of the author, avoiding archaic language that could make Augustine appear formally religious and distant from human experiences. Augustine, who was from North Africa and of Berber ancestry, is one of the most profound theologians in Christian history. HIs writings have had great influence on Protestants, Roman Catholics, and Eastern Orthodox Christians. I consider him to be one of the most profound theologians in the Reformed branch of Christianity.
Borg-mx5 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
St. Augustine is one of the most significant authors of the early Roman Catholic Church. This autobiography is stunning in its frankness and its passion. Augustine of Hippo documents his transition from childhood to adulthood; also his path from Paganism to Christianity. He is not a perfect human being, he is seeking something profound, but is also admittedly weak and tempted by pride and pleasure. While many books have been written after, none before had been written like it.
StephenBarkley on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The peril with reading classics is my insufficiency to write a proper review. As with The Imitation and Revelations of Divine Love, you'll have to be content with my amateurish reflections instead.When I first sat down to begin Book One of The Confessions, I was prepared for a war. I figured if I could get through five or ten pages, I'd be doing well. I was pleasantly surprised to discover how readable and compelling this spiritual autobiography is. The work is divided into thirteen separate "books", and it's no problem to lose yourself in one book per sitting¿even if you're not trained in history or theology. I'm sure much of this is due to Philip Burton's fine translation.Speaking of the translator, he did the reader a favour by setting all scriptural quotations in italics. Augustine was pickled in scripture¿especially the Psalms. He can't praise God without the Psalmist's phrases springing to his pen. While with some this style could seem cumbersome (little more than parachuting in proof-texts), it's endearing with Augustine. There's no wonder why his name is prefixed with Saint.Augustine's heart was tender. When he sinned, he grieved over it. Not just so-called big sins, either. In one section he delves into his motives for steeling some fruit he didn't even need from a neighbour's tree. It's encouraging to read someone who takes their spiritual life so seriously, and who admits their faults so freely. (Where else on the spiritual best-seller list can you find a chapter entitled, "Farewell My Concubine"?)I have to admit that I was frustrated by the last three chapters. They were a reminder that ancient writers don't follow the same conventions that we moderns do. After ten books of beautiful and gripping autobiography he spent the last three explaining his philosophical and allegorical understanding of Genesis 1. I know his break with Manichean philosophy runs through both biography and commentary but it doesn't make it any less frustrating to read. Even so, endure the last three books. There are still gems to be found.With a work so classic as The Confessions, you can find any number of editions. I choose the cloth-bound Everyman's Edition from Knopf, published in 2001. The binding is solid and the typesetting is elegant. More importantly, the translator was clear and authentic and Robin Lane Fox's substantial introduction helped to put the entire work into perspective.Don't fear the "classic" moniker. This work is a gem any thinking Christian would do well to read.
jwhenderson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have read this book several times, both as part of the Basic Program of Liberal Education at the University of Chicago and most recently as one of the monthly selections of a reading group in which I participate. Like all classics it bears rereading and yields new insights each time I read it. But it also is unchanging in ways that struck me when I first read it; for Augustine's Confessions seem almost modern in the telling with a psychological perspective that brings his emotional growth alive across the centuries. From the carnality of his youth to the moment in the Milanese Garden when his perspective changed forever you the story is an earnest and sincere exposition of his personal growth. You do not have to be a Catholic or even a believer to appreciate the impact of events in the life of the young Augustine. His relations with his mother, Monica, are among those that still have impact on the modern reader. This is one of those "Great" books that remind you that true insight into the human condition transcends time and place.
jamguest on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I liked it. One of the more theological books I¿ve read this year and in the past year (shame on me). For what it was it was assuredly brilliant. And I was intrigued to learn of his struggles in the faith. I was particularly challenged in my own spiritual life in my relationships with others. I didn¿t quite finish it because it isn¿t an easy read prose wise. I owe it another go at some point (along with City of God).
sedeara on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Well, I'm finished with this book at last!I originally became interested in reading Confessions when I saw a special twelve years ago about the beginnings of Christianity, because I thought "Confessions" sounded like a juicy book. It's really not juicy at all, so it's a good thing I approached it interested in theology and not scandal by the time I finally got around to reading it. This time around, I mainly felt like it was important for me to read firsthand the philosophy that is so much a basis of Catholic thought.Like most books written in the middle ages, St. Augustine's would have benefited from a good editor. There were a lot of times where I felt he repeated himself, which is fine for a spiritual seeker's personal musings, but a bit annoying for an outside reader hundreds of years later. And even though he wrote his Confessions both to strengthen his understanding/relationship with God and to further the same for others, a lot of it really did feel like naval-gazing. Still, I found myself appreciating a LOT of Augustine's theology, such as his insistence that people could come to diverse interpretations of Scripture without any of them being "wrong" (take that, fundamentalists!). Indeed, Augustine's perception of Christianity seems a lot more open than the Catholic Church of today would lead you to believe, although the hierarchy HAS kept his puritan perceptions of sexuality fully intact. Thank God for that.
elfortunawe on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago

I began reading this once years ago, but it failed to engage me and I put it aside. When I started again I couldn't understand my previous lack of interest. The work ranges from philosophical speculation to personal memoir, and each kind has it's appeal. I was surprised by how must variety of belief and opinion late antiquity held on so many topics. Some of the debates and issues Augustine describes sound shockingly contemporary, though put in different terms. The passages covering Augustine's personal life can be poignant, especially those concerning death.

The scholarly consensus is that the Confessions was meant to be a preamble to a longer work: a detailed exegesis of the entirety of Christian scripture. The last three books cover the first chapter of Genesis, with careful attention given to an allegorical interpretation of the creation story. This is apparently as far Augustine ever got, thus adding to the long tradition of great, unfinished masterpieces.

Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A masterful work of antiquity. The spiritual journey of his life in part one: Bk. 1-9; The account on Genesis on the creation Bk. 10-13. A recommended read for History Majors, laymen and for all audiences to understand Catholicism better. It ends with his peace and reconciliation with His God after being wayward his entire life before his conversion and baptism. A seminal and an introspective work gracefully done. His legacy is influential to this day in the Western World.
Jeff_Cann More than 1 year ago
Books 1 through 9 were enjoyable because I could relate to his struggles. I then struggled with Books 10 - 13 as St. Augustine dove into the deep end of philosophy. I did appreciate the additional materials, in particular the introduction definitely helped me understand. Also, there was another reviewer who was apparently offended that this author translated deus into god (lower case). I wanted to point out (from the introduction) that the author was trying to be faithful to the original Latin codex. Unfortunately, codex written in Augustine's time had minimal punctuation and proper nouns were not capitalized consistently like they are these days. Here's the quote from the author in the introduction: "There would be no initial capitals for proper names or other key terms. Not even the words for “god” (deus) and “lord” (dominus) would be capitalized, though they might on occasion be abbreviated."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For clarification, this is a review of the Barnes & Noble Classics Series edition of Confessions by St. Augustine in NOOK Book format, translated by Richard C. Outler and with an introduction by Mark Vessey.  The biggest problem I have with this version is that it uses lower case for God, Lord, and other terms for our creator throughout the book. What was particularly odd about this is that I've seen at least one other printing of Outler's translation that does not omit the conventional use of capital letters for God's name. It is as if the editor was deliberately trying to minimize the importance of God. The editor is entitled to believe what he wishes, but clearly this book was written by someone who believes in and respects the Lord, and who would certainly have used capital letters had he been writing in contemporary English. (Heck, while I don't believe in Zeus, I still capitalize his name, because that's it's conventional to capitalize words used as names. I also noticed the footnotes making a reference to "Augustine's mythology, referring to Christianity. After a few chapters, I decided to find another translation from someone who was so clearly a non-believer, to ensure that the translation, format and footnotes captured the spirit with which St. Augustine wrote.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seghetto More than 1 year ago
If you expect a stuffy book written by a Saint of The Catholic Church then you are reading the wrong book. St. Augustine details his days as a sinner as well as his time among the nicomacheans. He was disillusioned so he found God and the church. Augustine actually goes pretty deep into the psychology behind his worship and his epiphany. This translation was fantastic and I couldn't have imagined any other version.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It seems as though all this version gave me was part way through book 2? Where is the resr?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago