The Girl Who Drank the Moon

The Girl Who Drank the Moon

by Kelly Barnhill

Paperback(Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal)

$7.96 $9.95 Save 20% Current price is $7.96, Original price is $9.95. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Girl Who Drank the Moon 15 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book!
Anonymous 24 days ago
An amazing book that needs to be praised much, much, more! This boook is to good to be true! I wish I could wish a second book into this world!
onemused More than 1 year ago
THE GIRL WHO DRANK THE MOON is a simply stunning and magically lyrical story. The book follows many points-of-view in fairytale-like prose with memorable and beautifully crafted characters. The people of the Protectorate live under a smog of sorrow, generated in no small part by the annual sacrifice they must make to the Witch who lives in the dangerous forest. The youngest child must be left in a circle of trees for the witch to do with as she wishes- or else she will destroy the town. This is what the people know and what they must do. What they do not know is that Xan is the witch who gathers these infants who seem to be abandoned. She feeds them starlight and takes them to the Free People where they are adopted and loved. Xan certainly would not demand they leave them there, and she does not wish to do harm to anyone. One year, a child with a birthmark like a moon on her forehead is left. Xan feeds the baby starlight, but the moon is full, and she accidently feeds the baby from the moon and enmagics the girl. She adopts her and names her Luna. Luna’s mother had fought the Elders when they took her baby, and she lives in the tower of the Sisters. Antain, the boy who was training to be one of the Elders, had his life forever altered when he took the infant Luna from her mother. We follow his story as he questions and ages and eventually wants to hunt the witch to stop the sacrifices. With elegant prose and poetic style, this book is hauntingly beautiful. Adding to that the characters, the effect is simply enchanting. Luna grows up with Xan, Glerk the Bog Monster, and Fyrian, the perfectly tiny dragon who believes himself to be Simply Enormous after his mother had said he would be. Each character could have their own story, and together, the pages are filled to the brim with fascinating stories. The overarching messages include those about authority, love, sorrow, and hope, resulting in a fantastic middle grade novel that can appeal to all ages. Although dark at times, it is also funny and charming. I highly recommend for anyone who loves fairytales, magical realism, and beautiful stories of any age. Please note that I received a copy from the publisher. All opinions are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a very good book! Cute and meaningful. Would definitely read more than once. Possibly one of my favorite books now! Reminds me of Studio Ghibli Movies
bookaddictJN More than 1 year ago
Received this book for Christmas, and thoroughly enjoyed reading it. VERY well written, and executed. Loved the development of the characters, and their voices throughout. Would highly recommend this book to anyone who needs an engrossing read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In The Girl Who Drank the Moon, a witch named Xan is seen as a monster just because she has magic powers. The village/council sacrifices a baby to the witch every year on the day of “ sacrifice. “ They leave the child in the woods and wait for the witch to take it but they’ve never stayed around long enough to see the witch or what she does with the child, but they instead flee as soon as placing the child in the woods, in fear of also getting eaten. Xan though, doesn’t eat or hurt the child, in fact she has no idea why there even is a child in the same place every year. She takes care of the child until it gets adopted by the carefully selected family that Xan chose. One day while waiting for goats milk to be delivered by a friend, the baby she had most recently found in the woods was extremely hungry so she started to make a drink from the sky. She had done this countless times before and there was really no magic in this drink, but this night was different. The moon was full and Xan didn’t notice it. She made the drink normally but mixed in the moon, again not seeing that it was full. Later after the child drank the drink from the sky Xan started to notice strange things. She soon discovered her mistake and now the child had magic powers that were in fact, permanent. Xan made the decision to keep the child due to her powers to raise her to know how to use and control her powers. She names the girl Luna and throughout the book we see that Xan and Luna have a very strong bond. Luna has never understood her powers and they were extremely difficult to control when she was around 5. Everything she imagined would appear. Her imagination would shoot out of her at any moment of thought. The woods would turn into gingerbread and the pond into cake. This to Xan was exhausting. Her old 400 year old body and magic couldn’t keep up with this new young fast power, she began to get weak. While Xan was raising Luna a madwomen is living in a tower in a cell, under the supervision of another council. They nicknamed her the mad woman because she went insane when her daughter was taken away. 13 years ago ( In the story ) this woman’s daughter was the sacrifice to the witch. The mad woman is known as insane because when her daughter was getting taken she refused unlike the father of the child who accepted his daughter's fate. The mad woman screamed and yelled while climbing to the top of the houses support beams and held the child until it was taken. She is said to go insane after that. Now she lives in a cell and does nothing but make paper birds to find her lost daughter. The Girl Who Drank the Moon in my opinion, was a very good book. The story was very interesting and easy to keep up with. There may have been a lot to keep up with but it wasn’t difficult to remember as everything that happens is a pretty big part of the story therefore always moving things along and keeping it going. The characters are loveable and you can really sympathize with some of them. The parts where they try and explain the “ magic “ aren’t too cheesy or tacky and they do a good job on explaining the complexity of the “ more harder to explain “ parts of the book. “ I really liked the story of Luna’s and how she doesn’t stop trying to find her taken daughter. They show the characters struggle and confusion towards there situations very well and the writing easily shows all these emotions and struggles.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In The Girl Who Drank the Moon, a witch named Xan is seen as a monster just because she has magic powers. The village/council sacrifices a baby to the witch every year on the day of “ sacrifice. “ They leave the child in the woods and wait for the witch to take it but they’ve never stayed around long enough to see the witch or what she does with the child, but they instead flee as soon as placing the child in the woods, in fear of also getting eaten. Xan though, doesn’t eat or hurt the child, in fact she has no idea why there even is a child in the same place every year. She takes care of the child until it gets adopted by the carefully selected family that Xan chose. One day while waiting for goats milk to be delivered by a friend, the baby she had most recently found in the woods was extremely hungry so she started to make a drink from the sky. She had done this countless times before and there was really no magic in this drink, but this night was different. The moon was full and Xan didn’t notice it. She made the drink normally but mixed in the moon, again not seeing that it was full. Later after the child drank the drink from the sky Xan started to notice strange things. She soon discovered her mistake and now the child had magic powers that were in fact, permanent. Xan made the decision to keep the child due to her powers to raise her to know how to use and control her powers. She names the girl Luna and throughout the book we see that Xan and Luna have a very strong bond. Luna has never understood her powers and they were extremely difficult to control when she was around 5. Everything she imagined would appear. Her imagination would shoot out of her at any moment of thought. The woods would turn into gingerbread and the pond into cake. This to Xan was exhausting. Her old 400 year old body and magic couldn’t keep up with this new young fast power, she began to get weak. While Xan was raising Luna a madwomen is living in a tower in a cell, under the supervision of another council. They nicknamed her the mad woman because she went insane when her daughter was taken away. 13 years ago ( In the story ) this woman’s daughter was the sacrifice to the witch. The mad woman is known as insane because when her daughter was getting taken she refused unlike the father of the child who accepted his daughter's fate. The mad woman screamed and yelled while climbing to the top of the houses support beams and held the child until it was taken. She is said to go insane after that. Now she lives in a cell and does nothing but make paper birds to find her lost daughter. The Girl Who Drank the Moon in my opinion, was a very good book. The story was very interesting and easy to keep up with. There may have been a lot to keep up with but it wasn’t difficult to remember as everything that happens is a pretty big part of the story therefore always moving things along and keeping it going. The characters are loveable and you can really sympathize with some of them. The parts where they try and explain the “ magic “ aren’t too cheesy or tacky and they do a good job on explaining the complexity of the “ more harder to explain “ parts of the book. “ I really liked the story of Luna’s and how she doesn’t stop trying to find her taken daughter. They show the characters struggle and confusion towards there situations very well and the writing easily shows all these emotions and struggles.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sandy5 More than 1 year ago
The Grand Elder takes the youngest child every year on the Day of Sacrifice to the witch; this child is the village’s sacrifice. It has been done for years but this year things are different. As the child is being summoned the mother refuses to give up her baby, guards must be called in to take the child from her mother and the mother is placed in the tower for surely she has gone mad. Antain, the Grand Elder’s nephew, an Elder in training, is questioning the procedures and his questions are not making the Grand Elder happy. No one questions what the Elders do; it is what must be done. Antain has big ideas and the only reason he is in the position he is, is because he a relative. The Elders have never really seen the witch and what really happens to the children once they leave them by the forest, is not theirs to think about, they only go about the procedures that have been passed down to them but Antain wants answers. Antain wants to see the witch. I loved the magical aspect of this story, the whole novel felt enhanced with magic and I was enchanted as I learned about the village and what actually occurred in the forest. Something magical happens to the babies when the Elders leave them for the witch each year. The village has created their own stories of what the witch does with these young children and when I read the novel, I was surprised at what lied beneath the trees. The forest was alive and yet the village could not see it. I think this would make a wonderful bedtime story or read-aloud. It truly is a remarkable story.
mdemanatee More than 1 year ago
"The world is good. Go see it." Well add this to the list of books that have made me tear up in public. A beautiful modern fairy tale. Like seriously. This book is about triumphing over sorrow and corruption and remains hopeful of the world's beauty and goodness.
theaterofthemind More than 1 year ago
I won an ARC of The Girl Who Drank The Moon by Kelly Barnhill in a Goodreads firstreads giveaway. Although The Girl Who Drank The Moon is actually aimed at a much younger audience than me, I enjoyed this book a lot. It is an easy read with wonderful imagery. The scary parts are not too scary and love rules the day. All the characters (except the mean ones of course) are lovable and comical. I would love to hang out with Fyrian and Glerk. Then characters are well developed for younger to middle grade readers. The main story is simple enough for younger readers (or listeners) yet had enough depth to keep this old coot interested. At 386 pages it might be a bit long for some younger readers, but would be a great story to be read to a child or grandchild. I think it would pique their interest and the word pictures author Kelly Barnhill paints would definitely spark imaginations. Eating starlight was for me, one such word picture. The Girl Who Drank The Moon has a few lessons scattered throughout, but I liked that they were not so dominating of the story that they got in the way. The lessons are subtly woven into the narration and advance, rather than interrupt, the story. So, although The Girl Who Drank The Moon by Kally Barnhill is aimed at a younger audience, I do believe that adults will find this a fun book to read with or to their younger story lovers. Enjoy! Mike