The Middleman (Signed Book)

The Middleman (Signed Book)

by Olen Steinhauer

Hardcover(Signed Edition)

$25.19 $27.99 Save 10% Current price is $25.19, Original price is $27.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Middleman (Signed Book) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good
Macsbooks More than 1 year ago
From the very first paragraph of The Middleman, I was hooked! This is a book that you should not begin reading unless you have time to read it all - at once - without stopping. It is an "unputdownable" page turning thriller! Generally I don't read books about the US government, FBI or CIA any longer. The truth in the world is too terrible and I don't like to see espionage glorified. However, the promise of a book that didn't sway too far one way or the other politically that also offered up "conspiracy theories," the FBI's role in the protests, a "new revolution" and more was so current and on point that I had to take a look. I am so glad that I did. This book had my attention from beginning to end with absolutely no lag time in between! Olen Steinhauer, the best selling author of The Cairo Affair and many other thrillers, knows how to weave together a tale of espionage, current events and human emotion. There was enough technical "feeb" talk to give the book authenticity without ever crossing the line into boring or eye-rolling scenarios. His perception of current and global events is remarkable and so spot on that I expected to log into my news feed and read about this incident in real time - the realism of this novel is chillingly accurate! The premise is that America is on the brink of a revolution and the FBI is either a step behind the revolutionaries or has infiltrated the group (read the book to know for sure, no spoilers here.) When hundreds of people literally vanish from their lives leaving behind everything and everyone they cared about, Special Agent Rachel Prouix is tasked with finding the missing and the leaders of this massive revolutionary band of insurgents. What she discovers will shock both her and you and leave you scrambling to read faster toward the end of the book! If you enjoy thrillers, police procedurals, suspense, espionage or just a really well written exciting storyline, then you will love this book. I highly recommend it!
DBBGriswold 6 months ago
Admittedly not my favorite and read over the course of a reading drought. Current events, spy theme with corruption and terrorism plot centered upon a diluted spectrum of right versus wrong. All the makings, but fell short of character connections, and enthusiastic plot.
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
The Middleman By Olen Steinhauer Minotaur Books August 7, 2018 Hardcover, 368 pp., $26.99A$ ISBN 978-0-2500-3617-9 Reviewed by Theodore Feit A thriller wrapped in a mystery which cannot make up its mind where it is going, or even coming from. At the heart of the plot, Special Agent Rachel Proulx of the FBI is studying and preparing a report on terrorist groups. Consequently, she spearheads the FBI’s efforts to monitor a group whose leader does not favor active terrorism, but cerebral efforts to change society. The FBI plants an undercover agent in the group and he is forced to act as a sniper on July 4, 2017, shooting a Congresswoman spearheading an investigation into a couple of financial institutions, Three other members of Congress are killed, although the Congresswoman is only shot in the neck and survives. One of the other three is also a leader in the investigation of the financial companies. So much for peaceful demonstrations, and the group is now classified as a terrorist organization. What remains is for Rachel and the undercover agent to team up and try to find out what really took place along the way and discover the answers to unexplained questions and events, making these attempts while outcasts from their own FBI. While the novel is constructed to move along and keep the reader interested, it is buried in obscurity and sometimes difficult to follow. For the most part, the story meanders back and forth, past to present, adding little to forward movement. It really is a tale of conspiracies compounded by double-crosses, but not a bad read, and is recommended.
Bonnie Franks More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this thrill ride of a book to the max! This book is current, edgy, precise, scary, and told in a grabbing manner. I love the various perspectives of the speakers. They all have a story to tell, and their stories are all important. It was action-packed from the beginning and did not let up. Discoveries were made from beginning to end. Kept me riveted. I related to many of the characters in a substantial way. What shone through to me in all of it, was the fact that we are all humans. Regardless of beliefs, when push comes to shove, there are common factors. A fascinating read and one I'm sure any spy, mystery, thriller, political thriller readers will love. This book was provided to me by NetGalley and the publisher.
ASalt More than 1 year ago
“The Middleman” by Olen Steinhauer follows Kevin Moore, a retail worker with a military past, who is one of the four hundred people to disappear—leaving behind everything, including his job, cell phone, and IDs. He is a member of the Massive Brigade—a mysterious organization led by Martin Bishop, who aims to rebel against the current state of society. Soon, politicians start getting killed off. While Moore is travelling with his fellow Brigade members, Special Agent Rachel Proulx is investigating the organization. The FBI has an infiltrator there, who is reporting on the Massive Brigade’s every move, Meanwhile, Martin becomes involved with Ingrid, a pregnant wife who leaves her husband to join him in his movement—just as the FBI is growing closer and closer to shutting the whole thing off. Then the hunter becomes the hunted. For me, what stood out in this thriller is its setting, which fully reflects modern-day America, starting from the political divisiveness that’s been in place since the last election, to the street protests, police shootings, and even international meddling. Nothing is ever straightforward, and there are constantly several agendas going on simultaneously, battling each other out. Overall, a thoughtful thriller that has a very realistic ring to it.
SheTreadsSoftly More than 1 year ago
The Middleman by Olen Steinhauer is a highly recommended political thriller. One day in 2017 four hundred people disappear, leaving behind everything, all ID, cell phones, family, jobs, and friends. The group is a part of the Massive Brigade, led by social justice warrior Martin Bishop and Ben Mittag, and their first coordinated act is this complete disappearance and silence. The FBI assigns Special Agent Rachel Proulx to follow the group since she has been keeping track of Martin Bishop as well as left-wing political groups, since 2016. FBI agent, Kevin Moore, is undercover with the Brigade, and has an insider's view of their actions. Between Kevin and Rachel the reader can follow what happens. When the actions taken by the Brigade on July 4th set off a string of events, it seemingly results in the success of the FBI's handling of the incidents and the group, but both Kevin and Rachel know more information than the public. The two end up privately working together to uncover the inside information being kept from the public. This is a timely thriller with an alternate history timeline that should resonate with many readers who should be able to draw some comparisons to current political/social events. The plot and information is complicated and there is much more going on than you will have answers for until much later in the novel. I appreciated the role the media played in the novel - both being manipulated to create public opinion and making the news follow their ideological slant. While Rachel and Kevin are both likeable characters, some of the rest of the characters seem less finely drawn. The ultimate cause the brigade is publicly denouncing doesn't quite take on the menace and evil that it should, given the acts carried out by the group and the seriousness of the uncovered information. The Middleman is entertaining and engrossing thriller. Steinhauer knows how to create a complicated plot, add in a timely political climate, and slowly allow points to be revealed along the way to the conclusion. Disclosure: My review copy was courtesy of St. Martin's Press via Netgalley.
MauCarden6 More than 1 year ago
Opening an Olen Steinhauer book is what I imagine opening a Tiffany’s gift box would be like, with joy, anticipation, and the smug satisfaction of being one of a lucky ones. Lucky comes because Steinhauer is too unknown. Maybe his TV show-Berlin Station will bring him the readership he deserves. The Middleman returns Steinhauer, in spirit only, to the original stomping grounds of his police procedurals in an unnamed communist country. In those books, terror is mostly a product of the state, as is media control. There are also tiny pockets of resistance, sometimes only by individuals. In The Middleman the country is the United States, not some unnamed communist country. Also, this is not in some dystopian future, this is now. One day, four hundred people walk away from their lives. The FBI knows a bit about the Massive Brigade, the group these people are joining. As the FBI does with many groups, even those not considered to be a threat, it has assigned S/A Rachel Proulx to monitor the group. With the disappearances, Proulx is suddenly given a much larger budget, a larger office and more people to work with. The Massive Brigade could be hot stuff! The end of the world as we know it, as certain media commentators would have us believe. Maybe The Massive Brigade is hot stuff, because the world is most certainly changing and maybe the four hundred people of The Massive Brigade are enough to hold back the tide and make their own changes. Steinhauer is masterful in portraying “the what ares” and “the what ifs.” Told by four major POV’s, The Middleman explores the motivations and the growth of those characters, including us on their journeys. The journeys sets the four antagonists on their separate dangerous paths, bringing them together at various times in surprising ways. They are all pawns in a fascinating, topsy-turvy world, pawns just not in the United States but in Europe too. Here is where I am disappointed, the diamond in my Tiffany box doesn’t fit, too large, maybe? The ending is just too convoluted. I had to read it twice, and even then I had questions. As a gift to Sheinhauer’s fans a character from a couple other books shows up to explain his role as a sort of deux ex machina.
Ratbruce More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book even though the plot wasn't very believable and the twists weren't as surprising as I'd have wished. Good character development and well paced.
whatsbetterthanbooks More than 1 year ago
Intricate, fast-paced, and astute! The Middleman, the latest novel by Steinhauer, is an intriguing political thriller that takes you into the heart of American politics and immerses you in a story of left-wing ideology and the struggle to maintain morality and induce change without force in a world motivated by violence. The prose is descriptive and well paced. The characters are passionate, resourceful, and determined. And the plot is an engaging tale about greed, power, deception, abuse, violence, manipulation, murder, and corruption. Overall, The Middleman is a dark, timely, pensive tale that explores the fine line between good and evil, and highlights just how easily that line can become blurry.