The Night Before

The Night Before

by Wendy Walker

NOOK Book(eBook)

$13.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Night Before 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 76 reviews.
Anonymous 6 months ago
A+great+book+to+add+to+your+summer+reading+pile+but+be+prepared+to+not+move.++Once+you+start+you+wont+be+able+to+stop
Anonymous 4 months ago
really+grabs+you+attention+until+your+can%27t+put+it+down.
LuvSnoop42 6 months ago
Call me crazy, BUT "All is Not Forgotten", Wendy walker's first novel, was a 4 star read. I gave "Emma in the Night 5 stars because it was THAT awesome. BUT her third novel knocks it out of the park!!! Obviously Wendy Walker just gets better!! Sister drama! LOVE it! No spoilers. just READ IT!!! Thank you #NetGalley for the ARC!
Alfoster 6 months ago
I love Wendy Walker's books so I was excited to read this one. Wow! Seriously, it hooks you from the beginning and doesn't let up for one minute. Each chapter I kept thinking, "Wait. Huh?? What just happened?" Secrets, lies, obsession, internet dating...what's not to like? Plot revolves around sisters, Laura and Rosie as Laura is attempting dating life again after being dumped. But of course it's a man she met on a dating website so he's a virtual stranger, and when she goes missing after the date...well, you may think you know where this is going but I assure you that you don't! Prepare to have your head spin! Thanks to NetGalley for this ARC!
bamcooks 6 months ago
*4.5 stars rounded up! An exciting thriller from start to finish that is very well constructed. It starts off with a short conversation between Laura Lochner and her therapist in NYC four months earlier, then switches to the present evening as Laura prepares for a first date, the connection made through an online dating service. She is currently living with her sister Rosie and her family in Branston, CT, after a bad relationship break-up. It is sort of like returning 'home' as she is surrounded by old friends and old memories. Laura has a troubled past and in many ways, has stayed trapped in her childhood. She has always felt unlovable and seems to make life choices that reenforce this belief, causing her to make the same mistakes over and over. She borrows her sister's minivan to go off on her date and promises to be back later that night but the next morning, her sister discovers that Laura hasn't yet returned and fears the worst. So the story unfolds in three ways, three timelines: through Laura's first person recounting of the evening of the date, through third person pov as Rosie desperately searches for her sister, and through tidbits of Laura's conversations with her therapist that are interspersed. Along the way, the reader begins to wonder if Laura is an unreliable narrator as more and more lies and secrets are revealed. Is she the poor girl who cannot find true love no matter how hard she tries or is she a violent murderer? For in her search, Rosie uncovers some startling family secrets as well. There are many layers to this story! I received an ebook arc of this terrific thriller from the publisher via NetGalley for my honest review as well as a paper arc from Jordan Hanley @St Martin's Press. Many thanks!
amandainpa 1 days ago
I've never read anything by Wendy Walker but I've heard great things about her books so I was eager to dive into one. This story follows a woman named Laura, who is preparing to go on a date with someone she met online. Her sister Rosie becomes very concerned when Laura doesn't return home the following morning and goes on a search to find out what happened to her. This book was full of twists and turns and most of the chapters ended with a small cliff-hanger that made it difficult to put down. I enjoyed the story and the twists but I felt like it wasn't very memorable. The story bounces between 3 different timelines, the night before, present day, and several months in the past. I wasn't thrilled with this format because I would really become interested in one of the timelines and have to wait to get back to it. Overall, this was a decent thriller but a bit forgettable. I received an arc from Netgalley and the publisher to review honestly. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
susan568SW 22 days ago
Laura Lochner is having a difficult go of it and returns to her sister Rosie's home to get her life together. She has been unlucky in love and decides to go on a date with a man she met on an Internet dating site. When Rosie wakes the next morning and finds out her sister hasn't returned home all she can do is think the worst. There is a lot more to this story than I first thought and it has a lot of twists and turns that kept me guessing until the end. Fast and gripping read.
JHSEsq 22 days ago
Laura Lochner has come home. She's on the run from a broken heart (again) and has abandoned her Wall Street job and New York City apartment, hiding out in the home of her sister, Rosie, who never left the small Connecticut town in which they grew up. Laura's life has been defined by a tragedy that occurred in her youth, and opened her up to suspicion and gossip. She has never dealt with that reality. Rather, she has been involved in a series of relationships with the wrong men. Rosie understands her sister and has always been her protector. So of course, she allows her to take up residence in the home Rosie shares with her husband, Joe, and son. Because Laura has not been completely candid about the reasons she gave up her life in New York City, Rosie is left to surmise and attempt to understand this latest chapter in her sister's troubled life. But Rosie is supportive when Laura announces that she has a date with a man she met on an internet dating site. Rosie helps her gt ready and loans Laura her car. Rosie is understandably upset the next morning when she discovers that Laura next came home the previous night. Worse, Laura is not responding to calls or texts, and Rosie has no idea how to reach the man Laura was scheduled to meet. Rosie saw his photo on the dating website, but has no way of knowing whether that picture was genuine or if he provided Laura with his real name. All Rosie knows is that her sister is missing, Rosie's vehicle has been abandoned, and the only person who might be able to help is their mutual childhood friend, Gabe, who lives next door in his boyhood home. Gabe performs IT forensics -- sometimes tracking down cheating spouses -- and offers assistance tracking calls to and from Laura's telephone, as well as the telephone's whereabouts. Author Wendy Walker relates the story of the desperate search for Laura through alternating narratives. She relates the details of Laura's sessions with a New York City psychologist, commencing four months earlier, along with Laura's present-day first-person account and a third-person present-day narrative told from Rosie's perspective. The result is extremely effective. Walker reveals details about Laura's life that she disclosed to Dr. Brody as readers go along with Laura on her blind date. The focus then switches to the frantic search for her undertaken by Rosie, Joe, and Gabe. Walker switches the story's focus as deftly-times intervals, compelling the story forward and keeping readers intrigued. Along the way she expands upon Laura's history and why she has always been the dysfunctional sister, Rosie's resentments about that and fear not that Laura has been harmed but that, perhaps, she has done something untoward to her date, and grants readers an unfettered look at Laura's feelings -- her self-recriminations, lack of confidence, and awareness of how her sister regards her. Walker deftly keeps the pace moving, providing clues to Laura's whereabouts, some of which are valid and some that prove disappointing. The suspense builds to the point that Walker reveals what happened to Laura and her location, but the focus then switches to to the desperate attempts to get to her in time. The Night Before is a creative, tautly-constructed contemporary thriller & exploration of a troubled sibling relationship. It's a smart, crisp mystery that proves first dates can be murder. Thanks to NetGalley for an Advance Reader's Copy of the book.
SerenaNJ 28 days ago
This was a suspenseful thriller that was easy to read and kept me wanting to read.... even when it was time for bed. Definitely a great thriller that will keep you wondering what will happen next.
smweston 28 days ago
The Night Before is the story of Laura, who goes missing after being out on a date with a man she met online, and Rosie, her sister who is desperately trying to find her. The story is told in dual POV, alternating between Laura's date and Rosie's search for her sister. Wow, this story is captivating and the twists definitely managed to surprise me without being too out there. I feel like I could have figured them out, but I was busy looking in the other direction. There's definitely enough going on in the plot to keep you interested. The only problem I had was I wasn't sure I really cared about the characters. I found Rosie's babying of her sister annoying and I didn't believe the narrative Laura had in her head about how she sought out men who couldn't love her since she felt unloved by her dad. I think this is in part to the way that some of her background is revealed and had I learned things in a different order I would have understood Laura better. (Sorry, but Rosie is still annoying.) This was my first book by Wendy Walker and I'll definitely be reading more from her. Thanks to St Martin's Press and Netgalley for my free copy in exchange for an honest review.
CelestialReads 29 days ago
This mystery thriller was okay, not terrible but not mind blowing either. Pro: I enjoyed that the author decided to give this a modern twist since it involves online dating websites. I enjoyed the first 3/4 more than the end because it was mostly centered around the online dating. Cons: I did not care for the ending. I definitely did not predict the twist at the end but it left me unsatisfied; if the book had ended how I predicted it would I probably would have liked it better. Overall a decent modern day mystery thriller and I will definitely be reading from Wendy Walker again.
ShihTzuMama 3 months ago
Three weeks ago, Laura Lochner, reeling from a split with her current boyfriend, took a break from her job as a financial analyst in New York City and relocated to a small town in Connecticut to moved in with her sister Rosie and her family. Laura has a lamentable tract record when it comes to men as well as the accompanying emotional baggage. With Rosie’s encouragement Laura has gathered her courage and accepted an invitation for a first date from a man she met on line. Now Laura is missing and Rosie has not been able to get the police to act. She, her husband Joe and their trusted friend Gabe take it upon themselves to investigate and track Laura’s movements the previous night. As author Wendy Walker spellbindingly spools out the evening’s events the more revelations and insights into Laura’s life are divulged until the reader is caught up in this psychological roller coaster ride of secrets, misdirection and multiple timelines culminating with an ending you didn’t see coming.
Angbaum 3 months ago
Firstly, I would like to thank NetGalley for giving me the opportunity to read this book in exchange for my unbiased opinion. It took me a while to read this book, as I couldn't get into it, and now that I've finished it, I wonder what I was thinking! Lauren has had a difficult life. Her father left their home to be with his girlfriend when Lauren was young, and as a teenager, Lauren's boyfriend was murdered. These instances have led Lauren on a quest to find out if she is capable of being loved, and finding that perfect man to give it to her. After a messy breakup, Lauren moves back to her hometown and moves in with her sister Rosie. She goes out on a date with Jonathan Fielding, a man she met on a dating site. When Lauren doesn't return home after her date, Rosie becomes worried, knowing her sister's anger issues, and the circumstances under which her first boyfriend was killed. I felt the characters were all equally unlikable,but this was a good story which kept me guessing until the very end.
TropicalDelusions 4 months ago
The Night Before – Wendy Walker Laura Heart is back in her Connecticut hometown after a sudden nasty break up via a text message with a man she really thought loved her. Staying with her sister and her husband, Laura has taken to online dating sites in hopes of finding love . Formerly Laura Lochner, she has changed her name because of a significant event in her teenaged years, that she wishes to leave behind her. She heads out Thursday evening to meet a man she met online and does not return home. Calls to her cellphone go to voicemail. Frantic with worry, her sister Rosie, husband Joe & childhood friend Gabe all begin a search for her. Very quickly they find the vehicle Laura was driving – but no sign of Laura. They create a fake account on the dating site Laura used, and quickly identify her scheduled date, a man named Jonathan Fields. They are also able to connect with some of his former ‘dates’ who have less than desirable stories to tell – and with still no sign of Laura, they involve the police. Now as the clock ticks, the search is on for Laura… Told from the viewpoints of Laura & Rosie, along with excerpts from Laura’s psychiatric visits several months ago, the reader is drawn into an exploration of the close relationships they all had as childhood friends, as well as Laura’s attempts to ‘be loved’, as the reader learns that not all men are nice, and not all relationships are healthy… A suspenseful, riveting, hard-to-put-down read that will have you asking yourself just how well you really know someone… I was fortunate to receive this book as an Advance Reader Copy from Netgalley, in exchange for an objective review.
Kristin975 4 months ago
I read The Night Before in a day and a half because I could not put it down! I have read other books by Wendy Walker and loved them, and this was no exception! Laura doesn't understand why she can't seem to find love. Is it her? Is it them? She recently moved back to her hometown with her sister and brother-in-law and joins a dating site. She goes on her first date in a long time...and nothing goes the way it should. And she can't seem to get past being accused of killing her ex boyfriend. This book took off fast and flew until the last page. Loved it!! Thank you #NetGalley for the ARC!
Anonymous 4 months ago
This is my first book from Wendy Walker. I was surfing Netgalley, I was looking for thrillers with mystery and suspense and since I read the author’s brief synopsis I was totally in. Twelve hours earlier, she was... Hopeful. Excited. Safe. Now she's gone. THE NIGHT BEFORE was written in multiple POVs and in dual timelines between the two sisters, Laura and Rosie. In the beginning, I thought it would be difficult to read, but the story was so well written that it made the reading flow. I was easily caught inside this intense thriller. I loved that this story was very believable. This can happen to any of us and that was pretty scary. The characters make you live the story and it’s a constant search for the truth. You build all these theories in your mind and it has a non-foreseeable twist that will leave you with an open mouth and your stomach in knots. Now I know that I can expect the unexpected with this author. Not scared enough? Let me warn you that you might have nightmares because of the intensity and because it plays with your mind. Can’t wait to read more of this author in the future.
KellyWellRead 4 months ago
As someone who enjoyed author Wendy Walker's prior two novels, ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN and EMMA IN THE NIGHT, I was grateful to have an opportunity to read an e-galley of her new book THE NIGHT BEFORE, coming out next May. I just checked this author's bio to see if she was a psychologist in another life (not)! I was sure she had a background in this field, so well does she write about the psychological issues affecting some of the characters in her books! THE NIGHT BEFORE starts out with brief notes from a therapy session, so we know right away that there are "issues" being dealt with by at least one of the characters. Laura Heart has returned to her hometown to live with her sister while recovering from a bad breakup. She wants to get her life back together and find love like her sister has found. But something happened in that town many years ago, when Laura was in high school, and as we continue to read, we start to wonder what kind of person Laura really is.... Non-linear timelines and dual narratives (by Laura and her sister, Rosie) are used to tell this story - with brief snippets from therapy sessions that heighten the already palpable tension.. It takes quite a bit of talent, in my opinion, for an author to hold a complex plot such as this one together in such a way that the reader feels so rewarded at the end. And, as I mentioned, the psychological issues addressed in this story are spot-on, making it a true tale of psychological suspense. Well done! Readers won't be disappointed.
harlichic 4 months ago
I have just finished The Night Before and it was trying to killing me (in a wonderful way)!!! This is one of the best books that I have ever read. The people are great...and surprising. I couldn't put it down. I found myself sneaking off (and hiding) just in order to read another chapter. The book jumped back and forth between now and then, and it just fed my anxiety. I fell in love with Laura...maybe even identified with her a little. I was definitely surprised by the ending. This is the second book of Wendy's that I have read. The other, Emma in the Night, was also wonderful.
HowUsefulItIs 4 months ago
I started reading The Night Before on 4/30/2019 and finished it on 5/3/2019. This book is a fantastic read! I enjoyed the dual perspectives and the timeline leading up to the big reveal. There were suspense every step of the way. I like the touch on online dating and googling the other person for social media presences. There were many twists I didn’t see coming and they were all good. The focus on family, lies, and childhood friendships were interesting. This book is told in the first person point of view following Laura, 28 as she prepares to go out on a date with Jonathan whom she met through an online dating website. Laura came back to live with her sister after being away for a decade. She has trouble with finding the right guy. Laura’s view is focused on the night before the date and during the date. The alternative point of view told in third person is Rosie, 30, sister with a loving husband (childhood friend) and son. Rosie’s view is of the day after the date. Rosie is protective of Laura because she knew of Laura’s past. This book also has Laura’s sessions with her doctor starting from four months ago when she still lives in New York and it gives more backgrounds to Laura’s struggles. The Night Before is very well written and a fast paced read! This thriller is an easy read and I was hooked right from the start. It’s not too gruesome which I normally prefer to stay away from. I like Laura’s analysis of a stranger as she gets to know him and keeps track of whether he’s lying. I don’t know how she can go on the whole night and day with just alcohol in her stomach and not passed out. I like Rosie’s view, especially when she connects about herself having children to how her parents treat her and her sister when they were kids. I don’t get how if Laura thinks her past is her darkest secrets then why would she shares it so willingly to Jonathan. Overall, this book is still an enjoyable read and I highly recommend everyone to read it. Pro: fast paced, page turner, suspense, sisters, online dating, childhood friendship, Con: none I rate it 5 stars! ***Disclaimer: Many thanks to St. Martin’s Press for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest. xoxo, Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com for more details
Anonymous 5 months ago
THE NIGHT BEFORE is an engaging, propulsive read featuring two sisters—one with a dark past and one who seemingly has it all together. Half of the book is told in the present day where one sister races to figure out what happened the night before … and the other half is told by the other sister, who slowly reveals the truth. This twisty novel kept me guessing until the end!
YayaReadsalot 5 months ago
I received an advanced digital copy of this book. Thanks to Netgalley.com and St Martin's Press for the opportunity to read and review. Ms. Walker has written a well crafted thiller that could easy make it's way to the big screen, so long as they change NOTHING about the story. The Night Before is a twisting ride which asks the question how well do we really know ourselves and more over how well do we know the people we love and trust. A must read, not to be missed. Add this to your TBR immediately.
HomeSweetHouser 5 months ago
4.5 stars! Wendy Walker, you have a new fan in me! This is the first I've read from this author and it won't be the last. The Night Before is about a woman who struggles with relationships. We've all been there, right? After a devastating break up, she moves back to her childhood town to live with her sister as she mentally recovers. She decides to give online dating a try. Again, we've all been there, right? I met my husband on match.com seven years ago so I can totally relate. But when she doesn't come home from her first online date, her sister will panic and desperately search to find out what happened the night before. The thing that really struck me about this book is how well the story unfolded. Wendy Walker did a fabulous job of releasing information to the reader at just the right times and places along the way so as not to reveal too much information but also to keep the story moving and exciting. While I found it a tad unbelievable that the main character would have revealed so much personal information on a first date with a stranger, I decided to look past it for the sake of entertainment. Who knows, maybe people are more open that I am with their personal information on first dates?! I really enjoyed the story being told from different perspectives. It's somewhat common in the thriller genre, but it worked really well here. And I appreciated the timeline changing from past to present and back. It added a lot of mystery to the story line and kept me guessing. There were plenty of twists in this book and I would say about 50% of them surprised me and 50% of them I saw coming. But the ones that surprised me were really shocking and unexpected. I can't say much more without giving away key plot elements, so I'll just leave it at that. This is a really solid thriller that I think a lot of people would enjoy. It is exciting, shocking, twisted, and clever. I look forward to reading future works by Wendy Walker. -I received an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to NetGalley, Wendy Walker, and St. Martin's Press for the opportunity to review.-
Teri1957 5 months ago
I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This book is captivating and pulls you in to the distress the main character is experiencing. The plot keeps you on edge until the very end. Enjoy!
Nanna51 5 months ago
Wow! Just wow! Wendy Walker has proven once again that she knows how to hook her readers and bring them in to shore. Rosie and Laura are sisters, but they are very different. Rosie is married with a husband and child and a very stable lifestyle. Laura, on the other hand, has just moved in with Rosie and family, and she seems to have a multitude of problems, not the least of which is maintaining a relationship. Unfortunately, the one thing that Laura really wants in her life is love, but it is more than a little elusive for her. When the book begins, Laura is getting ready for a blind date with a man that she “met” on a dating site.. When Laura doesn’t come back from her date, the real suspense of the book begins. The novel is told from the viewpoints of the sisters, and from the time of the night before Laura’s date and the day after. It also includes vignettes with Laura talking to a therapist, so we know that she has problems that are revealed slowly throughout the book. This is a wild ride of a psychological suspense! Several times I thought I had things figured out, only to be proven wrong. That’s the way I like my suspense novels...with enough secrets to keep me guessing until the shocking conclusion. This is a creepy but realistic novel about relationships and damages that may never go away. I highly recommend this book for anyone who enjoys psychological thrillers because this is one of the best I have ever read! Disclaimer Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, “Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.”
Amanda_Dickens 5 months ago
Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin's Press for this ARC. The was very intrigued by the synopsis of two sisters, one goes missing and the other searches for her but thinks her sister could be a murderer so she doesn't know what she might find. However, I was just left exhausted by the end of it. The writing style became very confusing. Is this all the same time line or a different one? Who is narrating it now? Why do I care about this? I enjoyed the first Thord of the book and wish it was written in a different way. With the many thriller that are on the market I would recommend passing over thing one unless you are like me and read every thriller out there.