The Rules of Magic

The Rules of Magic

by Alice Hoffman

NOOK Book(eBook)

$12.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Rules of Magic 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 59 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Grabbed me on the firstp page and I could not put it down. I was once again struck by Miss Hoffman's effortless style of writing . I loved this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always an excellent read! I enjoy every book Alice Hoffman writes! Love the character's and the beautiful writing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story was written with such tenderness. It is a wonderful prequel to Practical Magic. I was completely engaged in their stories and was sad that this chapter in the Owens' family ended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alice Hoffman is certainly a gifted wordsmith and an imaginative author . This novel is no exception . However , I feel that her latest creation more falls into the category of a young adult book . There were many lovely moments , but other times it was just silly , silly , silly with over the top descriptions of curses and cures. Didn't love it , didn't hate it .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The aunts are back, and they are young, and their story is emotional and magical. Thanks, Alice Hoffman!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alice Hoffman is one of my favorite writers and this book certainly did not disappoint. I love the Owens family. I loved the magic, the descriptions of potions and curses, the emotion and the story itself. Definitely a winner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautifully written, pulls right at the heart of love and loss. Excellent prequel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this backstory for our beloved aunts from"Practical Magic"! I couldn't put it down while reading, and now I'm sad that I finished it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the story of the two aunts from Practical Magic. It was a riveting read! Lovely story!
ScotsQueen 11 months ago
Terrible, this book should not be in the adult section. It’s on the level of 13 to 16 year olds.
gaele More than 1 year ago
AudioBook Review: Stars: Overall 4 Narration 4 Story 4 All good witch-family stories start with a curse and unjustified, and perhaps hysterical, charges of sorcery – such is the case of the curse on the Owens family, stretching back to the early seventeenth century. But, even in the more present day of the 1960’s where the three siblings, Franny, Jet and Vincent have only part of the story, many ill-gained conclusions and plenty of restrictions as their mother tries to keep them safe. Of course, the three are headstrong (would you expect anything else) and even daring to defy the rules so carefully put in place: rules they don’t always understand as they don’t really know the history. Not until Aunt Isabelle. Isabelle lives in Massachusetts where everything began for the Owens, and she’s of the belief that the children should know their history, their magic and how to use, not fear, it. As one would expect, the differences of the three and their abilities, as well as a rather insular approach to outsiders makes them objects of speculation and gossip – made even more apparent at Isabelle’s house where the stories and legends of the ‘curse’ on the Owens is a favored topic of discussion. Each of the characters becomes a fully formed person in this story: showing fears, desires and even struggles as they come into their own powers and knowledge of the family. Hoffman builds a story that feels as if it does reach back hundreds of years, tendrils and tentacles of the past reaching forward to connect the family, the magic and even the struggles as they felt (and sometimes were) outcasts in their own home. Narration for this story is provided by Marin Ireland, and her smooth, almost effortless presentation of both dialogue and atmospheric moments allowed the story to move forward, allowing listeners time to visualize moments and absorb the subtle nuances in emotions, details and background information that added to my understanding and belief of the curse, the magic and even the potential for these three to move forward and make lives that were mostly happy. A wonderful mix of historic moments, acceptance and growth, all put together in a way that engages and captivates, whether or not you are familiar with the book or film to which this is background. I received an AudioBook copy of the title from Simon Audio for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Will always be one of my favorites
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
delightful, insightful nuggets of observation about human nature
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a greatly written book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book. Hoffman doesn’t disappoint!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful prequel. It's so heartbreaking to think you couldn't truly fall in love with someone, but they did and dealt with consequences. I felt like I was reading a story about my husband and I, meeting at 15 and we are now married 30 years. Lots of ups and downs but worth every minute. The story took me back to that desperate kind of love...you and me against the world kind of thing. Anyway, I loved this book. I will probably read it again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Most of the story takes place in the 60's so it really makes the story and characters more interesting. Enjoyable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another intoxicating read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly enjoyed the story of the siblings and ever lasting love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all of her books! This one was really great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely spellbinding .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a beautiful story about magic, love, and family!
Anonymous 26 days ago
Fans of Practice Magic will not be disappointed. Those that haven't read it are in for a treat as well.