The Silent Patient

The Silent Patient

by Alex Michaelides

Hardcover

$16.42 $26.99 Save 39% Current price is $16.42, Original price is $26.99. You Save 39%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Silent Patient 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 217 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn’t put it down. The twist totally surprised me. Excellent!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story, very well done. Kept me on my toes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn’t really get sucked into this book until halfway through. Then I finished it in a couple hours. It drew me in and I probably should have been surprised at the ending but it made everything else make sense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I rarely buy books by foreign authors or a first book especially without reviews but i took a chance and i am so glad I couldnot put it down i will watch for the next one just bought it a couple days ago and already other positive reviews
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book!!! Kept me guessing and staying up late to finish ?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quick read. Not great literature but a real page-turner for those of us who enjoy getting lost in a thriller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a page turner! And a great twist at the end. I’d definitely read more from this author. Fantastic!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really don't believe I read the whole thing. I'm surprised so many adept writers praised it so highly. Was there any cliche left unused? I felt as though I should have a red pencil in my hand. I won't be anxious for his next book to drop.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very intriguing!!! A page turner for sure!
Anonymous 11 months ago
Very hard to put it down. Excellent read with a mind blowing ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Halfway thru it was not difficult to figure out who the culprit is. I definitely do not consider this book to be a thriller... nothing thrilling about it. Just.a bunch of sick characters that all need help and do not get it. Really surprised at all of the 5 star ratings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thrilling to the very last page, and beyond.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nicely written, I couldn’t put this one down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+could+not+put+this+book+down.+i+mean+it.++What+a+great+story+.+i+never+knew+what+was+coming+next.++This+is+a+must+read.++I+eagerly+await+the+author%27s+next+book.+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Crazy twists n turns! Great thriller!
Anonymous 7 months ago
psychiatry is useless.
Anonymous 9 months ago
This+is+one+of+the+best+books+I%27ve+read+in+a+long+time.++It+had+me+going+from+page+one.++the+best+part%2C+I+never+saw+the+ending+coming.++It+made+me+want+to+read+it+again+to+see+if+I+missed+anything.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Great book! Fast read that kept me on edge right up till the end.
Anonymous 10 months ago
One of the best books that I have read in a long time.
BethAves More than 1 year ago
This book changed my life. Is that okay to say? Obsessively, I had to finish this book. It sparked my love of reading I hadn't had or felt since those first magical books about the boy with the lightning bolt scar. I was enthralled with Alicia Berenson's life. It seemed so amazing and perfect on the outside. But then why does this book start with her shooting her husband? And then radio silence. She never speaks another word. She's completely in love with him, and there's truly no reason to comprehend why she would do this. I ravenously devoured this book, because I couldn't wait to get to the end. Will she ever speak again? WHY DID SHE MURDER HER HUSBAND?! This cover is also one of those book covers you don't truly understand until later in the book, and then you really look at it one day and think "ooooohhh, I see it now!". I think those are the very best kind of covers. It makes me think the publisher/author truly cares about the book and how it's perceived.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What+a+compelling+novel.+I+could+not+put+this+book+down+.%0ALots+of+twists+and+turns+to+keep+you+in+suspense.+%0A
YourDreamComeTrue More than 1 year ago
This was one of those books that I was excited to read because I had heard so many rave reviews about it, but that was also the reason why I was a little bit hesitant to read, simply because sometimes books get overhyped surrounding a new release. I was pleasantly surprised to find that this was not the case whatsoever. The writing of Alex Michaelides certainly exceeded my expectations for this being his first novel and makes the book seem like it was written from a veteran. The entire story is filled with twists here and turns there, right up until the last page. Be careful when you start this book and make sure you have no plans for the next few hours because this is one that will keep you up until you turn the last page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great.
stuffstephreads More than 1 year ago
I was SO excited to read this one, the premise sounded so interesting and I'm a huge sucker for thrillers. I totally thought I had The Silent Patient all figured out, but the twists at the end proved me completely wrong. I did NOT see that ending coming!! Alicia goes completely silent after shooting her husband, and Theo the psychotherapist is determined to crack her and figure out what caused Alicia to take these extreme measures, despite her refusal to speak. I enjoyed the alternating perspectives between Alicia and Theo - I did wish there was a bit more of Alicia's perspective, but it definitely didn't take away from the plot. Absolutely one of my favorite recent thrillers, and would highly recommend to anyone who loves this genre (or even those who don't typically read thrillers)!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
surprising+through+out.+Never+came+close+to+any+answers.Thanks+for+writing+this+book.%0A