The Things We Cannot Say

The Things We Cannot Say

by Kelly Rimmer

Paperback(Original)

$13.59 $16.99 Save 20% Current price is $13.59, Original price is $16.99. You Save 20%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Things We Cannot Say 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 54 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was upset at first with the few grammer typos in the beginning but after that the story is beautful and tge transition from one timeframe to another was seemless. The characters were truly believable the story just draws you in. Tears and love and the question could you be hat strong.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn’t put this book down.....the unimaginable cruelty and suffering...yet some survived and created new lives and life
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So believable and well written. If your a fan of WWII novels you must read. Historical but great storyline.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truly profound, heart-wrenching, and educational
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What+a+wonderful++book%21++l+was+unable+to+put+the+book+down.+Great+story
Anonymous 8 months ago
I+really+enjoyed+this+book+%26+have+already+recommended+it+to+a+lot+of+my+friends.++I+am+looking+forward+to+reading+more+from+this+author.
Anonymous 8 months ago
wonderfully+written+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an absolutely amazing read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
what+a+great+story
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
“What happens when stories like theirs are lost? What happens when there’s no one left to pass your experience on to, or you just can’t bring yourself to share it?” The Things We Cannot Say is the sixth novel by best-selling Australian author, Kelly Rimmer. On a farm in southern Poland in 1940, seventeen-year-old Alina Dziak lives in hope. Her twin brothers have been sent to work camps by the Nazis. The occupying force takes all their farm produces. Her life has shrunk to the farm and her family and escaping the notice of the soldiers. But Tomasz Slaski, the man to whom she has promised her heart, Tomasz will return from Warsaw to marry her: this, she truly believes. For Florida mother Alice Michaels, life in 2019 is already busy: her husband has a stressful job in the plastics industry, her 10 year-old daughter Pascale is highly gifted and needs additional challenges to keep her satisfied, and her 7 year-old son, Edison is on the autism spectrum, requiring a disproportionate amount of her attention to keep their lives organised and prevent meltdowns. The stroke that lands her beloved 95 year-old grandmother, Hanna in hospital, rendering her non-verbal, naturally disrupts the necessarily rigid schedule of Alice’s days, and puts added pressure on her already-strained marriage. Hanna virtually raised Alice, so when she asks or, rather, insists, that Alice goes to Poland on a vague mission (vague because it is communicated via Eddie’s useful-but-by-no-means-perfect communication app), Alice finds she cannot refuse. But in Poland, despite a few clues and a highly competent guide, Alice hits brick walls. Rimmer explores several topics in this novel, in particular the stigma of an autism spectrum diagnosis and persecution by Nazis of Polish Jews during the wartime occupation. Her extensive research into these is apparent on every page, and she captures the setting with consummate ease. Alina’s narrative tells a heartfelt wartime romance that prevails through hunger and hardship, distance and time. Her long-held secrets certainly cause Alice some difficulties in 2019. While Alina and Alice, both strong but flawed women, earn respect with their narratives, Eddie, with very few words, captures hearts. Rimmer cleverly uses Eddie’s echolalia to succinctly summarise the behaviour exhibited by characters significant to him. Rimmer populates her novel with convincing characters and dialogue, but also gives the reader a great plot twist: a mystery that becomes apparent from tiny clues scattered throughout. The astute reader will pick these up, but just how it comes together will have the reader racing to the final, deeply emotional chapters. Guilt, grief, kindness and courage, cruelty, betrayal, faith, all feature in a story that will have eyes welling up and tissues reached for. A brilliant read! This unbiased review is from an uncorrected proof copy provided by Hachette Australia and the author.
Anonymous 10 days ago
great book. couldn't put it down. I liked how it went from current time to the war time.
Anonymous 17 days ago
I totally loved this story. I really didn't want it to end. I found myself wishing that the ending could be different, as it made me so sad, but at least the main characters were brought together in death. I will be recommending this book to others, and I will be reading it again.
Anonymous 24 days ago
the story weaves generations together seamlessly, while making us hope and cheer for reunions that are painful to imagine.the grammar issues are why I only gave four stars. wrong pronouns and typos makes one wonder who's editing.
Anonymous 3 months ago
What a beautifully told story that that reflects a terrible time in history as well as struggles of today. Wonderful read!
Anonymous 4 months ago
I loved the way this story was written.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 5 months ago
This story moved me in so many ways. I highly recommend it.
Anonymous 5 months ago
One of the best books I HAVE EVER read .
Anonymous 5 months ago
Enjoyed it very much. It held my attention. And didn't drag. Great story line.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Wonderfully written and well thought out. I absolutely loved this book! It was so captivating I could hardly put it down. The twist of the story at the end was something I never saw coming. This is a must read!