Two Weeks

Two Weeks

by Karen Kingsbury

Hardcover

$20.80 $26.00 Save 20% Current price is $20.8, Original price is $26. You Save 20%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Two Weeks 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This+lady+writes+the+best+the+best+books+I+have+ever+read.+The+first+One+I+bought+was+Oceans+Apart+and+I+have+bought+everyone+of+her+books+since.+I+love+her+stories.+%0A%0A%0A
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+have+read+numerous+books+written+by+Karen+but+I+think+this+one+is+my+most+favorite.+It+portrays+one+of+the+most+difficult+situations+a+pregnant+teen+must+face.+
GrandaddyA 3 months ago
We all make choices every day – some good and some bad. Not all choices have the same consequences. Quite often one choice leads to another until there is seemingly no turning back. Elise made a choice, followed by other choices. Over a period of time, she realizes the consequences of her choices. Suddenly, she is faced with additional choices that she never expected to encounter. Will her choices shipwreck her own dreams and the dreams of Cole Blake? Cole, the oldest son of Landon and Ashley Baxter Blake, is a fine young man in his final semester of high school who has his life planned out and is looking forward to following where God is leading. Is he truly willing to lay aside all of his dreams and plans to help Elise, whom he just met on the first day of his last semester? Cole made a commitment as a child to become a man just like his dad. Are the decisions he is making the same ones his dad would make? Has he allowed his heart to get ahead of his good judgment? Ultimately, everything seems to come down to what will happen in the final two weeks? I enjoyed another visit with the Baxter family. Like many large families, they have experienced so much together through the years, but have learned to pull together rather than pulling apart. Enjoy another wonderful story in their ongoing journey of faith, love, hope, dreams, and living life.
lghiggins 11 months ago
Elise is a budding artist, and Cole has a promising future as a doctor when they meet and their lives become intertwined during their last semester of high school. In Karen Kingsbury’s Two Weeks, these young people have to deal with their own pasts with single moms, their love for each other, and their relationship with God. An unplanned pregnancy, the loss of a child, and trust in God take center stage as Elise and Cole wrestle with major decisions that have wide ranging consequences. Two Weeks is a romance but it also deals with the emotional and personal impacts of abortion outside of any political concerns. It also addresses the agony of miscarriages and infertility while holding up adoption as a difficult and complicated but positive possibility. This work of Christian fiction shines a light on a subject that is painful for many. It also examines parenthood from several viewpoints. Both topics may be sensitive for some readers, but I do recommend this work written by a prolific Christian author whose books have been made into movies. I would like to extend my thanks to netgalley.com and to Howard Books for giving me the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous 12 months ago
Best+one+yet.....wait+I+say+that+with+each+one+I++read%21+
Reli More than 1 year ago
Karen Kingsbury does it again. Only four chapters in and I was wiping my tears. I haven't read a lot of Karen's books in the last couple of years, but this is the second one this year and I am really wanting to go back and start at the beginning and read all of her backlists. This book is once again about the Baxter's, a lovely close-knit family that Karen has devoted many books to. The main character is Cole, an 18-year-old son of Ashley Baxter Blake. He is mature for his age, compassionate and completely sold out for God. Elise, the other main character, is also 18 and one semester of bad choices has led to a teen pregnancy. This is the journey of first love, hard choices, redemption, and lasts. And I hope it's not the last we will hear of Cole and Elise. I want to know how their story ends. This book gripped me. I couldn't read it fast enough and yet I didn't want it to end. I think there were a few reasons for this, one was in the early pages of the book and a little girl that was born too soon. Those kinds of stories will always move me to tears because I relive my own heartache through the pages of a book. Secondly, I think it was because Karen emphasized Ashley's journey through this book as well. Cole is her oldest son and he is supposed to be heading off to college in the fall and she is facing some lasts with her son: his last breakfast, his last day as a highschool student, etc. etc. And Ashley reflects back about how she thought this day would never come back when Cole was little, that it was a million years away. And I need that perspective now when I'm in the trenches of mothing littles and I wonder if the day will ever come that they will grow up. It seems so far away and yet it's going to be right here before I know it, so the challenge this book gave me was to treasure every moment. I also really like the relationship Cole had with his parents--he talked to them about everything and that is something I want my own children to have. My takeaway from this book is something I already mentioned: treasure each moment. I don't know when it will be the last time my daughter wants to sit on my lap and be comforted. I don't know when the last time will be that they will take their favorite blanket to bed with them. And quite frankly, as the book also shows, I don't know, but that the last time I see them may be long before I am ready to give them up. I received this book from Net Galley and was not required to write a positive review.
MFlores67 More than 1 year ago
Karen Kingsbury's newest novel, "Two Weeks" is INCREDIBLE! I can't even begin to put into words how much I loved this book! The intensity of emotions from all the characters; the unwavering faith that got them through; the Baxter's...ahh...I love them even more!!! AND...August 14th is my birthday! (if you read this book you'll know what I'm talking about-lol) Seriously, I couldn't put it down, except during the last chapter...I had no choice, I couldn't see to read through my tears! So get your tissues ready, this book is one of Karen Kingsbury's best!
lsnlj More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with Karen Kingsbury books just as I fell in love with the Baxter family. If you have not yet read any of her books about the Baxter family, you can start here and be just fine, her books fill you in on any part you may have missed in previous books. However if you are like myself and have read most, if not all of this series of books about the Baxter family here is another great one. If you are new to the Baxter family I encourage you to read more from the entire series. There are over twenty, (yes, twenty) books around the Baxter family. some may wonder how anyone can write so many books about one family and they not get boring, well read this series and you will see. You will fall in love with the entire family even their family friends. You will laugh, cry and maybe find yourself in one or more of the characters in one of these books. Cole Blake is the main focus of this novel and his new friend Elise. Even though true to Kingsburry style of writing there are many more characters at play (who are also very important to the book) Kingsbury has a unique style, each chapter may be from a different characters perspective. There is typically more than one main focus throughout the book, but as a reader you are not lost. I love the way her characters are flawed, they are very much life like. I am so glad to hear more from the Baxter family and hope there are more to come.
sgreene01 More than 1 year ago
Another Baxter Family book in the huge collection of Baxter Family books. I have read them all and each one makes me feel like I am visiting family and totally involved in their lives. Cole Baxter, who is now in the last semester of his senior year of high school, has plans to enter Liberty University to study to be a doctor. He meets a new girl in school, Elise, and finds himself falling in love for the first time. Unbeknownst to him, Elise soon realizes she is pregnant, from an abusive relationship. We travel with this couple as they get to know each other, to their promises of love as a family, to new realizations of what life really is about. Can they really carry through with these new realizations and plans in their lives? Elise goes through the struggle of deciding if she wants to raise this child, or if she will put it up for adoption. We meet the prospective parents she chooses, and learn of their hard years of infertility and losses, as well as the foster parents who would care for the baby during the two weeks the state gives her to change her mind, if she should choose to do so. Both families have suffered deep heartaches. What will be the Elise’s final decision and how will it affect each person in this book, from Cole, to the perspective adoptive parents, to the foster parents? So many depths of love, devotion, heartache, forgiveness, and unknown future realities run throughout the book. As an adoptive parent, this was a gut-wrenching read, one I would highly recommend to anyone. The author is able to touch on each character’s emotions with such realism. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Howard Books through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.
MKWD52 More than 1 year ago
This is another book about the Baxter family. The main Baxter in this one is Cole who is Ashley's son. We first met Cole when he was a toddler some 15 years ago. Cole is all grown up and has an instant attract to Elise, a transfer student from Louisiana. She had moved to Indiana to finish high school to escape an abusive boyfriend. Soon after their friendship is under way Elise discovers she is pregnant. The majority is the book is Elise suffering turmoil on whether or not she will keep the baby or give her child up to a loving childless couple. She waffles back and forth about what she wants to do. There is a tragic event in town that affects some of her decision making however I wish the author had used some other means rather than this tragic event to affect her way of thinking. This tragic event was just too sad for me. Anyway the title of this book is Two Weeks and this means that Elise has two weeks after the birth of her child to decide whether or not to keep the baby or give it up. This book was well written and I connected with the characters quickly. I hope we see Elise and Cole again. I would love to know what is in their future. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Howard Books through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own. Two Weeks will be published on April 2, 2019.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a voluntary review of an advanced copy. Make sure that you have a box of tissues nearby when you start reading this book! There were so many emotional parts to this book and as a mother, I could understand Ashley's reaction to her son, Cole's promise to stand by pregnant, Elise (even though he was not the father). Your heart just ached for Aaron and Lucy who wanted a child and kept losing child after child. The emotional roller coaster that they went through when Elise kept changing her mind would have wrecked a normal couple but though it all they kept their trust in God's plan for them. I hope that we will have another Baxter book and we will find out what happens in Cole's life after he finishes school and becomes a doctor! This book was a great reminder that we should be seeking His will and praying for guidance so we are making the best choices for our lives.
MollyzReviewz More than 1 year ago
Can YOU Make A Life Changing Decision In Just TWO Weeks? Let me take a moment to tell you, if you have never, ever read a book by Karen Kingsbury, you need to remedy that right now. Right here,with this novel. With this novel, you will feel every. Single. Emotion. Every. Single. One. You will need 10 boxes of tissues, and a quiet, peaceful room to reflect after. Karen Kingsbury takes all that she has prayed about, all that God lays on her heart, puts her words to paper and delivers a novel that sends out hope and inspiration. Once again, we get a glimpse into another Baxter family member. This time, it’s Cole’s story. Cole has been a long time favorite of mine since way back when, when I read Redemption for the first. In this book, however, he’s all grown up, about to graduate and has met the beautiful Elise. Elise is beautifully chiseled. I loved her character from the start, seeing a lot of myself in her. She’s going through a rough spot in life, and not a lot of hope that it will happen when she gets dealt an unexpected hand. I loved how Ms. Kingsbury chiseled her, making her beautifully flawed and just right for her part in the story. Add to the story, two amazing couples, and this story will take you on the enormous roller coaster of highs and lows. This story is beautifully emotional, magnificently gripping, heart wrenching-ly inspiring. God is felt from start to finish, and with 5 stars, and two thumbs up, this novel is highly recommended by me. There is a powerful message of what unconditional love means, and never losing sight of what’s right in front of you. Two Weeks to make one of the biggest decision of your life. Is it something you could do? Grab this novel now and find out. *I received a complimentary copy of this book from NetGalley, Howard Books and was under no obligation to post a review, positive or negative.*