We All Fall Down: Living with Addiction

We All Fall Down: Living with Addiction

by Nic Sheff

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

We All Fall Down: Living with Addiction 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 42 reviews.
North_Of_Nowhere More than 1 year ago
We all fall down was a book that was really well written. I really enjoyed reading it. There was no boring parts in it and i could not put it down. His story and his life moved me. It makes me belive in myself and lets me know that if i never get up i can get through thing and do anything. Nic Sheff had a really tough life being drug addicted but he never gave up no matter how hard and rough his life got. He may have struggled and didnt always to what was right but deep down he wanted to change and stuck to it. His father was always there to support him. I would recommended this book.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Laurie Gray for Readers Favorite “We All Fall Down” by Nic Sheff picks up where Sheff’s New York Times bestselling memoir “Tweak” left off. “Tweak” leaves Sheff having completed treatment, writing his memoir, and living a rather tedious life of sobriety in Savannah with a friend and two cats. In “We All Fall Down,” Sheff says that he walked out of treatment and was living with his girlfriend and a dog in Charleston, getting drunk and/or stoned every day while writing “Tweak.” 'Sober' for Sheff means no longer doing meth or heroin, and only doing cocaine when a dealer gives him a free sample. “We All Fall Down” chronicles Sheff’s continued struggle with addiction and quest to publish “Tweak.” Like “Tweak,” “We All Fall Down” begins with a disclaimer: “This work is a memoir. It reflects the author’s present recollections of his experience over a period of years. Certain names, locations, and identifying characteristics have been changed.” Sheff is a gifted storyteller. His reality is raw, profane, and unencumbered by facts. Readers (or audio listeners) are dropped directly into the psyche of a veteran addict, a paradox of self-loathing and narcissism. The frightening allure of drugs permeates every word and could easily trigger relapse in recovering addicts or entice curious teenagers. And the sad truth is that most teens and addicts will never have as many opportunities for recovery as Nic Sheff has had. Those who follow his path are more likely to end up in prison or dead. I highly recommend this book for treatment providers and adults who are dealing with addicts, but have never experienced personally how insidious addiction can be. Sheff exposes a disturbing truth, not just through the lies he continues to tell himself, but about the lies we all tell ourselves.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent book. Easy to follow. Must read
Crayon12 More than 1 year ago
Nic does a very good job showing what he has to deal with and what he is dealing with. His first book Tweak was also very good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Insightful and hhonest
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hauntingly written. Nic tells his story with openness and heartbreakng clarity. i often found myself crying for this wounded heart who never gave up, proving the tenacity of the spirit. Recommmend
Jack_H123 More than 1 year ago
Nic Scheff shows in his novel, We All Fall Down, that he has the talent of a wordsmith to be reckoned with. The brutally honest autobiography takes you through the journey of an addict. It accounts for remarkable recoveries, caustic relapses and, most importantly, the process of getting back up. Having had similar struggles in my life, I felt as though I was right with Nic as this was happening. Part of the memoir that I enjoy the most is the fact that you grow to love and care about Nic as the story goes on. In cessation, We All Fall Down is a book I recommend to everyone. Addict or otherwise
AlwaysReading321 More than 1 year ago
He has been through a lot, and hope the best luck for him at the ending ( hopefully the happy ending lasts longer). It kinda remind me of my best friend who fell in the addicts, but it was not the meth, it was the cocaine. She is currently living in the shelter, and struggling to improve herself. Painful to watch how she goes with her life, but the lessons she has to take. Same thing for Nic Sheff with the hard lessons and the good opportunity is waiting at the end.
Hope23 More than 1 year ago
I read Tweak and I couldn't put it down. This book was just as brilliant. In both books I felt like I was Nic's friend, worrying when I thought he was making a mistake and joyous when he overcame certain obstacles in his life. In my opinion...great book for anyone in recovery or suffering from addiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read tweak when i was in rehab for meth, it was such a great book, when i got out i baught this book it is so intense also just as good if not betterr than the first sequel (:!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nic has more problems then addiction. He is a pathological liar, hates anyone who is overweight and uses women to house and feed him. He is loathe to people that care about him and try to help him. He focuses much of his attention while he is drug rehab not to his own growth or self exploration, but to how overweight his drug counselor is. His disdain for her and how large she is (and in his first book, "Tweaked" he referred to her as a "pig") is sad and immature. His focus on body images of others is pathetic. He seems delighted in the fact that he was able to tour the country with his Dad speaking about his first book and recovery, all while high on pot. Anyone that hired his to speak should ask for their money back for his dishonesty. I felt compelled to finish the book and thought surely somewhere along the way he would let us know he was sorry for acting like such a jerk to his plethora of girlfriends that he used for housing, his lying, and for being such a lousy person but he just has no sense of remorse of how he treats others and hurts them. I
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I saw the movie beautiful boy and related to it because of my own son dealing with addiction. I read Nic’s first book because I wanted to hear how he felt being the person addicted and then purchased his 2nd memoir because I was so mesmerized by his strength to go on even when he didn’t think he had any. I’m cheering for you Nic! You have helped more people then you’ll ever know! I’m buying the next book you wrote just because I want to support your hard work! Some people are lucky their parents just can’t let go. Maybe let loose a little but will never let go. Or give up Bc there is not many loves greater than a parents for their child. Thank you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read tweak and always had wondered what happened to him after that book ended.
kdoumlele on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Perhaps because I am a recovering addict myself, but I was entranced by Nic Sheff's vivid portrait of substance abuse in We All Fall Down. The title snatched my attention at once; how very appropriate! When our lives are overtaken by drugs, we will fall down. Every time.I do have one complaint, Sheff's language. His voice is unique in that his writing is exactly how he is thinking or saying. I give him kudos for originality there and enjoyed his story all the more for it. But the use of the "F word" began to get on my last nerve before I reached the halfway point. I can cuss like a sailor with the best of them yet Nic's every other word begins with an F and ends with a K.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading TWEAK and loving it, I was annoyed by Nic in this follow-up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very realistic....couldnt put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazzing,vivid story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lorib736 More than 1 year ago
Excellent
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago