The Wheel of Darkness (Special Agent Pendergast Series #8)

The Wheel of Darkness (Special Agent Pendergast Series #8)

by Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$10.00 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wheel of Darkness (Special Agent Pendergast Series #8) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 206 reviews.
adventureag More than 1 year ago
Agent Pendergast has got to be one of the best characters out there. What I love about these books on Pendergast is that they're stand alones. You do not have to read them in order (even though I have) but for someone that hasn't read any one book from this series will have no problem in picking up whichever book and start to read it..but be warned..you will end up reading all them. You can't help it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a Pendergast fanatic, so I will read a childrens novel if he is in it. But I must admit this noval did not have the best story line. I will keep it in my library of course because he is in it, but I will need a follow up quick. I would like to see the writers make Viola more prominent in the Pendergast series. No, I don't like romantic mush, but Pendergast deserves to be happy and in love, so it would be nice to make her presence known occasionally. As for Constance, she is getting on my nerves.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a great mystery with supernatural undertones. I had to stay up late to find out the ending. Pendergast is an interesting character. A smart detective, an intellectual thinker, and an extremely well read man. Constance, his ward, accompanies him on a ship where trouble afloats with murders. Of course Pendergast has a reason to be aboard this fateful ship. For those of you familiar with Child and Preston, this is a stand alone Pendergast novel. It is fun to see Constance along for the ride too. The book begins in Tibet where a mysterious artifact is missing. Then the plot settles on the ship. There several strange disappearances occur. The ship's crew are good characters, trying to solve the murders themselves and save the ship. The ending is spellbinding and conclusive. Don't stay up to late reading the book like I did.
KatieC More than 1 year ago
While I adore any and all books related to Pendergast, I have to say this one is my least favorite. The whole plot/characters/everything just felt "off". I suppose it would have been nearly impossible for the authors to follow up with a novel as fantastic as the Diogenes Trilogy... Still a must read for any Pendergast fan.
ArchieGoodwin More than 1 year ago
Being a fan of Pendergast through all the previous adventures, I was looking forward to the next installment. But this was a let-down after the recent trilogy, and I found the situations forced and the setting claustrophobic. Hoping for improvements in their next offering.
Grandeplease on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this stand alone tale of Agent Pendergast and Constance Greene more than any Preston - Child book since Relic.It moves fast and has an unexpected twist or two. I love that when it happens!
vanedow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading the eighth book in this series, and I thought rather than reviewing all eight individually, or reviewing the eighth without giving you any background, I would review the series as a whole instead. Aloysius Pendergast is an FBI agent with a decidedly unorthodox approach. The crimes he investigates tend to be not entirely of this world. Not that there are ghosties and ghoulies, but rather strange forces that cannot be entirely explained by logic.These books have that perfect balance of scary where they are definitely creepy, but they aren't going to give you nightmares. I love them! The action is fast paced and these books are total page-turners, guaranteed to keep you up all night reading. Pendergast himself has the potential to be one of the iconic sleuths. His eccentricities and strange methods make the books stand out from the crowd. Lincoln and Child, who each have books published solo, make a dynamic writing team! I abosolutely recommend this series. For the most part, the novels in this series are stand-alone and can be read out of order without too much trouble. However, I think they're better in sequence:1. Relic2. Reliquary3. The Cabinet of Curiosities4. Still Life With Crows5. Brimstone (Diogenes Trilogy Book One)6. Dance of Death (Diogenes Trilogy Book Two)7. The Book of the Dead (Diogenes Trilogy Book Three)8. The Wheel of Darkness9. Cemetary Dance
TheBentley on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Nothing award-winning, but truly great fun. I love what Preston and Child do with a huge cast of minor characters. This book is a perfect example of what it should be--great vacation reading--fast-paced, interesting, grand in scale, and much, much better than more lauded thrillers like The DaVinci Code.
etrainer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A comic book without pictures, like the rest of this series. This one is not quite up to par with the others, but it is still fun. Looking forward to Cemetery Dance.
SanctiSpiritus on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Pendergast series is by far the most intriguing and suspenseful series these days. However, this installment brimmed slightly above the low watermark. The novel at most instances felt like a Lucas Davenport novel(I love this series as well, so no disrespect intended). However, I wanted to read a Pendergast novel. The Wheel of Darkness just does not have the bona-fide feel of the preceding books of the series; which all I have read. Understandably, every book cannot be a winner. However, acquiescing to that fact does not lessen the disappointment.
CynDaVaz on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
About the same preference-wise as Reliquary ... perhaps a bit better. Not their best work though.
spartacula2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After I've read a book or watched a movie, sometimes, my original impressions give way to change. Wonder and excitement may wane because I'd had a chance to question and dissect motivations and reasonability. I wasn't familiar with Preston/Childs or their world of Pendergast. The story itself doesn't detail where Special Agent's James Bond/Bruce Wayne capabilities originated, so I took for granted he was(?) a S.A. to the F.B.I. His ward (or should I say 'sidekick') doesn't really add much to the situations, other than to gather info or serve as a sounding board so the reader knows where Pendergast is taking us. I appreciate the opportunity to try and figure out how to put the pieces together as a story unfolds; that's what made Nick Charles and Sherlock Holmes so popular. If you like a fast read via a process of elimination that's constantly explained to you, than this may fill your bill. I felt that there were one or two unneccesary victims, but the ones I liked were described with agonizing clarity. Still, the realism of an ocean liner, its entourage and it's destined course, kept me turning pages for the last third of the book. You've really got to be open to the 'dark side' to let this story do its thing. But just in case, the epilouge will set you straight.
DanaJean on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Again, part of the Pendergast series of stories. Centered around a missing monastery object, an evil brother and the good FBI guy trying to catch him. Mystery, action, suspense, intrigue -- it's got a little bit of everything with some very accomplished and colorful characters. Don't try to analyze too much and just go for the ride.
miriamparker on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Spooky, smart, mysterious, set on a boat, what could be bad?
bcquinnsmom on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Oh my! Well, I have been a totally faithful follower of the Agent Pendergast series from day one and so I rushed out and bought this one the day it started selling at the bookstores. It started out promisingly enough, then I began saying mentally to the authors "what happened? Where's the old Agent Pendergast? Did you guys just need the money for this one?" I have to say I was quite disappointed in this one. Here's a brief synopsis, no spoilers: Pendergast and Constance are in Tibet, off to study at a monastery because after their last adventures, they are tired of the world. While there, Constance is initiated into the ways of the dharma; Pendergast is summoned into the sanctum sanctorum. He discovers that a sacred artifact has of late been stolen, and that it must be recovered or the world may be in serious jeopardy. His search puts him on the maiden voyage of a new ocean liner, and from there, all is havoc, mayhem and murder.We do occasionally get a glimpse of the well-known Pendergast (the one that followers of this series have come to enjoy immensely), but I felt a lot of the time that I was reading a script for a high-seas horror flick. I love these authors, so PLEASE...bring back the real Agent Pendergast. If you want a thrill ride, read it, but if you were hoping for Preston & Child's usual awesome read, this one just didn't do it!
Bookmarque on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Well thankfully we didn¿t end up in the Museum of Natural History again. Now that the chase for Diogenes is over (at least in the physical world), Constance needs a break. P takes her to his favorite and almost unknown Tibetan monastery for some R&R. Well, sort of. If sleeping on the floor in only horsehair blankets, eating bark mulch and yogurt and meditating until your eyes no longer focus counts as R&R.While there, they learn of the theft of an ultra-secret (so secret even most of the monks living there don¿t know about it) spiritual artifact. How exactly something so secret could be stolen from an almost unknown monastery that is practically unreachable physically will of course be shown in due course. Of course they have to go and find it.So, the duo trace the thing to an ocean liner and through his usual semi-magical use of contacts, persuasion and illicit information, P gets them on board with luxury accommodations. Constance would rather stay at the monastery, but she of course follows him and pledges to help.The 1930s adventure serial flavor is still very much at work here. And it¿s good. The thing about those was that they hinted about a lot of things, but didn¿t give them up to you all at once. The point was to stretch things out. To make it last. To build suspense and anticipation in the audience. These two authors get that and have preserved it nicely through the series. There are things about Constance that are still maddeningly vague.This one isn¿t as world-stoppingly compelling as say, Cabinet of Curiosities, but it is a page-turner and has a nice blend of atmosphere and action. The very end is quite harrowing indeed. Interesting to see anti-terrorist measures be used against those whom it was intended to protect. It wasn¿t done in an accusatory way, just pointing out how such a measure could be turned.
elbakerone on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Wheel of Darkness is another thrilling installment in the Pendergast saga from Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. Supernatural intrigue, suspense, murder, mayhem, and mystery abound as Pendergast and his ward, Constance Green, attempt to track the theft of an ancient Tibetan relic. From a secretive monastery to a magnificent ocean liner, the pair must find the ambiguous antiquity before it releases it's evil and brings about the world's end. Fans of the Preston and Child novels might miss popular characters like D'Agosta, Smithback and Nora Kelly, all of whom brought familiarity and charm to the previous books. However, Wheel of Darkness still spins with excitement and adventure and its darker tone may actually appeal to some readers even more. Overall, it was not my favorite Pendergast novel but was still a very worthwhile read.
sfeggers on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This one was not as good as the previous books in the series. I missed D'Agosta and Constance was not quite as interesting a side-kick. Pendergast, too, was disappointing.
thelivingmandala on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the latest in the Pendergast series, and it takes place primarily on a cruise ship, as Pendergast and Constance attempt to retrieve a stolen Tibetan relic.I thought this was a great addition to the Pendergast series. Several people have said that it wasn't the 'same old Pendergast', but that's sort of the point of this one - he's exploring the depths of himself and coming to terms with some of the darker parts of his psyche that we encountered earlier in the series. I thought the structure of this one was a lot more complex than a typical Preston/Child thriller, and it had more to offer than the typical read in this genre. If taken at surface value, I can see where some would be disappointed, so if you're not willing to invest yourself in a book, and to really study what the authors were trying to say, you might be best to pass on this one. It's definitely different from the typical drug store paperback these guys have produced before. While I'm a fan of their usual stuff for the fact that it's usually a quick read, this one really does demand more.
hoosgracie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Interesting addition to the series. Pendergast and his ward Constance journey to a Buddhist monastery to renew themselves after the battle with Diogenes in the last book. While their, the monks enlist their aid in recovering an ancient artifact that has been stolen. The trail leads them to the maiden voyage of a luxury ocean liner, a la Titanic. Overall, it was an interesting story. I particularly liked the exploration of Buddhism and the relationship of Constance, Diogenes, and Pendergast.
bellalibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I will forever be a fan of the Agent Pendergast Series! Unfortunately, I didn't feel like this one was quite as good as previous titles, but I still really enjoyed it. Hoping there will be another one...
eenerd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The follow up to Dance of Death does not disappoint! There were some great suspenseful moments-the chapter where the nurse met her fate totally blew my mind. The mixture of fantasy and mystery is really different from other books I've read-unexpected in spots but the more I get used to it the more I like it! I really wasn't sure of the outcome until the very end, and it wrapped up in a pretty satisfying way. I was so glad to see that these guys are still writing great stuff, and continuing to surprise with beloved characters like Pendergast.
the_hag on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Yes¿another read in the Preston/Child Pendergast Novels (this makes eight in the series). The Wheel of Darkness follows directly on the heels of the events from the last novel (Book of the Dead) and as the story begins, we find Pendergast and his ward, Ms. Greene, on a treacherous climb to a remote Tibetan monastery¿alas, the monastery and all it¿s wonderful intricacies is not the primary setting for the novel; rather, it serves as a backdrop at the very beginning and the very end of the story and that in itself is a little disappointing. As with all Pendergast novels, nothing is quite what it seems and no trip or vacation (or retreat) can be had without a seriously world-threatening, cataclysmic event or killer looming large and threatening the main character(s) and all of humanity. Pendergast finds himself recruited by the monks to find and retrieve a stolen artifact that could spell the end of humankind for all time. His search takes him far from Tibet¿to Rome, London, and finally to a luxury ocean-liner (bound for New York) where he must narrow down the killer (from a passenger manifest of 3000+ cruise goers) and retrieve the artifact before it can spell certain doom for all of humanity. I find that as the books have progressed, I am enjoying each one just a tiny bit less than the last and that continues to be the pattern with The Wheel of Darkness. Much more slow paced and a great deal less action packed than previous books (and much, much, much shorter), the reader is presented with what I think wants to be a taut suspense/thriller that never really gets there and where I would classify the others as both mystery/thriller novels, I would also label them as horror as well¿and that is not the case with this one. It is way, way down on the horror, murder and mayhem scale (in comparison to the previous novels). To be fair, there are gruesome murders, a mystery, and the potential end of the world¿but even with all of that boiling in the author¿s cauldron of doom, The Wheel of Darkness manages to be slow to draw the reader in, it plods along and then it fizzles at the end. Additionally, Pendergast as a character really doesn¿t shine all that well as the focal character¿he¿s best served as a mysterious side dish to two or three other ¿normal¿ characters, as it is usually the juxtaposition of the story lines and intermingling of the characters as their stories and fates become more intertwined as the story builds that is what I enjoy about this series. I was pleased and impressed with Still Life with Crows, but I didn¿t think that the author¿s were going to continue using Pendergast as the focal character for all future novels. Further, his paring with Constance Green (as the focal duo in this book) was rather unfortunate and, well¿a tad creepy. Their dynamic just doesn¿t do much for me, or for the storyline. It might have played better if the second tier characters were more interesting or the story itself more intricate, as written the Pendergast/Constance dynamic left me unsatisfied and slightly miffed at the end of the book. I¿m rating this one at 3 stars, it¿s not a bad book, but I¿ve seen much better from these author¿s and I just can¿t justify 4 stars for a 3 star effort. Overall, the bones are good¿the storyline has a lot of potential¿but it lacks follow-through and oomph¿it just doesn¿t quite make it to the quality and intensity of the previous novels and that¿s a shame, because I feel that this could have been a much better novel had it been written to the standards of the first few books in the series. I¿ll read the next in the series (if one is written), but if the quality of writing (characters AND storyline) doesn¿t improve, I¿m nearing the end of my interest in this particular series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book arrived in great condition and in a timely fashion. I have not read the book yet as I purchased several books in this order.