Wicked [5th Anniversary Edition]

Wicked [5th Anniversary Edition]

by Original Studio Cast

CD

View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wicked: A New Musical [Original Broadway Cast Recording] 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 183 reviews.
ajunatnyc More than 1 year ago
I loved this show! The music and lyrics are amazing! Idina totally deserved her Tony award! Everyone should watch this show in light of our current political situation too!
JUles60 More than 1 year ago
I grew up loving Wizard of Oz... but Wicked blows Oz out of this world! I saw the show in London and fell in love with the music, the characters, everything! I still get the goose bumbs when listening to the music. Defying Gravity is one the most moving performances/songs--it'll leave you breathless.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My sister fell in love with the musical "Wicked" after seeing it performed in San Diego, so I purchased the Cast Recording as a Christmas gift. I don't think she's stopped listening to it since then! The music is positively addictive, and the performances are exceptional. Kristin Chenoweth's performance of "Popular" is both hilarious and amazing. I was quite impressed by how clever the lyrics are, and the music is incredible. It's difficult to understand the storyline just from the songs, but that's only to be expected with a musical. The liner notes are filled with pictures from the production, along with the lyrics. I highly recommend this CD!
Gwyn More than 1 year ago
This CD has a stunning array of musical numbers from musical. The music is amazing, and it paints a picture by itself. I have seen the play several times, and I listen to the music quite frequently. The singers have amazing voices that really bring out the characters and make the story seem more real. Anyone who is a fan of Wicked, Kristin Chenoweth, or any of the other singers should definitely buy this product. This music is a personal favorite of mine, and it has songs that are uplifting and songs that are sad. Most of the songs on here are beautiful and perfect to listen to even if you haven't seen the show.
Beazus5 More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this album. I listen to it almost every day. I wish I had seen the actual show but this is close to it. Idina and Kristen are simply wonderful! An unbelievably addictive CD. And it was very nice to hear Joel Grey's unique voice. I'm in love with this CD and now I'm reading the book. You gotta get this!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Close your eyes, lean back and you are...over the rainbow- all the way to that magical place we call Broadway!!! Nothing beats a great recording of the original cast ! Brava!
bleached_black More than 1 year ago
I loved Wicked the book, so I thought I'd check out the soundtrack and I am so glad I did. It is a great CD; it has amazing vocals. I really enjoy this CD.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This CD is great; you feel like you are there, watching the show, while listening to it. The artists are beyond talented and protray their emotions and characters very well through the songs. There are songs on here that everyone can identify with in real life (Defying Gravity, especially) at some point. I am going to see the musical for the first time this summer, and ordered this CD to listen to the songs in advance. It was a great purchase and has made me even more excited to see it live!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wicked should be in everyone's automobile, home, computer. Recommended to young and old. lessons to be learned. Good music to hear. Inspirations for the soul.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My new favorite record!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an incredibly witty and amazing show. Idina Menzel, who sings the role of Elphaba, possesses one of the best voices on Broadway today, which is especially showcased in such songs as "The Wizard and I" and "Defying Gravity". Kristen Chenoweth, another amazing vocalist, was born to play the part of Glinda and turns "Popular" into the funniest tune I've heard in a long time. Do yourself a favor and don't miss this one. And if you get the chance to see the show on Broadway, go, go, go!
Guest More than 1 year ago
OMG! Wicked is the best CD I've ever listened to. I'm a teen, so teenagers around, get this CD! I really want to see the play too! It's probably the best play in Broadway!:D
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw the Tony awards, which I watch every year. In 2004 they had a performance from Wicked more specifacly "Defying Gravity" which was magnificantly done. I remembered the beautiful voice of Idina Menzel, the Wicked. Anyways, when I was doing the musical "Footloose" at my school (I was Ren) My co-star, who played Ariel kept singing this song "Popular" with her friend, and it was from Wicked. It was a very catchy song, everything rhymed. I also found out that many people were into this new musical. Well, my co-star burned the Defying Gravity song onto a CD for me, and I got home and must have listened to it 50 times! I played it in the car for my mom, on the way to my music lesson, and I guess she liked it. She didn't make a big deal about it though. Anyways, when I finished my lesson, I heard the beginning song "No one mourns the Wicked" and wondered if my co-star had put another song on the CD, Turns out not, my mom had bought me the CD. Ever since that night I have had the pleasure of having this music to listen to any time I want. I love it. Every song is original. Some light and peppy, and some pleasant and joyous. Stephen Schwartz, who'm I didn't know before getting this CD, is a genious. I know that is cliche, but it's true. I am hoping that throughout the years, that he will dedicate his life to writing more musicals for society to enjoy. I know I will be purchasing them. Overall, Wicked is a musical for all ages. It will keep you happy, and you can listen to at every meal with your family. It has became a major hit at my school, even by those who don't care for Broadway music. I suggest you buy it now, before some new broadway cast replaces the original.
Guest More than 1 year ago
From the first two seconds of the opening number, you know this is something great. Stephen Schwartz, writter of Godspell, Pippin, Working, Children of Eden, and Acadamey and Grammy award winner, has taking Gregory Maguires MAGNIFICENT 1995 novel, and turned it into a Broadway Blockbuster! With one of the best scores I've heared on Broadway in along time, WICKED is a moving, powerful tuner. "Defying Gravity", the Act I Finale is one of the many showstoppers, but is also one of the greatest songs, in my opinoin, to ever be in a musical. I'm sorry, Avenue Q, but WICKED is so much more wicked than you! With the escence of a Disney score, but also a very original contemperary score. Bravo, Mr. Schwartz!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't wait to hear it all
Guest More than 1 year ago
The musical itself was brilliant. what an amazing show! I purchased this soundtrack prior to seeing the show, and I instantly loved the music. I've played this CD over and over again, and pratically know the songs by heart. This is definitely a MUST-HAVE collection of songs!
Guest More than 1 year ago
if you have not see the show, you should, it is awesome. also the music is awesome. i want to see it again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first bought the music in Chicago and fell in love with it, so I decided to go see the show too. It was WONDERFUL!!!! I love Wicked and I hope everyone else does too!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Saw WICKED on Broadway with my 13 year old daughter and we loved it! Laugh out loud humor, amazing set. Songs are catchy and Idina Menzel's voice is powerful. We expected glasses to shatter went Chentworth hit the high notes. Can't wait to hear the songs in my home again and again!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wicked is truly a very wondrous musical! The actors voices on stage are so crisp and clear it sounds like an instrument! The orchestra is wonderful, too! Idina Menzel and Kristen Chenowith are a one-of-a-kind pair to be on broadway! I know Ms. Chenowith has left, but she is still the best! Please buy this CD now!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Being a HUGE Stephen Schwartz and Idina Menzel fan, I saw this show, and fell in love with it. It's one of the greatest musicals. Idina Menzel, Kristen Chenoweth, and Norbert Leo Butz are all fanastical (as the Oz language would say), and Schwartz does it again by composing a brilliant show!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I haven't heard a better CD in my life, I feel like I'm right in the middle of the production