The Winner

The Winner

by David Baldacci

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Winner 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 244 reviews.
ChadAaronSayban More than 1 year ago
David Baldacci proved his mastery of the modern thriller with Absolute Power and Total Control. The Winner was released in 1998 and looked to continue the Baldacci brand of storytelling. Destitute waitress LuAnn Tyler lives a ramshackle existence with her newborn daughter in a poverty stricken southern town. At least that's the case until she is approach by a man named Jackson who promises her the unthinkable - a certain win in the national lottery of $100 million dollars. Her conscience tells her to say no, but before she can, events conspire to make Jackson's offer the only hope for LuAnn and her daughter. At the time, Jackson's conditions are acceptable, but ten years later, LuAnn decides to defy those conditions to take back her life with the hopes that the seemingly invincible puppet-master Jackson will be none the wiser. The Winner drags a bit early on as it tries to flesh out every thought of every character, but once the action gets going, it is intense and fun. You will root for LuAnn, but just like her, you won't always know who is on her side. Baldacci is at his best when he is putting his characters in deadly situations where they don't know where the trouble is coming from and they need to find that one hole to squeeze through to safety - and The Winner offers that up more than once. The story could have been a bit tighter and there were moments where the plot stretched believability to the edge. However, this is frankly when Baldacci is at his best. Baldacci's stories are like McDonald's Big Macs - you know they aren't fine dining, but you love them for what they are. All in all, Baldacci provides exactly what should be expected from his novels - a thrill-ride of a story that keeps the pages turning.
Jan Rives More than 1 year ago
Exciting, fast moving, and thought provoking.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first David Baldacci book I ever read - wow! What a great, original story line and page turner. I have since recommended it to several friends who also agreed that it is a great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best reads in quite some time. Highly recommended..
danreader54 More than 1 year ago
Rags to riches in a very unexpected way. However like every thing that seem too good to be true there are strings attached but the "Winner" is not to be underestimated. A good ride with a good ending.
Cheryl Spicer More than 1 year ago
if i remember right...this was the book that got me started reading ALL David Baldacci books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book i've read in a while. Couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First time reading a David Baldacci's book. The book was exciting, could not put it down. I would highly recommend it to all!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GREAT READ! First audiobook I listened to. I'm still waiting on the movie. On a scale of 1 - 10, I rate it an 11.
Carl Berg More than 1 year ago
Best book I have ever read!! Why isnt a movie?
Guest More than 1 year ago
loved this book 628 pages of pure page turning suspense. this book kept me going strong for three days loved the characters, plus the storyline
Guest More than 1 year ago
As I started to get deeper and deeper into the book, it struck me 'The Winner' was written as if it were meant to be made into a movie. Nothing wrong w/ books being turned into films, except when, as in 'The Winner', some of the characters and situations come across as contrived.
Anonymous 21 hours ago
From start to finish......
Anonymous 9 months ago
I+want+a+sequel%21
Anonymous 10 months ago
Great book! A real cliffhanger, Baldacci is a great writer!
Anonymous 10 months ago
could+not+put+it+down...%0Aread+it+years+ago+and+again.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
spell+binding+adventure.++new+twists+at+every+turn.++I+just+love+his+books.+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always look forward to his books. Keeps them solo interesting. Can't wait till the next one I
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read. A little predictable, but all-in-all, a hard-to-put- down thriller.
KPCO More than 1 year ago
I haven't been able to stick with a book lately....until I picked up this book. Excellent read that kept me coming back for more!
n2funstuff on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fantastic story about a lottery winner that must escape highly intelligent, highly resourceful kiler.
nEtVolution on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very precictable and reads like a movie. But still an enjoyable read if you are looking for some fluff.
Grandeplease on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If you like suspense, intrigue and do not mind a bit of the unlikely, you will enjoy this book. This tale is long - more than 600 pages in the paper back edition - so it will provide you with a lot of escape and entertainment.The plot is simple on its face - a lottery is rigged. The how and why and the cost is the substance of the book. This is a typical Baldacci thriller. It is fun. Some reviewers have opined their unhappiness with the seemingly all-knowing character. This is fiction and Baldacci stretches a bit - or does he?Buy the book, a couple lottery tickets and curl up by the fire and read.
bookheaven on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Forgettable and predictable.
Emma291 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This has been my favourite David Baldacci book - it came when he was coming up with new ideas for each book, rather than continuing characters, as in his most recent books. I found the plot exciting, and unexpected, about what could happen if somebody fixed the lottery.