by The University Six


$16.14 $16.99 Save 5% Current price is $16.14, Original price is $16.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16


The University Six were a small group comprised of members of the California Ramblers, a popular big band that only seems to have existed in the recording studios. The star of the University Six was usually Adrian Rollini, who was the greatest bass saxophonist of all time, an easy position for him to have since the instrument was otherwise largely extinct by the early '30s. This double CD starts off with four numbers from the Little Ramblers, selections that feature Rollini on a toy saxophone called a goofus that can make some odd sounds along with more conventional tones. The selections have a novelty feel to them despite including some worthwhile moments from trumpeter Bill Moore. The remainder of the reissue has all of the University Six recordings dating from September 18, 1925, to September 22, 1926. There would be 22 later selections, but those have Spencer Clark on bass sax. Rollini is on all but two of the 44 numbers on this set and, even on the selections where he does not solo, he is heard constantly pushing the ensembles and soloists. His bass sax substitutes for an absent string bass, so he is heard constantly throughout these performances. Of the other players, trombonist Abe Lincoln, trumpeter Chelsea Quealey, and especially altoist/clarinetist Bobby Davis fare quite well, although Rollini usually gets the honors. The music is very much of the period, with plenty of throwaway vocals (often by Arthur Fields), and it strikes a balance between commercial dance music and the jazz mainstream of the period.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/14/2006
Label: Challenge
UPC: 0608917904727
catalogNumber: 79047
Rank: 115813

Album Credits

Performance Credits

University Six   Primary Artist
Adrian Rollini   Goofus,Kazoo,Bass Saxophone,Xylophone
Spencer Clark   Bass Saxophone
Bobby Davis   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Tommy Fellini   Banjo
Stan King   Drums
Abe Lincoln   Trombone
Hal White   Violin,Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Carl Loeffler   Trombone
Chelsea Quealey   Trumpet
Sam Ruby   Tenor Saxophone
Arthur Hall   Violin,Vocals
Ed Kirkeby   Violin,Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Irving Brodsky   Piano
Arthur Fields   Violin,Vocals
George Troup   Trombone
Ray Kitchingman   Banjo
Roy Johnston   Trumpet
Bill Moore   Trumpet
Bill Moore Lucky Seven Band   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Irving Berlin   Composer
Nick LaRocca   Composer
W.C. Handy   Composer
Andy Razaf   Composer
Armand Piron   Composer
Walter Donaldson   Composer
Isham Jones   Composer
Gus Kahn   Composer
Howdy Quicksell   Composer
Elmer Schoebel   Composer
Clarence Williams   Composer
Dick Sudhalter   Liner Notes
Irving Brodsky   Arranger
John R.T. Davies   Original Material
Maceo Pinkard   Composer
Paul Denniker   Composer
Tony James Shevlin   Composer
Louis Panico   Composer
Marcel van den Broek   Cover Design
George Waggner   Composer
Bill Moore   Composer
Zan Sabini   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews