This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

1999 [Super Deluxe Edition]

1999 [Super Deluxe Edition]

by Prince

CD(Special Edition / Bonus DVD / with Bonus Disc)

$55.99 $69.99 Save 20% Current price is $55.99, Original price is $69.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on November 29, 2019


With Dirty Mind, Prince had established a wild fusion of funk, rock, new wave, and soul that signaled he was an original, maverick talent, but it failed to win him a large audience. After delivering the sound-alike album, Controversy, Prince revamped his sound and delivered the double album 1999. Where his earlier albums had been a fusion of organic and electronic sounds, 1999 was constructed almost entirely on synthesizers by Prince himself. Naturally, the effect was slightly more mechanical and robotic than his previous work and strongly recalled the electro-funk experiments of several underground funk and hip-hop artists at the time. Prince had also constructed an album dominated by computer funk, but he didn't simply rely on the extended instrumental grooves to carry the album -- he didn't have to when his songwriting was improving by leaps and bounds. The first side of the record contained all of the hit singles, and, unsurprisingly, they were the ones that contained the least amount of electronics. "1999" parties to the apocalypse with a P-Funk groove much tighter than anything George Clinton ever did, "Little Red Corvette" is pure pop, and "Delirious" takes rockabilly riffs into the computer age. After that opening salvo, all the rules go out the window -- "Let's Pretend We're Married" is a salacious extended lust letter, "Free" is an elegiac anthem, "All the Critics Love U in New York" is a vicious attack at hipsters, and "Lady Cab Driver," with its notorious bridge, is the culmination of all of his sexual fantasies. Sure, Prince stretches out a bit too much over the course of 1999, but the result is a stunning display of raw talent, not wallowing indulgence.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/29/2019
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
UPC: 0603497850068
catalogNumber: 604571
Rank: 1597


Disc 1

  1. 1999
  2. Red Corvette
  3. Delirious
  4. Let's Pretend We're Married
  5. D.M.S.R.
  6. Automatic
  7. Something in the Water (Does Not Compute)
  8. Free
  9. Lady Cab Driver
  10. All the Critics Love U in New York
  11. International Lover

Disc 2

  1. 1999
  2. 1999
  3. Free
  4. How Come U Don't Call Me Anymore
  5. Little Red Corvette
  6. All the Critics Love U in New York
  7. Lady Cab Driver
  8. Little Red Corvette
  9. Little Red Corvette
  10. Delirious
  11. Horny Toad
  12. Automatic
  13. Automatic
  14. Let's Pretend We're Married
  15. Let's Pretend We're Married
  16. Irresistible Bitch [2019 Remaste
  17. Let's Pretend We're Married
  18. D.M.S.R.

Disc 3

  1. Feel U Up
  2. Irresistible Bitch
  3. Money Don't Grow On Trees
  4. Vagina
  5. Rearrange
  6. Bold Generation
  7. Colleen
  8. International Lover (Take 1)
  9. Turn It Up
  10. You're All I Want
  11. Something In The Water (Does Not Compute)
  12. If It'll Make U Happy
  13. How Come U Don't Call Me Anymore? (Take 2)

Disc 4

  1. Possessed (1982 Version)
  2. Delirious (Full-Length)
  3. Purple Music
  4. Yah, You Know
  5. Moonbeam Levels (2019 Remaster)
  6. No Call U
  7. Can't Stop This Feeling I Got
  8. Do Yourself A Favor
  9. Don't Let Him Fool Ya
  10. Teacher, Teacher
  11. Lady Cab Driver/I Wanna Be Your Lover/Head/Little Red Corvette [Tour De

Disc 5

  1. Controversy
  2. Let's Work
  3. Little Red Corvette [Live at Masonic Hall, Detroit, MI, 11/30/1982: Lat
  4. Do Me, Baby
  5. Head
  6. Uptown
  7. Interlude
  8. How Come U Don't Call Me Anymore? [Live at Masonic Hall, Detroit, MI, 1
  9. Automatic
  10. International Lover [Live at Masonic Hall, Detroit, MI, 11/30/1982: Lat
  11. 1999
  12. D.M.S.R.

Disc 6

  1. Controversy
  2. Let's Work
  3. Do Me, Baby
  4. D.M.S.R.
  5. Interlude
  6. Piano Improvisation
  7. How Come U Don't Call Me Anymore? [Live at The Summit, Houston, TX, 12/
  8. Lady Cab Driver
  9. Automatic
  10. International Lover
  11. 1999
  12. Head

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Prince   Primary Artist