A Minnesota Mom, Volume III: The Making of a Missionary

A Minnesota Mom, Volume III: The Making of a Missionary

by Patricia C. Stendal


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25


This is the story of a 1960s Minnesota mother who struggles to keep up with three small children and housework. Barely able to cope, even with all the modern American conveniences, she panics when her husband begins to talk about pursuing missionary work.

Nothing could have prepared Pat Stendal for her adventure in Christian missions - with mule-riding lessons, sleeping in hammocks in the jungle, and traveling with sick children. A surprise new baby with special physical needs caused Pat to wonder how they would ever manage. Here she was in a new country, needing to learn an entirely new culture while facing overwhelming obstacles - only to learn that the entire time God was simply showing her and her family that His grace is indeed sufficient. And was it ever - their family ministry has been blessed to see thousands of souls won for Christ, and hundreds of thousands of books and Bibles distributed.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781622450381
Publisher: LIFE SENTENCE Publishing
Publication date: 08/02/2013
Pages: 194
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Patricia Stendal has four children, 15 grandchildren, and two great-grandchildren. She makes her home in Colombia, South America with her husband, Chad. Besides their work with the Kogi Indians, Chad and Pat help their oldest son, Russell, with his ministry to the Marxist guerrillas, right-wing auto-defense squads, and the Colombian military. Chad and Pat also spend part of each year in a speaking ministry in North America, and other parts of the world.

Table of Contents

Dedication 3

Synopsis 5

Introduction 7

Volume III The Making of Missionary

Chapter 1 Stage One 13

Chapter 2 Accepted? 21

Chapter 3 Guam 23

Chapter 4 Renewed Faith 29

Chapter 5 On Our Way 35

Chapter 6 An Unexpected Shock 41

Chapter 7 Main Base 45

Chapter 8 The Long Canoe Trip 51

Chapter 9 The Big Hike 55

Chapter 10 Advance Base 61

Chapter 11 Russell and the Sugar Creek Gang 69

Chapter 12 Survival Hike 73

Chapter 13 Village Visits 81

Chapter 14 Grand Forks Again 87

Chapter 15 The Hand is On the Plow 93

Chapter 16 Welcome to Colombia 97

Chapter 17 A Big Surprise 101

Chapter 18 Settling In 107

Chapter 19 The Llanos 113

Chapter 20 The Long Wait 117

Chapter 21 At Last 125

Chapter 22 A Door Opens 131

Chapter 23 Life at Lomalinda 137

Chapter 24 Dark Days 145

Chapter 25 Darker Days 151

Chapter 26 A Cup of Cold Water 157

Chapter 27 Bad News 161

Chapter 28 Dry Season 165

Chapter 29 Bogota Again 171

Chapter 30 The First Workshop 177

Chapter 31 Off at Last 183

Afterward 186

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews