African American Pioneers of Baseball: A Biographical Encyclopedia

African American Pioneers of Baseball: A Biographical Encyclopedia

by Lewis H. Freedman

NOOK Book(eBook)

$65.99 $75.00 Save 12% Current price is $65.99, Original price is $75. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


When Jackie Robinson became the first African American player in major league baseball in 1947, elbowing aside the league's policies of segregation that had been inviolate for 60 years, he became a symbol of opportunity and acceptance for African American players everywhere. Robinson withstood discrimination to establish himself as a Hall of Fame player, and to lead future generations of black players into the previously all-white world of Major League Baseball. Written for students and general readers alike, this biographical encyclopedia chronicles the history of African American baseball through the life stories of the game's greatest players, the legends who played a significant role in the integration of the major league.

From Negro League stars Satchel Paige and Josh Gibson, to color line shatterer Jackie Robinson, and those who followed them in the limelight, such as Hank Aaron and Willie Mays, readers will learn how the inclusion of African American players in Major League Baseball improved the sport and race relations in the United States during this critical period in history. Comprehensive biographical entries also include:
Buck O'Neil
Judy Johnson
Buck Leonard
Cool Papa Bell
Roy Campanella
Larry Doby
Monte Irvin
Willie McCovey
Ernie Banks
Elston Howard
Minnie Minoso
Frank Robinson
Bob Gibson
Curt Flood

Providing detailed accounts of each player's amazing professional achievements, this insightful reference describes how the spectacular talents of African American players elevated Major League Baseball forever. Features include a timeline of important events, numerous photographs, and a bibliography of print and electronic sources for further reading.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780313082269
Publisher: ABC-CLIO, Incorporated
Publication date: 04/30/2007
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Lew Freedman is a sportswriter with the Chicago Tribune. He has worked as an award-winning journalist with the Anchorage Daily News and is the author of over 21 books.

Table of Contents

Preface     vii
Introduction     xi
Timeline     xvii
Buck O'Neil (November 13, 1911-October 6, 2006)     1
Judy Johnson (October 26, 1899-June 15, 1989)     17
Buck Leonard (September 8, 1907-November 27, 1997)     27
Cool Papa Bell (May 17, 1903-March 7, 1991)     41
Josh Gibson (December 21, 1911-January 20, 1947)     53
Jackie Robinson (January 31, 1919-October 24, 1972)     67
Roy Campanella (November 19, 1921-June 26, 1993)     83
Don Newcombe (June 14, 1926-)     99
Larry Doby (December 13, 1923-June 18, 2003)     109
Satchel Paige (July 7, 1906-June 8, 1982)     119
Monte Irvin (February 25, 1919-)     135
Willie Mays (May 6, 1931-)     151
Willie McCovey (January 10, 1938-)     169
Ernie Banks (January 31, 1931-)     183
Elston Howard (February 23, 1929-December 14, 1980)     195
Minnie Minoso (November 29, 1922-)     209
Frank Robinson (August 31, 1935-)     223
Bob Gibson (November 9, 1935-)     237
Curt Flood (January 18, 1938-January 20, 1997)     249
Hank Aaron (February 5, 1934-)     263
Bibliography     281
Index     289

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews