Afro Blue

Afro Blue

by McCoy Tyner


$10.07 $11.99 Save 16% Current price is $10.07, Original price is $11.99. You Save 16%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 29


McCoy Tyner recorded five albums for Telarc, beginning with 1999's McCoy Tyner & the Latin All-Stars and ending with 2004's Illuminations. While no one would ever argue that these were the high points of a career that reaches back half-a-century and includes a legendary stint with John Coltrane, the Telarc recordings were all solid affairs and Tyner's genius was still quite evident throughout. Afro Blue is an eight-song compendium that draws material from all five of those releases, providing a neat summation of Tyner's output for the label. Never one to rest on his laurels, Tyner continued to push forward at a time in his life when he could easily have coasted. The 12-and-a-half-minute title track, from the Latin set, sports an easy groove within which tidy but inventive solos from pianist Tyner and flutist Dave Valentin are propelled by an insistent battery of percussion. "If I Were a Bell," the Frank Loesser standard, is a showcase for the always intoxicating vibes of Bobby Hutcherson, and the rhythm section of Stanley Clarke on bass and Al Foster on drums kicks "The Night Has a Thousand Eyes" into high gear and keeps it there. George Gershwin's "Summertime," a song so overdone it never needs to be done again, nonetheless finds new life in Tyner's solo reading. Afro Blue is hardly essential Tyner, but as a sampler of this period of his work, it's representative and highly enjoyable.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/13/2007
Label: Telarc
UPC: 0089408368226
catalogNumber: 83682
Rank: 75596

Album Credits

Performance Credits

McCoy Tyner   Primary Artist,Piano
Gary Bartz   Saxophone
Dave Valentin   Flute
Giovanni Hidalgo   Percussion
Avery Sharpe   Bass
Lewis Nash   Drums
Ignacio Berroa   Drums
Terence Blanchard   Trumpet
Stanley Clarke   Bass,Electric Bass,Bass Guitar,Acoustic Bass
Foster   Drums
Bobby Hutcherson   Vibes
Christian McBride   Bass,Bass Guitar
Charnett Moffett   Bass,Bass Guitar
Claudio Roditi   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Steve Turre   Trombone,Shells
Johnny Almendra   Timbales
Eric Harland   Drums

Technical Credits

Kenny Dorham   Composer
Frank Loesser   Composer
McCoy Tyner   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Elaine Martone   Producer,Audio Production
Ralph Rainger   Composer
Jack Renner   Engineer
Leo Robin   Composer
Mongo Santamaría   Composer
Robert Friedrich   Engineer
Anilda Carrasquillo   Art Direction
Jerry Brainin   Composer
Emily Mason   Paintings

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews