After All These Years

After All These Years

by Eddy Arnold


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17


Eddy Arnold's warm, neighborly voice has served him well over the years, and since he made his first recording in 1944, he has been at this an astounding sixty-plus years, during which time he has notched 92 Top Ten hits and reached the top spot 28 times. In 2005, at 87-years-old, Arnold has released his 100th album, the calm, wise and unassuming After All These Years, which was produced by Jack Clement and Jim Malloy. Arnold's voice isn't as strong as it used to be, but the warm, caring tone is still there, and he wisely tackles willfully nostalgic ballads that turn his increasingly hushed singing into a clear strength, and on songs like the lead-off track here, the gentle "Old Porch Swing," he gives the lyrics a priceless fragility and presence. Other highlights include the light rocker "Don't She Look Good," and two songs that originally appeared on Clement's 1978 album All I Want to Do in Life, "When I Dream," and "It'll Be Her." Arnold also revisits his 1956 hit, the durable "You Don't Know Me," which was a hit in 1962 for Ray Charles, and again in 1981 for Mickey Gilley. It may be an autumnal statement, but After All These Years has a quiet, easy pace about it that makes it refreshingly novel when placed next to the hustle, bustle, and bluster of most contemporary country releases.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/16/2005
Label: Rca
UPC: 0828767071022
catalogNumber: 70710
Rank: 167109

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eddy Arnold   Primary Artist,Keyboards
Billy Burnette   Guitar
Lloyd Green   Dobro
Bobby Wood   Piano,Keyboards
Mark Howard   Guitar,Mandolin
Thom Bresh   Guitar
Shawn Camp   Guitar
Jack Clement   Dobro,Guitar,Ukulele
Charles Cochran   Piano,Keyboards
Stephanie Hall   Background Vocals
Kenny Malone   Percussion,Drums
Joey Miskulin   Banjo,Accordion
Wanda Vick   Dobro,Mandolin,Violin
Hank Martin   Background Vocals
Bryan Sutton   Guitar,Ukulele
Dale Richardson   Background Vocals
Jon Mark Ivey   Background Vocals
Martin Singer   Background Vocals
Brooks Watson   Keyboards
David Roe   Electric Bass,Upright Bass
David Ferguson   Guitar
Dave Roe   Double Bass
David Ferguson   Guitar

Technical Credits

Eddy Arnold   Composer,Engineer
Roger Miller   Composer
Cindy Walker   Composer
Jerry Chesnut   Composer
Jack Clement   Producer,Audio Production
Jim Malloy   Producer,Audio Production
Sandy Mason   Composer
Billy Ray Reynolds   Composer
Jim Weatherly   Composer
Robert K. Oermann   Liner Notes,Author
Bobby Tomberlin   Composer
Astrid Herbold May   Art Direction
Ken Leray   Composer
J. Niles Clement   Tray Photo
Brooks Watson   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews