Alternative Medicine

Alternative Medicine

by Dr. Strangely Strange


$12.34 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.34, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 18


The subtitle of this album reads "The Difficult Third Album," and in fact 27 years passed between Dr. Strangely Strange's second and third releases. Their first album, Kip of the Serenes, was a singsong psychedelic folk record while their second, Heavy Petting, employed more rock and free-form ideas. This album incorporates traditional Irish music, blues-rock, and acoustic rock & roll, thus separating itself significantly from the two earlier releases and perhaps even paving the way for the BMC Band's The Peace Within, which was released in 1998 by Irish blues guitarist Barry McCabe. He also combined the blues with Irish music. So while this band expanded its musical focus some in the interim, its vocalists also benefited from the years; the three founding members, Ivan Pawle, Tim Goulding, and Tim Booth, all share in the lead vocals and their collective voices have matured noticeably. At times they recall Fisherman's Blues and Room to Roam-era Waterboys. Fiddler Joe Thomas adds a new element to the music, and is especially effective on the acoustic numbers. Former associate and electric guitarist Gary Moore rejoins his old friends on three selections, adding the bluesy sound to those songs.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/01/2019
Label: Big Beat Uk
UPC: 0029667417723
catalogNumber: 177
Rank: 105778

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Strangely Strange   Primary Artist
Gary Moore   Electric Guitar
Tim Goulding   Piano,Harmonium,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Vocals,Background Vocals,Human Whistle,Whistle (Instrument)
Mario N'Gomo   Percussion,Rainstick,Tibetan Bells
Ivan Pawle   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Harmonium,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Vocals,Background Vocals
Mary Greene   Background Vocals
Andy O'Sullivan   Harmonica
Aine Whelan   Background Vocals
Bruno Staehelin   Percussion,Drums
Seán Ó Loinsigh   Bouzouki,Bazouki
Len McCarthy   Baritone Saxophone
Davy McFarlane   Harmonica
Joe Thoma   Fiddle,Viola
TJM Tutty   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Vocals
Tim Booth   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Joe Thomas   Fiddle,Viola

Technical Credits

Ivan Pawle   Liner Notes
Paul Scully   Producer
Thomas Tutty   Composer
Bruno Staehelin   Engineer
Annie Goulding   Contributor

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews