America Eats Its Young [Bonus Tracks]

America Eats Its Young [Bonus Tracks]

by Funkadelic


$9.43 $11.99 Save 21% Current price is $9.43, Original price is $11.99. You Save 21%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


A double album and worth every minute of it, America Eats Its Young makes for a freaky, funky, and aware good time. Compared to the endless slabs of double-album dreck that came out around the same time from all sources, here Funkadelic brought life, soul, and much more to the party. With George Clinton credited only for arranging and producing, here the mad cast he brought together went all out. Bernie Worrell in particular now had a new importance, credited as co-arranger with Clinton as well as handling string and horn charts on a number of songs. His surging, never-stop keyboards, meanwhile, took control from the start, with his magnificent lead break on the opening "You Hit the Nail on the Head" making for one of the best performances ever on Hammond organ. Bootsy Collins (credited as William) is also somewhere in the crowd on bass and vocals, while old favorites like Eddie Hazel and Tiki Fulwood, among many others, can be found. Perhaps to fill in the time, a few numbers from the first Parliament album, Osmium, two years before cropped up, namely "Loose Booty" and the hilariously sleazy "I Call My Baby Pussycat," here performed with a noticeably slower, dirty groove. The straightforward social call to arms appears throughout, with one song title saying it all -- "If You Don't Like the Effects, Don't Produce the Cause." Other winners include the vicious title track, combining everything from mysterious, doom-laden voices and weeping wails to slow, sad music, and the concluding "Wake Up," while "Everybody Is Going to Make It This Time" is a lovely, gospel-informed ballad that heads for the skies and hearts. There are more mundane concerns as well, such as "There Was My Girl," a quirky weeper, and the weird if smoothly delivered "Miss Lucifer's Love," with more than one target in mind. [The 2005 reissue features excellent remastered sound, a thick booklet, and both sides of the "Loose Booty" 45.]

Product Details

Release Date: 04/25/2005
Label: Westbound Uk
UPC: 0029667009027
catalogNumber: 229
Rank: 20186

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Funkadelic   Primary Artist
Bernie Worrell   Keyboards,Vocals,Melodica
Harold Beane   Guitar,Vocals
Dianne Brooks   Vocals
Bruce Cassidy   Trumpet
Arnie Chycoski   Trumpet
Phelps "Catfish" Collins   Guitar,Vocals
Zachary Frazier   Percussion
Steve Kennedy   Vocals
Tyrone Lampkin   Percussion
Ronald Laurie   Cello
Cordell Mosson   Bass
Albert Pratz   Violin
Bill Richards   Violin
Peter Schenkman   Cello
Garry Shider   Guitar,Vocals
Stanley Solomon   Viola
Ollie Strong   Steel Guitar
Frankie "Kash" Waddy   Percussion,Vocals
Randy Wallace   Alto Saxophone,Vocals
Stanwyck   Trumpet
Walter Babiuk   Viola
Clayton Gunnels   Trumpet,Vocals
Victoria Polley   Violin
Billy Richard   Violin
Robert "Chopper" McCullough   Tenor Saxophone
Prakash John   Bass,Vocals
Bootsy Collins   Bass,Vocals

Technical Credits

Bernie Worrell   Arranger,Composer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Sidney Barnes   Composer
Harold Beane   Composer
Ernest G Harris   Composer
Clarence "Fuzzy" Haskins   Composer
Garry Shider   Composer
David Van De Pitte   String Arrangements,Guitar Arrangements
Dean Rudland   Liner Notes
William Nelson   Composer
Cathy Abel   Poster Design
Bootsy Collins   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews