American Child [Bonus Tracks]

American Child [Bonus Tracks]

by Phil Vassar


What makes Phil Vassar a true find in today's Nashville climate is his rock-solid ability to pen a convincing song and then turn around and sing it in an equally convincing manner. His writing has been embraced by everyone from Alan Jackson to Cledus T. Judd to Engelbert Humperdinck. Vassar's sophomore album on Arista Records, American Child, is exactly what he wants it to be: 12 songs that he had a hand in writing and knew he could convey to his audience. That translates into some catchy lines, a few unconventional choruses, and Vassar's fervent belief in every note. The album offers both powerful ballads like "I Thought I Never Would Forget" and "Stand Still" tempered with the humor of "Athens Grease," the story of a Georgia mechanic Vassar dubs the "redneck Picasso of the manual transmission." The title cut is probably some of Vassar's best songwriting, with plenty of good ole' American imagery. On the downside, some of the cuts just don't merit space on this album. That's no slap to Vassar's songwriting; the best of the best can't write top quality every time they pick up the pen. Here, it's more a question of weeding out and replacing tunes such as the generically bland "I'll Be the One" that ends the album or the confusing "Forgettin's So Long." That said, American Child is a solid, enjoyable effort with a few flaws. [American Child was re-released in 2003 with bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 08/04/2009
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886974884026
catalogNumber: 748840

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Phil Vassar   Primary Artist,Piano
Mike Brignardello   Bass
Pat Buchanan   Electric Guitar
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar
Tony Harrell   Keyboards
Michael Landau   Electric Guitar
B. James Lowry   Electric Guitar
Brent Mason   Electric Guitar
Chris McHugh   Drums
Nashville String Machine   Strings
Steve Nathan   Keyboards
Biff Watson   Acoustic Guitar
Lonnie Wilson   Drums
Glenn Worf   Bass
Aubrey Haynie   Fiddle
Russell Terrell   Background Vocals
Tim Akers   Keyboards
Perry Coleman   Background Vocals
Jeff Smith   Background Vocals
Clayton Ryder   Accordion

Technical Credits

Jeff Balding   Engineer
Dennis Davis   Engineer
Byron Gallimore   Producer
Dann Huff   Producer
Julian King   Engineer
Justin Niebank   Engineer
Michael Omartian   Arranger
John Paterno   Engineer
Ricky Cobble   Engineer
S. Wade Hunt   Art Direction
Justin Smith   Engineer
Mellissa Schleicher   Groomer
Phil Vassar   Producer
Cory Churko   Pro-Tools
Jason Gantt   Engineer
Jason Lefan   Engineer
Clint Brown   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews