Anatomy of a Love Song

Anatomy of a Love Song

by Kenny Lattimore



Ten of the 14 songs on Anatomy of a Love Song were available in early 2013 as Back 2 Cool, an album that made its way to very few attentive fans. "Find a Way," written with Raheem DeVaughn, debuted as early as June 2012, yet it sounds fresh in 2015 and represents the makeup of Kenny Lattimore's sixth solo album. The singer is at his best when he cooks up modern smooth soul that evokes late-night, late-'70s/early-'80s R&B radio programming; a cover of a ballad written by the likes of Skip Scarborough or Leon Ware could have been inconspicuously slipped into the sequence. A few cuts -- such as "You Have My Heart," "You're My Girl," and "Still Good" -- are among Lattimore's career best, and there's a knockout duet with Lalah Hathaway in the form of "Nothing Like You." Among the newer songs, the top standout is "Love Me Back," a Bobby Womack-quoting smooth groove that ends up somewhere between Keni Burke's "Risin' to the Top" and Donell Jones' "Spend the Night." It sounds as if Lattimore felt absolutely no pressure in delivering his first widely released solo album of original material in 14 years.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/14/2015
Label: Ent. One Music
UPC: 0099923948728
catalogNumber: 9487

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Kenny Lattimore   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Lalah Hathaway   Background Vocals
Mary Brown   Background Vocals
Kelly Price   Background Vocals
Vidal Davis   Drums
Ivan "Orthodox" Barias   Musician
Jeff Bradshaw   Trombone
Matt Cappy   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Raheem DeVaughn   Background Vocals
Nicholas Baker   Musician
Damon "DJ" Parker   Background Vocals
J.R. Hutson   Musician
Allen Irvin   Background Vocals
Curt Chambers   Musician
Kay Ta Matsuno   Guitar
Wayne Moore   Bass
Brandon Hines   Background Vocals
Lance Tolbert   Piano
Yameen Allworld   Vocals
Jamal McCoy   Musician
Leonard "E-Flat" Stephens   Guitar,Keyboards
Courtney "J.R." Peebles   Musician
Kharisna McIlwaine   Background Vocals
Jimmy Wallstreet   Vocals
Jairus Mozee   Bass,Guitar,Piano
Dra-Kkar Wesley   Background Vocals
Peter Lee Johnson   Strings
John Whitt   Keyboards
Raymond Shondale "Shonny B Mack" Hinton   Musician
Wreh Jalla   Musician
Brook Alexander   Drums
Devron Patterson   fender rhodes,Wurlitzer,Piano (Grand)
Edwin Carranza   Bass
Natalie "Tatum" Lakamp   Background Vocals
Will Wu   Guitar

Technical Credits

Lalah Hathaway   Composer,Duet
Johnny Smith   Composer
Mary Brown   Arranger,Composer,Vocal Producer
Harry Wilson   Composer
Kenny Lattimore   Composer,Executive Producer
Andre Harris   Composer
Jamar Jones   Composer
Vidal Davis   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Bass Engineer
Eric Rousseau   Composer,Engineer
Ivan "Orthodox" Barias   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Jeff Bradshaw   Horn Arrangements
Carvin "Ransum" Haggins   Producer
Raheem DeVaughn   Composer
Nicholas Baker   Composer,Producer
Lauren Evans   Composer
Leonard Stevens   Composer
Rico Love   Composer
J.R. Hutson   Producer,Engineer,Executive Producer,Additional Production
Allen Irvin   Engineer
Curt Chambers   Composer
Lee Hutson   Composer
Rich King   Composer
Courtney Peebles   Composer
Brandon Hines   Composer
Lance Tolbert   Composer,Producer
Mike Lloyd   Vocal Arrangements
Jamal McCoy   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Emmanuel Lambert   Composer
Antoine Harris   Composer
Vince Lorenz   Drum Engineering
Tiwa Savage   Composer
Sean Marlowe   Art Direction
Robert Thomas   Composer
Courtney "J.R." Peebles   Producer,Engineer
Jairus Mozee   Composer
Dra-Kkar Wesley   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Darek Cobbs   Engineer,String Arrangements
Carvin Haggins   Composer,Engineer
Raymond Shondale "Shonny B Mack" Hinton   Composer,Producer
Wreh Jalla   Composer,Producer
Ivan Latimore   Composer
Damon Parker   Composer
Devron Patterson   Composer
Edwin Carranza   Engineer,String Arrangements
Jennah Hughes Taylor   Composer
Natasha Terrel   Arranger,Composer
Trevis Harris   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews