Aru Shah and the Song of Death (B&N Exclusive Edition) (Pandava Series #2)

Aru Shah and the Song of Death (B&N Exclusive Edition) (Pandava Series #2)

by Roshani Chokshi

Hardcover(B&N Exclusive Edition)

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, May 24

Overview

The second in four books about a 12-year-old girl named Aru Shah and her journey to find her Pandava sisters in order to restore order to the world and save the mother she loves. Including a bonus scene exclusive for B&N customers.

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents best-selling author Roshani Chokshi and her sequel to Aru Shah and the End of Time. Aru is only just getting the hang of this whole Pandava thing when the Otherworld goes into full panic mode. The god of love's bow and arrow have gone missing, and the thief isn't playing Cupid. Instead, they're turning people into heartless fighting-machine zombies. If that weren't bad enough, somehow Aru gets framed as the thief. If she doesn't find the arrow by the next full moon, she'll be kicked out of the Otherworld. For good. But, for better or worse, she won't be going it alone. Along with her soul-sister, Mini, Aru will team up with Brynne, an ultra-strong girl who knows more than she lets on, and Aiden, the boy who lives across the street and is also hiding plenty of secrets. Together they'll battle demons, travel through a glittering and dangerous serpent realm, and discover that their enemy isn't at all who they expected.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781368052030
Publisher: Disney Press
Publication date: 04/30/2019
Series: Pandava Series , #2
Edition description: B&N Exclusive Edition
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 1,129
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.50(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author


Roshani Chokshi (www.roshanichokshi.com) is the author of the instant New York Times best-selling first book in the Pandava series, Aru Shah and the End of Time. She also wrote the New York Times best-selling YA book The Star-Touched Queen, and its companion, A Crown of Wishes. She studied fairy tales in college, and she has a pet luck dragon that looks suspiciously like a Great Pyrenees dog. The Pandava novels were inspired by the stories her grandmother told her as well as Roshani's all-consuming love for Sailor Moon. She lives in the south and says "y'all," but she doesn't really have a Southern accent. Her Twitter handle is @roshani_chokshi.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Aru Shah and the Song of Death (B&N Exclusive Edition) (Pandava Series #2) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous 2 hours ago
Aru Shah and the Song of Death really made my weekend fun. Swooned to its characters (both old & new) and stanning Roshani Chokshi for making a vast complex Hindu Mythology quite compelling. When I read Aru Shah and the End of Time a year ago, it was like getting a fresh breathe, a new perspective to the brand of fiction kids and adult alike all love,. It is a middle grade adventure fantasy that is “blessed by the Gods” tp be a starter to the great line up of Rick Riordan Presents. Both the 1st and 2nd book of Pandava Quartet are as unique and as great to any rick riordan brand of mythology. the diverse character not only represent its culture, (or cultures) ,the people of color, the mytholgy vastly different and comples to the Greeks or Romans we’ve used to read ( or see on movies). Not leaving any spoilers but Song of Death filled with reference on pop culture, indian folklore, and hindi mythlore will surely make you finish the book in one sitting (like I did) or make you pause after few chapter or so to internalize them. It will surely worthy of weekend spent curled up in bed reading (like i did). I surely will blab about it to librarian acquitances , friends whp are readers, parents i know who could give this excellent book as a gift to their kids. Stoked for Tree of Wishes! (Aka Aru Shah 3) and definitely going to stay updated to proposed movie Paramount would like to create from this modern retelling of epic and still living mythology. hope you enjoy aru, mini (and her filipino/indian family) , brynne, and adrian as miuch as i did - apolo patron
Anonymous 3 days ago
I liked this book because it just flowed with the first. Also I have been very addicted to Rick roidan and this book was a change form his stial in how he writes. But I loved the book. KEEP IT UP PLEASE.
Suzanne Costner 9 days ago
Shades of The Lightning Thief make the sequel to Aru Shah and the End of Time seem very familiar. Aru is accused of stealing the bow and arrow of the god of love and will have to prove she didn’t do it. Her quest to find the real thief and prove her own innocence takes her into danger with two new companions, as well as her friend and fellow Pandava, Mini. Escapades in the Midnight Bazaar are just the beginning as they try to clear Aru’s name . The Indian mythology the series is inspired by mixes well with the characters and action. The modern setting of Aru Shah and its juxtaposition with the bazaars and other traditional locales holds the reader’s interest. Recommended for fans of Percy Jackson, Magnus Chase, the Trials of Apollo, and other mythology-based stories.
Anonymous 20 days ago
I+loved+it%2C++the+humor+could+make+almost+anyone+laugh%2C+every+twist+and+turn+will+be+sure+to+pack+a+surprise.+it%27s+an+Amazing+book+that%27ll+keep+you+up+half+the+night+%E2%98%BA+%F0%9F%92%AA%F0%9F%91%8D
bookchelle 21 days ago
Aru Shah and the Song of Death is an extremely fun follow up to End of Time. I had a great time reading this one! Let me tell you why. First, there is something to be said about reading Middle Grade books. They don’t have the emotional turmoil of teenage angst, AND the main characters are fearless. I mean, if I had to face ancient gods, I hope I would also be the same. Aru and Mini are back, as the spunky and heroic pandavas. This time, they’ve added two additional characters that are pretty fierce in their own right: Brynne and Aiden. The stakes are a bit higher, the adventure just as deadly, and with another looming deadline. This time? It’s not just the world they’re saving, it’s also their fate as the chosen ones. I love Aru and Mini already. I think that their dynamic together is one perfect for this age group. And while they’ve really connected and made that partnership something strong, Roshani decided to throw another two in the mix. But Brynne and Aiden’s relationship is just as strong! It was really fun to see how the progression of these four turned out. I won’t talk about specifics, because of spoilers, but MAN THAT PART AND UGH MY FEELINGS. Roshani’s writing can adapt. I’ve read her previous books, and no matter what, I can connect to them. The humor within the pages of this book are so like Roshani in person, but it also made me feel like it was me in Aru’s shoes. What I appreciate most about this story is the discussion of family and friends. We don’t always have a perfect and loving family. We don’t always have a great support system. But, when you find your group and you make them your own? Well, what Aru has? That’s what I love the most. *Thank you to the publisher for an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.*
Anonymous 21 days ago
Litty lit skida pap boom skiddy pop pop pow
marongm8 21 days ago
Our patrons really enjoyed the first installment of the Pandava series and when we heard about the next book, we could not wait to get started reading. I can definitely say if you are a fan of the first book, you'll become an even bigger fan of Aru Shah and the Song of Death. The plot was so invigoratingly captivating that we could not put the book down and Aru Shah takes more of the heroine role in this novel as she did in the first one. We can not wait to recommend this book and we know that our youth patrons and patrons of all ages will love it. That is why we give this book 5 stars.