Baby Please Set a Date

Baby Please Set a Date

by Elmore James Jr.


$11.80 $12.99 Save 9% Current price is $11.8, Original price is $12.99. You Save 9%.


Since the release of his first CD, Elmore James, Jr. has won a Living Blues award, been touring more frequently, and is firmly establishing his own style of electric modern blues in his dad's image. This album with his backup band, the Broomdusters, shows he's much more than just a chip off the ol' block, as his slide guitar work sounds more distinctively like Elmore James, while his voice is not as rough and tumble. He's also more assertive as a songwriter, but is ever mindful of the tradition by covering famous songs from the classic Chicago blues repertoire. The band faithfully offers up renditions of "Dust My Broom," and "The Sky Is Crying," but also Arthur Big Boy Crudup's "Look on Yonder Wall" and Leroy Carr's "Mean Mistreater" that predate James, Sr. Saxophonist Edward Williams honks and jives with James, Jr. on occasion, trading licks for "Married Woman Blues" and dipping into a juke joint mode for the instrumental "Steppin' with Elmo'." There's a sense of value and purpose heard on every track, as James, Jr. grows with confidence on several levels, making for a solid effort that one can go back to for repeat listenings.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/12/2010
Label: Wolf Records
UPC: 0799582082220
catalogNumber: 120822

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Elmore James   Primary Artist,Vocals,Slide Guitar,Interviewee,Group Member
Jacob Dawson   Guitar
Otis Green   Keyboards,Group Member
Jim DiSpirito   Drums,Vocals,Group Member
Edward Williams   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Group Member
Jacob Dawson   Guitar,Group Member
Carl Norington   Bass,Group Member
Edward Davis   Percussion,Group Member

Technical Credits

Leroy Carr   Composer
Blaise Barton   Engineer
Arthur "Big Boy" Crudup   Composer
Elmore James   Composer
Earnest Johnson   Arranger,Composer
Robert "P-Nut" Johnson   Composer
Brian Leach   Engineer
Clarence Lewis   Composer
Morgan Robinson   Composer
Jake Dawson   Composer,Producer
Ed Williams   Producer
Harald Ergott   Cover Design
Hannes Folterbauer   Inlay Photography
James A. Lane   Composer
Minnie McCoy   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Elmore James   Producer
Rien Wisse   Liner Notes,Cover Photo
Steve Mroz   Interviewer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews