Back to Me

Back to Me

by Fantasia


The title of Fantasia's third album Back to Me surely refers to the American Idol winner reconnecting with her roots -- a move that may be a little premature because she hasn't abandoned them during her four year hiatus from recording, she simply shifted her attention from the studio to the stage, taking the time to star in the musical adaptation of The Color Purple and even dabble in reality television. It was enough activity to keep her in the public eye, but not enough to elevate her profile toward superstardom, so perhaps she needed to treat Back to Me as a full-fledged comeback, if only to give her a boost toward the upper reaches of the charts. And even with a sleek throwback like "Collard Greens & Cornbread" and titles borrowed from the Jackson 5 ("Who's Lovin' You") and B.B. King (the Cee-Lo Green duet "The Thrill is Gone"), Back to Me is indeed made with modern listeners in mind, featuring contributions from producers and songwriters like Ne-Yo, Chuck Harmony and Claude Kelly. Everybody expands upon the cool stainless sheen of 2006's Fantasia, keeping the surfaces smooth and giving Barrino plenty of room to emote, smudging all the slickness with her throaty growl, grabbing attention even as the music drifts toward the generic. Fantasia doesn't invest the songs with subtle emotion so much as she goads into emotional overdrive, which helps make Back to Me her most interesting album.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/24/2010
Label: J-Records
UPC: 0886976652821
catalogNumber: 766528

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Fantasia   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Bruce Dukov   Violin,Concert Master
Sid Page   Violin
Rick Baptist   Trumpet
Charlie Bisharat   Violin
Leon "Ndugu" Chancler   Drums
Brian Dembow   Viola
Stephen Erdody   Celli
James Harrah   Guitar
Dan Higgins   Clarinet
Greg Huckins   Clarinet
Alphonso Johnson   Bass
Joseph Joubert   Conductor
Warren Luening   Trumpet
Danny Morris   Keyboards
Joel Peskin   Clarinet
Greg Phillinganes   Organ,Synthesizer
Katia Popov   Violin
Josefina Vergara   Violin
Julie Rogers   Violin
Tony Reyes   Bass,Guitar
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach   Trombone
Natalie Leggett   Violin
Timothy Loo   Celli
Caroline Campbell   Violin
Jim Jonsin   Keyboards
Larry Hall   Trumpet
Alyssa Park   Violin
Tiffany Villarreal   Background Vocals
Henry Gronnier   Violin
Neel Hammond   Violin
Victor Simonson   Piano
Ne-Yo   Background Vocals
Jesse Bond   Guitar
Claude Kelly   Background Vocals
Alma Fernandez   Viola
Searmi Park   Violin
Yelena Yegoryan   Violin
Robert Brophy   Viola
Warren "Oak" Felder   Background Vocals
Chuck Harmony   Bass,Guitar,Drums
DaMystro   Conductor
Giovanna Moraga Clayton   Celli
Thomas Diener   Viola
Alex Iles   Trombone
Vanessa Freebairn-Smith   Celli
Tamara Hatwan   Violin
Joe Mitchell   Percussion
Reggie Young   Trombone
Ashanti "The Mad Violinist" Floyd   Violin,Cello,Viola
Andrew "Pop" Wansel   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Brenda Russell   Composer,Producer
Burt Bacharach   Composer
Nick Ashford   Composer
Stephen Bray   Composer,Producer
Hal David   Composer
Frank Filipetti   Engineer
Joseph Joubert   Arranger
Carlos McKinney   Composer
Valerie Simpson   Composer
Allee Willis   Composer,Producer
Herbert Rooney   Composer
Tony Reyes   Composer
Carlton Lynn   Engineer
James Scheffer   Composer
Kawan "KP" Prather   Composer
Julian Vasquez   Vocal Engineer
Stereotypes   Producer,Engineer
Jim Jonsin   Programming,Producer
Heather Bright   Composer
Jaymz Hardy-Martin   Engineer
Daniel Morris   Composer
Tiffany Villarreal   Composer
Thomas Callaway   Composer
Shaffer Smith   Composer
Benjamin Chang   Engineer
Alonzo Mario Stevenson   Composer
Robert Marks   Engineer
Ne-Yo   Producer
Rico Love   Composer,Producer,Vocal Producer
Claude Kelly   Composer
Fantasia   Composer
Warren "Oak" Felder   Composer
Scott Naughton   Engineer
Chuck Harmony   Producer,Vocal Producer
Graham Marsh   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
DaMystro   Producer
Charles Harmon   Composer
Jeremy Reeves   Composer
Ray Romulus   Composer
Jonathan Yip   Composer
James Ho   Composer
Ryan Williamson   Composer
Jessyca Wilson   Composer
Denise Trotman   Art Direction
Mike "TrakGuru" Johnson   Engineer
Andrew "Pop" Wansel   Composer
Tiwa Savage   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Back to Me 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago