Barefoot on the Beach

Barefoot on the Beach

by Michael Franks
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


If there's a smooth jazz poet, it must be Michael Franks, the man who brought us "Popsicle Toes" and "Your Secret's Safe with Me." Franks makes music with all the lush textures and melodic seductiveness of the best smooth jazz, but his edge lies in his wordsmanship. His music and mellow vocal phrasing pulls you in, and then his clever lyrics take hold. The title track of BAREFOOT ON THE BEACH is a perfect example. The easy-grooving bass and drum pattern, slinky electric piano, and jazz horns set a dreamy tropical mood, while Franks paints a picture of the ideal get-away: "My Captiva Island bungalow's perfect for two, no attire is required, just a toothbrush dear 'cause here we don't wear much." Other prime tracks including "Now Love has no End" -- a duet with Valerie Simpson-"Mr. Smooth," "The Fountain of Youth" and "Double Talk" display similar musical and verbal craft. As playful as he is literate, Franks is the perfect person to listen to when you want to chill out, but still need to keep your head and heart racing.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/04/2009
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886974902027
catalogNumber: 749020

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Michael Franks   Primary Artist
Jay Azzolina   Guitar
Jim Beard   Strings
Michael Brecker   Tenor Saxophone
Bob James   Piano
Steve Khan   Guitar
David Mann   Flute
Bob Mintzer   Saxophone
Chris Hunter   Alto Saxophone
David Charles   Percussion,Finger Snapping
Jimmy Haslip   Bass,Keyboards
Tawatha Agee   Background Vocals
Bashiri Johnson   Percussion
Randy Brecker   Trumpet
Carmen Cuesta   Background Vocals
Steve Gadd   Drums,Finger Snapping
Lani Groves   Background Vocals
Birch Johnson   Trombone
Will Lee   Bass,Background Vocals
Chuck Loeb   Guitar
Larry Lunetta   Trumpet
Jeff Mironov   Guitar
Chris Palmaro   Keyboards
Shawn Pelton   Drums
David Samuels   Vibes
Valerie Simpson   Vocals,Track Performer
Andy Snitzer   Alto Saxophone
Jim Hynes   Flugelhorn
Wolfgang Haffner   Cymbals,Finger Snapping
Mike Ricchiuti   Keyboards
Brian Dunne   Drums

Technical Credits

Jimmy Haslip   Producer
Chuck Loeb   Arranger,Producer,Horn Arrangements,rhythm arrangement
Phil Magnotti   Engineer
Sonny Mediana   Art Direction
Andy Snitzer   Horn Arrangements
Dennis Wall   Engineer
Mike Ricchiuti   rhythm arrangement
Brian Dunne   drum programming

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews