Better Than Perfect

Better Than Perfect

by Melissa Kantor

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, June 19

Overview

From the acclaimed author of Maybe One Day, Melissa Kantor, comes a poignant coming-of-age story that skillfully captures the singular experience of being a teenage girl. This beautifully woven tale will appeal to fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen.

Juliet Newman has it all. A picture-perfect family; a handsome, loving boyfriend; and a foolproof life plan: ace her SATs, get accepted into Harvard early decision, and live happily ever after.

But when her dad moves out and her mom loses it, Juliet begins questioning the rules she's always lived by. And to make everything even more complicated there's Declan, the gorgeous boy who makes her feel alive and spontaneous—and who's totally off-limits. Torn between the life she always thought she wanted and one she never knew was possible, Juliet begins to wonder: What if perfect isn't all it's cracked up to be?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062279231
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/17/2015
Pages: 336
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Melissa Kantor is the author of Maybe One Day; Confessions of a Not It Girl, an ALA Booklist Best Romance Novel for Youth; If I Have a Wicked Stepmother, Where's My Prince?, a YALSA Teens Top Ten Pick; The Breakup Bible, an ALA Best Books for Young Adults nominee; Girlfriend Material, a Junior Library Guild selection; and The Darlings Are Forever and The Darlings in Love, a Junior Library Guild selection. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her family.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Better Than Perfect 2.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
SezjbSB More than 1 year ago
3.5/5 stars. Better Than Perfect is a contemporary novel about a girl Juliet Newman who has what she believes is the perfect life, when her Dad ups and leaves her Mom isn't coping well at all, and life as she knew it is changing in ways she never expected. Juliet and her boyfriend Jason both have their futures mapped out including attending Harvard together, but Juliet is coming to realise that all that she's strived so hard to achieve may not be what she really wants after all, especially after meeting Declan and his siblings who have their own band which Juliet ends up helping out with by singing lead vocals, the attraction is pretty hard to ignore and they both have a lapse of judgement a couple of times, I'm not a fan of reading books with cheating, especially when it's the main character, so as much as I would have liked Juliet and Declan as a couple I couldn't get over how wrong it was. Better Than Perfect was an alright book for me, I absolutely adored Maybe One Day last year so I was really excited to receive an ARC of this book, but I was left disappointed it was a book that I wasn't really in a rush to get through and I was a bit underwhelmed. I still want to read whatever else Melissa releases as I do enjoy her writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
About a young woman finding herself. Great characters.
majibookshelf More than 1 year ago
Better than Perfect was an interesting book. I liked how the whole book centered around a normal girl's problems.. problems that we have all at least faced at one point in our lives. What I failed to really notice is the emergence of a boy, when she already has a boyfriend, and the overstepping of that line into something that I will never condone or even want to understand.. and that is cheating.  Juliet comes from a rich family but her life is far from perfect. Her dad left her mom (and herself) and now her mom is drowning her sorrows with alcohol and pills. Juliet's life is falling apart in front of her eyes and now she doesn't know if it was ever what she wanted. She is on the harvard track with her amazing boyfriend (guys, i really really love him), and she's a straight A, extra circular load up kind of student. She doesn't know if this is what she wants anymore.. enter this boy, Declan.. I did not understand how this random boy's introduction made her question everything.. or why he was even a main part of the book. He barely shows up and when he does, it's like Juliet loses all logic. I didn't think it was fair the way she was pushing away her boyfriend or the way she was handling her situation. Half the time I was frustrated with her keeping everything to herself and wanting her life to stay the same but at the same time wanting it to change. I was all right with that.. people at this age question everything in life.. but I hated how she concisely knew she was hurting her boyfriend but went ahead with it and didn't give a crap because she was also hurt. That logic is really unlikable.  I like books where teenagers act like teenagers… but at the same time, I like books were there is growth.. because if there isn't, is there even a story to tell? people might tell me "but you just said you like books where teenagers act like teenagers".. but here's the thing.. there are some actions that are unforgivable to me, one of them is cheating. I can't support, or even care anymore about a person who does such a thing. I am all for reading about dislikable characters.. but when their initial motive and the reason they persist to act in such a way is confusing and unanswered.. i question my desire to even continue reading the book. However all in all, even though I really hated that part of the book, I do like Melissa Kantor's writing. My finishing the book and giving it 3 stars is evident enough how I appreciate her writing style. I personally won't recommend this book to anyone because I don't support cheating, but if people don't care about that aspect of the book, then I say go for it. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not worth it. Boring, too undevelpoed, and bad topic. I feel like this author would be amazing at some other genre of fiction. This book just did not click for me.
Mindovermatter1901 More than 1 year ago
Juliet Newman's life is perfect, she gets perfect grades, she has the perfect family, a perfect boyfriend of four years and she's on track to start Harvard in the fall. But when the threads holding Juliet's perfect life together start to unravel she realizes that perfection isn't all it's cracked up to be.  After her father leaves her mother Juliet comes home to find that her mother has overdosed on sleeping pills and is unconscious in the bathroom. After finding out it may not have been an accident Juliet is forced to move in with her boyfriends family while her mother stays at a mental institution.  On top of worrying about her mom, keeping up with her grades and trying to get a better score on the SATS Juliet now has to worry about the stranger she had a one night stand with, the stranger who just showed up in her English AP class. I was not a big fan of this book, so many things about it didn't add up and the character's were so undeveloped it drove me crazy.  First off for somebody who finds their mother unconscious in the bathroom covered in blood she was very calm about the situation. There wasn't really any drama or climatic scene. She found her. They went to the hospital and she didn't talk about it afterwards.  Secondly, I hate cheaters, whether it's a kiss on the cheek or if you're getting naked in the back of your car, a cheaters a cheater and I don't like you. I don't trust you and I won't be rooting for you no matter what else happens in the story. She never owned up to her mistakes or had to deal with any consequences of her cheating.  And thirdly, I don't know if I'm the only one who noticed this or if maybe I'm the only one who got creeped out by it but there is a scene in the book where Juliet has just come back from visiting her mother and is thinking about whether or not she's going to turn out like her and her boyfriends mother (Grace) comes into the kitchen. One minute she's hugging Grace thanking her for being there and the next she's eyeing a meat cleaver wondering about how the kitchen would look if she smashed in Grace's brains and splattered them across the room... What. The. HELL?  Juliet's mother is in a psych ward because of an overdose, she didn't try to bash someones head in with a cooking utensil! Yet here Juliet is, randomly wondering about killing her boyfriends mother. Yes. That makes perfect sense and flowed so well with the story...  There were so many other things in this book that made me want to pull my hair out but I feel like if I don't stop now this is going to be ridiculously long.  In short, no I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone and at this point I'm a little put off by the authors writing and I'm unsure if I'll be reading anything else by her.  Until next time, Ginger  In compliance with FTC guidelines I am disclosing that this book was given to me for free to review.  My review is my honest opinion.