Blow by Blow/Truth

Blow by Blow/Truth

by Jeff Beck



Here's another one of Sony Legacy's two-fers that features a pair of mismatched classics in Jeff Beck's 1975 fusion classic Blow by Blow and his earlier, much more rockist Truth from 1968. While it's hard to discern exactly who the suits over at Legacy are marketing this toward -- Beck fans have long since had both records a couple of times over it seems -- this is a powerhouse pair even if they are ordered in the reverse. The Blow by Blow band featured keyboardist Max Middleton (from an earlier incarnation of the Jeff Beck Group), bassist Phil Chen (Beck played bass as well as guitar here), and drummer Richard Bailey. George Martin produced this set. It contains the original studio version of "Freeway Jam," though it's the live version with Jan Hammer that is usually celebrated. Truth by turns, was produced by Mickie Most, and featured Rod Stewart and Ronnie Wood along with guests Jimmy Page, Aynsley Dunbar, John Paul Jones, and Madeline Bell; it's a balls-out rocker full of earthquaking blues such as Willie Dixon's "I Ain't Superstitious" and "You Shook Me," the power ballad "Morning Dew," and a reading of fellow former Yardbird Chris Dreja's "Shapes of Things" along with the well-known guitar hero workout "Beck's Bolero." The value in this budget-priced package is strictly for those who haven't already replaced their LP collections (which they should rethink in the 21st century) or are new to Beck's work outside the Yardbirds. For the latter, these recordings are bona fide classics.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/22/2008
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0886973334126
catalogNumber: 733341

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jeff Beck   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Guitar,Steel Guitar,Vocals
Jimmy Page   Guitar (12 String Electric)
Rod Stewart   Vocals
John Carter   Background Vocals
Madeline Bell   Background Vocals
Nicky Hopkins   Piano
John Paul Jones   Organ,Strings
Aynsley Dunbar   Drums
Clem Cattini   Drums
Phil Chen   Bass
Max Middleton   Keyboards
Mickey Waller   Percussion
Ken Lewis   Background Vocals
Ken Lewis   Background Vocals
John Marshall Carter   Background Vocals
Mysterious Scottish Bloke   Bagpipes
Richard Bailey   Percussion

Technical Credits

Graham Gouldman   Composer
George Martin   Arranger,Producer,Orchestral Arrangements,Audio Production
Jerome Kern   Composer
Denim Bridges   Engineer
Scott English   Composer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Mickie Most   Producer
John Collier   Cover Art
Hugh Gilmour   Reissue Design
Charles Shaar Murray   Liner Notes
Traditional   Composer
Jeffrey Rod   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews