Border Wars: The First Fifty Years of Atlantic Coast Conference Football

Border Wars: The First Fifty Years of Atlantic Coast Conference Football


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16


In May of 1953, seven institutions—Clemson University, Duke University, the University of Maryland, the University of North Carolina, North Carolina State University, Wake Forest University, and the University of South Carolina—voted to break away from the Southern Conference and form a new league, the Atlantic Coast Conference. That same year, they were joined by the University of Virginia. Fifty years later, ACC football is still going strong, as chronicled in this definitive history by K. Adam Powell. From kickoff to touchdown, Powell presents an in-depth look at the players, games, and memorable moments that have shaped the first half-century of Atlantic Coast Conference football. Border Wars covers all of the important details-including the conference's founding, its five national championship teams, and even the scandals that have rocked programs at Clemson and Florida State. The book also provides the coaching records and season standings of ACC football teams from 1953 to 2002, making this the ideal reference source for ACC fans. Includes 16 photos.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780810848399
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 08/15/2004
Series: American Sports History Series , #27
Pages: 448
Product dimensions: 6.64(w) x 8.44(h) x 0.93(d)

About the Author

Adam Powell is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He contributes articles to, the online partner of the ACC Area Sports Journal.

Table of Contents

1A New League, a New Champion (1953)1
2Breaking Ground (1954-1959)9
3A Devil of a Dynasty (1960-1962)37
4An Era of Change (1963-1968)51
5One-Hit Wonders (1969-1970)83
6Blue Heaven (1971-1972)95
7Red Tide (1973-1976)109
8Running Wild (1977-1980)135
9Orange Crush (1981)163
10A Two-Team League (1982-1988)175
11Breaking Through (1989)217
12Wrecking Crew (1990)229
13A New Arrival (1991-2000)241
14A Half Century Comes to an End (2001-2002)323
15The Future of Atlantic Coast Conference Football347
Appendix ACoaching Records361
Appendix BSeason Records365
About the Author420

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews