Breathe Deep

Breathe Deep

by Guy Penrod



CCM crooner Guy Penrod's first project outside of the massive umbrella of the Gaither Vocal Band stays true to the vocalist's spiritual pedigree while making a bid for country radio. Breathe Deep, a 13-track collection of "positive country music with Christian undertones" showcases Penrod's strong vocals and blue-collar leanings, especially on standout cuts like "Young Enough to Know Better" and "Even When We Do." The subjects of family values, child rearing, spirituality, and temptation have been country music staples since the genre began, which makes Breathe Deep less of a departure than longtime Gaither fans may think. Penrod has hardly forsaken his roots, as the foundation for everything on the record is clearly steeped in gospel, and while it may lack the gravitas to dominate modern country radio in the same way as Tim McGraw or Carrie Underwood, it skillfully blurs the line between contemporary Christian music and contemporary country Music.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/23/2010
Label: Spring House
UPC: 0617884605223
catalogNumber: 46052

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Guy Penrod   Primary Artist
Eric Darken   Percussion
Shane Keister   Keyboards
Shannon Forrest   Percussion,Drums
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar,Slide Guitar,Soloist
David Hungate   Bass
Rob Ickes   Dobro
B. James Lowry   Acoustic Guitar
Brent Rowan   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Slide Guitar,6-string bass,Soloist,Synthesizer Pads
Tommy White   Steel Guitar
Aubrey Haynie   Fiddle,Mandolin
Lisa Cochran   Background Vocals
Craig Young   Bass
Bryan Sutton   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Bouzouki
Angie Penrod   Background Vocals
Wes Hightower   Background Vocals
James Mitchell   Electric Guitar

Technical Credits

Jeff Stevens   Composer
Brian White   Composer
Marc Beeson   Composer
Billy Crain   Composer
Barry Dean   Composer
Guy Penrod   Liner Notes
Brent Rowan   Producer,overdub engineer
J.B. Rudd   Composer
Vip Vipperman   Composer
Craig White   Engineer
Neal Coty   Composer
Billy Montana   Composer
Jerry Salley   Composer
Shaye Smith   Composer
Wynn Varble   Composer
Tammy Hyler   Composer
Bob Regan   Composer
Luellyn Latocki   Art Direction
Jason Matthews   Composer
Tony Wood   Composer
Jeff Crump   Graphic Design,Art Direction
Jimmy Melton   Composer
Phil O'Donnell   Composer
Sarah Darling   Composer
Don Poythress   Composer
Brandy Clark   Composer
Mike Mobley   Composer
Sue C. Smith   Composer
Adam Wheeler   Composer
Mark Narmore   Composer
Billy Austin   Composer
Jon Mabe   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Breathe Deep 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was so nice at Barnes and Noble and everyone was very helpful to find the correct location to pick up the cd. I enjoyed the cd so much and enjoyed shopping at Barnes & Noble. I really appreciate you being so close to where I live.