Chess Blues Classics: 1947-1956

Chess Blues Classics: 1947-1956



Part of a two-volume set as part of MCA's Chess 50th Anniversary collection, this offers a 16-track thumbnail sketch of the sounds that made the label the tops in the blues field. Beginning with two Aristocrat sides (the label's original moniker) from 1948 and 1949 featuring Muddy Waters ("I Can't Be Satisfied") and Little Johnny Jones ("Big Town Playboy" with Muddy on backup guitar), the collection rolls through its treasures chronologically, virtually cherry-picking the hits from the innumerable classics stored in the Chess vaults. With Jimmy Rogers' "That's All Right," Eddie Boyd's "Twenty-Four Hours," John Lee Hooker's "Sugar Mama," Lowell Fulson's "Reconsider Baby" and J.B. Lenoir's "Eisenhower Blues" providing nice changes of pace from the big hits of Muddy, Howlin' Wolf, Sonny Boy Williamson, and Little Walter aboard, this is by no means a lightweight collection. As a greatest-hits package, perhaps one could easily nitpick over what isn't on here, while also just as easily dismissing their inclusion as another repackaging of the same old stuff. But as a simple-to-digest primer of some of the best the label had to offer during its first landmark decade in business, this compilation hits the bullseye in a big way. A perfect one to stick in a multi-disc CD player, hit shuffle play, and prepare to be continually pleased.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/25/1997
Label: Chess
UPC: 0076732936924
catalogNumber: 9369

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Billy Boy Arnold   Harmonica
Eddie Boyd   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
James Cotton   Harmonica
Willie Dixon   Bass,Track Performer
Lowell Fulson   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
John Lee Hooker   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
J.B. Lenoir   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Little Walter   Harmonica,Vocals,Track Performer
Louis Myers   Guitar
Hubert Sumlin   Guitar
Harold Ashby   Tenor Saxophone
Lorenzo Smith   Tenor Saxophone
Choker Campbell   Saxophone
Johnny Jones   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Jody Williams   Guitar
Robert Lockwood   Guitar
Jerome Arnold   Maracas
Julien Beasley   Saxophone
Fred Below   Drums
Bo Diddley   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Howlin' Wolf   Harmonica,Vocals,Track Performer
Leonard Caston   Guitar
Francis Clay   Drums
Leroy Cooper   Bass
Ernest "Big" Crawford   Bass
Paul Drake   Piano
Duncan   Drums
Elgin Evans   Drums
Leroy Foster   Bass Drums,Hi Hat
Clifton James   Drums
Hosea Lee Kennard   Piano
Lafayette Leake   Piano
Joe Montgomery   Piano
Muddy Waters   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
David "Fathead" Newman   Saxophone
Earl Phillips   Drums
Jimmy Rogers   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Otis Spann   Piano
Percy Walker   Drums
Sonny Boy Williamson [II]   Harmonica,Vocals,Track Performer
Chick Booth   Drums
Ollie Crawford   Guitar
Little Sax Crowder   Tenor Saxophone
Garvin   Drums
Phillip Gibeaux   Saxophone
Fats Morris   Trombone
Andrew Stephens   Bass
Dave Myers   Guitar

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Producer
Leonard Chess   Producer
Phil Chess   Producer
Leroy Foster   Contributor
Andy McKaie   Producer
Chris Morris   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews