Classic Cuts: 1933-41

Classic Cuts: 1933-41

by The Delmore Brothers


$24.98 $28.99 Save 14% Current price is $24.98, Original price is $28.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


Classic Cuts 1933-1941 contains 87 tracks, spread out over four CDs, tracing the earliest recordings of the Delmore Brothers. These pre-King sides highlight the initial stages of the brothers' unique vocal harmonies and early forays into blues, ballads, Appalachian folk songs, and spirituals that would later jell into country boogie by the mid-'40s. These tracks are rich in early Americana fare, as indicated by the titles: "Bury Me Out on the Prairie," "Blow Yo' Whistle Freight Train," "Careless Love (Bring My Baby Back)," and "Old Mountain Dew." Also emphasized is the Delmore Brothers' love of gospel material, highlighted by "Are You Marching With the Saviour," "When We Held Our Hymn Books Together," and "God Put a Rainbow in the Clouds." JSP did an admirable job remastering the tracks, providing recording dates, and separating the discs into specific areas: Chicago 1933 and New Orleans 1935; Charlotte, NC, 1936-1937; Charlotte, NC, 1937-1938 and Rocky Hill, SC, 1938-1939; and Atlanta, GA, 1940 and New York 1940-1941.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/11/2004
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065772727
catalogNumber: 7727
Rank: 80555


Disc 1

  1. I Ain't Got Nowhere to Travel
  2. Smokey Mountain Bill and His Song
  3. Gonna Lay Down My Old Guitar
  4. Lonesome Yodel Blues
  5. Brown's Ferry Blues
  6. I'm Mississippi Bound
  7. I've Got the Big River Blues
  8. The Girls Don't Worry My Mind
  9. Bury Me Out on the Prairie
  10. The Frozen Girl
  11. Lonesome Jailhouse Blues
  12. Blue Railroad Train
  13. When It's Summertime in a Southern Clime
  14. Blow Yo' Whistle, Freight Train
  15. Down South
  16. Brown's Ferry Blues, Pt. 2
  17. I Got the Kansas City Blues
  18. Alabama Lullaby
  19. The Fugitive's Lament
  20. I'm Going Away
  21. I Long to See My Mother
  22. Lorena, The Slave

Disc 2

  1. The Nashville Blues
  2. The Lover's Warning
  3. I'm Worried Now
  4. Take Away This Lonesome Day
  5. Promise Me You'll Always Be Faithful
  6. Don't You See That Train
  7. It's Takin' Me Down
  8. That Yodelin' Gal -- Miss Julie
  9. I'm Gonna Change My Way
  10. Happy Hickey -- The Hobo
  11. Lonesome Yodel Blues
  12. Put Me on the Train to Carolina
  13. My Smokey Mountain Gal
  14. Take Me Back to the Range
  15. No Drunkard Can Enter There
  16. Southern Moon
  17. False Hearted Girl
  18. The Budded Rose
  19. The Blind Child
  20. Are You Marching With the Savior
  21. No One

Disc 3

  1. Lead Me
  2. I Need the Prayers of Those I Love
  3. I've Got the Railroad Blues
  4. The Weary Lonesome Blues
  5. Heavenly Light Is Shining on Me
  6. Wonderful There
  7. Singing My Troubles Away
  8. They Say It Is Sinful to Flirt
  9. Till the Roses Bloom Again
  10. When We Held Our Hymn Books Together
  11. Hi de Ho Baby Mine
  12. Goodbye Booze
  13. Careless Love (Bring My Baby Back)
  14. In That Vine Covered Chapel in the Valley
  15. The Cannon Ball
  16. 15 Miles from Birmingham
  17. Where Is My Sailor Boy
  18. Just the Same Sweet Thing to Me
  19. A Better Range Is Home
  20. Don't Let My Ramblin' Bother Your Mind
  21. Wabash Blues
  22. Go Easy Mabel

Disc 4

  1. Over the Hills
  2. The Dying Truckdriver
  3. Scatterbrain Mama
  4. Happy on the Mississippi Shore
  5. Rainin' on the Mountain
  6. See That Coon in a Hickory Tree
  7. The Storms Are on the Ocean
  8. Back to Birmingham
  9. The Eastern Gate
  10. God Put a Rainbow in the Clouds
  11. There's Trouble on My Mind Today
  12. Silver Dollar
  13. Old Mountain Dew
  14. In the Blue Hills of Virginia
  15. Make Room in the Lifeboat for Me
  16. When It's Time for the Whip-Poor-Will to Sing
  17. Will You Be Lonesome Too?
  18. Broken Hearted Lover
  19. I Now Have a Bugle to Play
  20. Baby Girl
  21. Gospel Cannonball
  22. Honey I'm Ramblin' Away

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Delmore Brothers   Primary Artist
Alton Delmore   Guitar,Vocals
Rabon Delmore   Vocals,Guitar (Tenor)
Joe Zincan   String Bass
Chuck Maudlin   Fiddle
Smiley O'Brien   Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Earl Scruggs   Composer
Delmore Brothers   Composer
A.P. Carter   Composer
Alton Delmore   Composer
Rabon Delmore   Composer
Bascom Lamar Lunsford   Composer
Dave Ringle   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Pat Harrison   Liner Notes
Bill Sprouse   Composer
Fred Meinken   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Classic Cuts: 1933-41 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
bigT More than 1 year ago
If you like old time country music you will love this collection.