Country Bluegrass Homecoming, Vol. 1

Country Bluegrass Homecoming, Vol. 1

by Bill & Gloria Gaither



The words "Country" and "Bluegrass" in the title of this live various-artists album don't necessarily suggest gospel music, but "Homecoming" signals that this is a release from the Gaither combine, and thus must be religiously oriented. The 20 tracks are handled by 19 different performers in traditional country and bluegrass styles, and the lineup is stellar, including George Jones, Vince Gill, Ralph Stanley, Marty Stuart, Rhonda Vincent, and Doyle Lawson, to cite some names that may be familiar beyond the gospel field. They fit right in with the all-gospel artists in songs that praise God, confess earthly troubles, and look forward to a heavenly reward. Jason Crabb contributes the maudlin, if devout "I Sure Miss You," directed at a departed loved one and expressing the comfort of religion to compensate for loss. After all, the dead are in heaven, where the faithful hope to follow them soon. Bluegrass gospel often reveals this strain of solemnity and outright mourning, and Gill brings it back feelingly at the end with his reading of "Go Rest High on That Mountain," making it a fitting conclusion.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/19/2008
Label: Spring House
UPC: 0617884273620
catalogNumber: 42736

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bill & Gloria Gaither   Primary Artist
Paul Franklin   Musician
Gordon Mote   Piano,Musician
Duncan Mullins   Musician
Brent Rowan   Musician
Pete Wasner   Musician

Technical Credits

Ralph Stanley   Composer
Marty Stuart   Composer
Billy Sprague   Composer
Ronnie Bowman   Composer
Vince Gill   Composer
John Newton   Composer
William Gaither   Composer
Albert E. Brumley   Composer
Ernie Haase   Composer
Sonya Isaacs   Composer
Joel Lindsey   Composer
Mosie Lister   Composer
John Rimel   Composer
Wayne Haun   Composer
Suzanne Jennings   Composer
Gerald Crabb   Composer
Candace Randolph   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews