Cover Art

Cover Art

by The Next Collective


$16.54 $18.99 Save 13% Current price is $16.54, Original price is $18.99. You Save 13%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 18


A jazz supergroup comprised of some of the biggest up-and-coming names in forward-thinking jazz, Next Collective features saxophonists Logan Richardson and Walter Smith, guitarist Matthew Stevens, pianist Gerald Clayton, keyboardist Kris Bowers, bassist Ben Williams, and drummer Jamire Williams. Also joining in on the group's 2013 debut album, Cover Art, is acclaimed New Orleans trumpeter Christian Scott. Straddling the line between contemporary jazz, R&B, hip-hop, and harmonically advanced post-bop, Cover Art showcases Next Collective performing a variety of cover songs by contemporary artists like Jay-Z, D'Angelo, Pearl Jam, Drake, and others. In many ways, the album seems like an inspired attempt at developing a body of "new standards" for jazz musicians much in the same way previous generations covered pop songs and Broadway hits of their day. In that sense, Cover Art brings to mind such similar efforts by artists like Brad Mehldau and the Bad Plus, who've both recorded albums of covers by artists from the '70s and onward. The difference is that Next Collective is neither strictly a modern creative jazz band, nor a smooth jazz outfit, but more a group of like-minded, jazz-trained musicians who regularly improvise as a means of artistic expression. Ultimately, with songs that cross the line between edgy, atmospheric alt rock, groove-oriented R&B, and exploratory modal jazz, Cover Art feels less like a side project, and more the work of a unified ensemble.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/26/2013
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0888072333628
catalogNumber: 33362
Rank: 115701

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Next Collective   Primary Artist
Christian Scott   Trumpet,Siren
Gerald Clayton   Piano,fender rhodes
Logan Richardson   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Walter Smith   Bass Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Jamire Williams   Drums
Kris Bowers   fender rhodes
Matthew Stevens   Guitar
Ben Williams   Bass,Electric Bass

Technical Credits

James Brown   Composer
Phil Manzanera   Composer
Gary Wright   Composer
Jeff Ament   Composer
John Burk   Executive Producer
D'Angelo   Composer
Mike Dean   Composer
Chris Dunn   Producer
Tim Gane   Composer
Stone Gossard   Composer
Meshell Ndegeocello   Composer
Laetitia Sadier   Composer
Eddie Vedder   Composer
Charles Njapa   Composer
Christian Scott   Arranger,Producer
Pharrell Williams   Composer
Luther Archer   Composer
Dido Armstrong   Composer
Shawn Carter   Composer
Kanye West   Composer
Chad Hugo   Composer
Kevin Zinger   Management
Jason Beck   Composer
Paul Herman   Composer
Yukimi Nagano   Composer
Ivory Daniel   Management
Adrian Eccleston   Composer
Gerald Clayton   Arranger,Producer,Management,Representation
Logan Richardson   Arranger,Producer
Walter Smith   Arranger,Producer
Justin Vernon   Composer
Håkan Wirenstrand   Composer
Fredrik Kallgren Wallin   Composer
Erik Bodin   Composer
Noah Shebib   Composer
Angela Laverne Stone   Composer
Aubrey "Drake" Graham   Composer
Jamire Williams   Arranger,Producer
Andrew Ramsay   Composer
Ahmir Thompson   Composer
Charles Gonzales   Composer
Matthew Stevens   Arranger,Producer
Ted Tuthill   Engineer
Gail Boyd   Management
Frank Ocean   Composer
Joseph Roach   Composer
Terius Nash   Composer
Ben Williams   Arranger,Producer
Next Collective   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews