Crossing Ebenezer Creek

Crossing Ebenezer Creek

by Tonya Bolden

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.49 $8.79 Save 15% Current price is $7.49, Original price is $8.79. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

When Mariah and her young brother Zeke are suddenly freed from slavery, they join Sherman's march through Georgia. Mariah wants to believe that the brutalities of slavery are behind them, but even as hope glimmers, there are many hardships yet to come. When she meets a free black named Caleb, Mariah dreams in a way she never dared . . . of a future worth living and the possibility of true love. But even hope comes at a cost, and as the difficult march continues toward the churning waters of Ebenezer Creek, Mariah's dreams are as vulnerable as ever.

In this powerful exploration of a little-known tragedy perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys, readers will never forget the souls of Ebenezer Creek.

A School Library Journal Best Book of 2017, Young Adult

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781619630550
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication date: 05/30/2017
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 465,782
File size: 816 KB
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Tonya Bolden is a critically acclaimed award-winning author/co-author/editor of more than two dozen books for young people. They include Finding Family which received two starred reviews and was a Kirkus Reviews and Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year; Maritcha: A Nineteenth-Century American Girl, a Coretta Scott King honor book and James Madison Book Award winner; MLK: Journey of a King, winner of a National Council of Teachers of English Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children; Emancipation Proclamation: Lincoln and the Dawn of Liberty, an ALSC Notable Children's Book, CBC/NCSS Notable Social Studies Trade Book for Young People, and winner of the NCSS Carter G. Woodson Middle Level Book Award. Tonya also received the Children's Book Guild of Washington, DC's Nonfiction Award. A Princeton University magna cum laude baccalaureate with a master's degree from Columbia University, Tonya lives in New York City.
www.tonyaboldenbooks.com
Tonya Bolden is a critically acclaimed award-winning author/co-author/editor of more than two dozen books for young people. They include Finding Family which received two starred reviews and was a Kirkus Reviewsand Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year; Maritcha: A Nineteenth-Century American Girl, a Coretta Scott King honor book and James Madison Book Award winner; MLK: Journey of a King, winner of a National Council of Teachers of English Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children; Emancipation Proclamation: Lincoln and the Dawn of Liberty, an ALSC Notable Children's Book, CBC/NCSS Notable Social Studies Trade Book for Young People, and winner of the NCSS Carter G. Woodson Middle Level Book Award. Tonya also received the Children's Book Guild of Washington, DC's Nonfiction Award. A Princeton University magna cum laude baccalaureate with a master's degree from Columbia University, Tonya lives in New York City.
www.tonyaboldenbooks.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Crossing Ebenezer Creek 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Ameed_Muza More than 1 year ago
The author of this book, Tonya Bolden is a really good writer, historian, and storyteller. This book is for readers that are teens and in high school. This book is based on the Civil War and during the times of slavery. If you are a person that is interested in history, this book will be amazing to read. The book is told from pov's of slaves that were then freed why the Yankees soldiers. The freed slaves then join along with the soldiers on the march south. Among those that were freed was a young lady named Mariah and her younger brother Zeke. They both go in the wagon with another black man but was free before and begin their journey. Both Caleb and Mariah had a somewhat connection but didn't become anything in the beginning. Throughout the story, the freed slaves talk about the things they went through as slaves, the beatings, rape, and physical and mental abuse and this give a person a thought of how did people think this was okay to do back in the 1800's. The main characters of the story, Caleb and Mariah both have the connection and their trust starts to get stronger, and this makes the book 100x better. Mariah happy to be free and to live with no worry but still knowing that there is an enemy still out there. And the enemy was really close in some way. I have never heard about the story of the Crossing the Ebenezer Creek and this gives me chills because what the freed slaves went through was beyond terrible. The freed slaves had finally had hope to finally live. But this wasn't the case when crossing Ebenezer Creek. The slaves that were freed from the Union army and helped were then just betrayed and got played. This ending is a really deep ending and sad ending. Just to find out they finally have hope and to finally to trust someone for it to be ended and get betrayed. Overall this book is a good book if you are interested in history or like learning about new things. This book will open your eyes more and start wondering how did people live like this. I would definitely recommend this book, and hope kids read this at school. 5/5 star.