Darkman [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Darkman [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

by Danny Elfman


View All Available Formats & Editions


This album was sort of tossed out by MCA without fanfare after Darkman was released to only minor success. It's another in the series of dramatic, heavily orchestrated scores Elfman is known for, orchestrated by Steve Bartek with an assist from conductor Shirley Walker. While comparisons have been made between this score and that for Batman, there are major differences -- this score is brighter, often more obvious in its effects than Batman was, with a brassier overall tone that works well. There are also some delightfully demented moments -- "Carnival From Hell" is fairground music tilted at an angle, the funhouse mirrors peeking through. For some people, the differences in tone and attitude won't be enough to make it worthwhile, and it's certainly true that there's some repetitiveness involved here -- Elfman needs to break away for a while from fantasy/horror/science fiction/comic book scoring and develop his compositional abilities in other directions. However, it's not a bad release by all means; in some respects it's a stronger score than the one for Dick Tracy, and more dynamic in tone than Nightbreed.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/17/1990
Label: Mca
UPC: 0008811009427
catalogNumber: 10094


  1. Main Titles
  2. Woe, the Darkman...Woe!
  3. Rebuilding/Failure
  4. Love Theme
  5. Julie Transforms
  6. Rage/Peppy Science
  7. Creating Pauley
  8. Double Durante
  9. The Plot Unfolds (Dancing Freak)
  10. Carnival from Hell
  11. Julie Discovers Darkman
  12. High Steel
  13. Finale/End Credits

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews