American Blackout

American Blackout

Director: Ian Inaba Cast: Cynthia McKinney, John Lewis, Greg Palast



The ways in which African-American voters have been marginalized in the electoral process are examined in this activist documentary. In the investigation of ballot counting in Florida in the much-contested 2000 presidential election, it was discovered that many of the communities where inaccurate tabulating took place were largely populate by African-Americans, who have traditionally been loyal Democratic voters. Filmmaker Ian Inaba digs into the controversy over the 2000 ballot count and the ways in which race played a hand in the legal decisions that resulted in George W. Bush's appointment as president. Ianba's research also leads him to Representative Cynthia McKinney, a congresswoman from Georgia who spearheaded an investigation of the firm that created voter lists for the State of Florida (and had ties to high-ranking Republican figures) and was also an outspoken opponent of Bush's policies regarding terrorism and the war in Iraq. In the 2002 election, McKinney had reason to believe she had fallen victim to the same corruption she sought to expose when she lost her House of Representatives seat in a hotly contested election. American Blackout received its premiere at the 2006 Sundance Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/03/2006
UPC: 0826262002794
Original Release: 2005
Rating: NR
Source: Disinformation
Region Code: 0
Time: 1:26:00

Special Features

Capital Hill police officers speak out on McKinney incident; 19 minute activist's tool - American Blackout: Ohio 2004; Deleted scenes with discussions on the Carlyle Group and AIPAC; True Lies animated short featuring Taalam Acey

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Cynthia McKinney Participant
John Lewis Participant
Greg Palast Participant
Vann Jones Participant
Christopher Edley Participant
John Conyers Participant
Mark Davis Participant
Stephanie Tubbs-Jones Participant

Technical Credits
Ian Inaba Director,Editor
Mark Batson Score Composer
Jean-Philippe Boucicaut Editor
Liz Canning Editor
Michael Dearden Score Composer
Jeff Hull Executive Producer
Anastasia King Producer
Anthony Lappe Executive Producer
Stephen Marshall Executive Producer
Joshua Shore Executive Producer
Soulsavers Score Composer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- American Blackout
1. True Lies [2:49]
2. When We Vote We Win [2:39]
3. The Formula [2:22]
4. The Felon List [4:09]
5. Choicepoint Hearing [4:38]
6. 9-11 [2:13]
7. Caught in the Crossfire [4:03]
8. Somebody to Hate [3:06]
9. The Cross Over [3:47]
10. Difficult Days [5:10]
11. Crossing the Bridge [4:55]
12. The Dangerous Truth [4:34]
13. Black Ballot Power [2:27]
14. On the Campaign Trail [2:01]
15. Closed Blinds and Covered Windows [2:20]
16. The Primary [3:52]
17. The Results [3:52]
18. George and Jesse [1:23]
19. The General Election [4:35]
20. Ohio 2004 [1:59]
21. The Ohio Debate [2:13]
22. The Objection [2:44]
23. Columbus Blackout [2:09]
24. Challengers and Provisional Ballots [2:08]
25. Blackwell and the Lines [3:06]
26. Back on the Hill [1:14]
27. McKinney and Rumsfeld [3:35]
28. Nothing to Lose [2:48]
29. Only You Can End the Blackout [:27]
30. Credits [1:52]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews