Best of the Andy Griffith Show

Best of the Andy Griffith Show

Director: Bob Sweeney Cast: Hal Smith, John Dehner, Leo Gordon

DVD (Black & White)


Somewhere around a dozen episodes of The Andy Griffith Show were apparently allowed to pass out of copyright some time during the late 1980's, and United American Video is one of perhaps a dozen companies that have issued them in various combinations. The three shows here, "Dogs, Dogs, Dogs," "High Noon In Mayberry," and "Aunt Bea's Medicine Man," all originally aired in early 1963, when the show was at or near its peak of popularity and freshness. The players had all slipped into their roles and the writers and producers had all hit their stride, so these are three perfectly good programs, showing off the mix of the gentle side of human nature and the quirky personalities that made the series one of the most popular on television for most of the 1960's -- indeed, looking at the program 40 years on, it seems to anticipate some elements of Northern Exposure, among other, more self-consciously "hip" series of the 1990's. Don Knotts is the sparkplug of the first two episodes, and Jim Nabors adds some delightful comic antics to the second show, "High Noon In Mayberry," and Hal Smith provides some extra comedy in that program and "Dogs, Dogs, Dogs." Burly, tough-guy character actor Leo Gordon plays a supporting role in "High Noon In Mayberry" that casts him distinctly against type; John Dehner also turns in a charming performance in "Aunt Bea's Medicine Man" as a smooth-talking seller of an alcohol-laden elixir. And just to show the cultural boundary that exists between then and now concerning these shows, "Aunt Bea's Medicine Man" opens with an extended solo comic sequence in which Don Knotts' Barney Fife character tries to comb his hair to look like Rock Hudson's picture. The prints utilized are of more than decent quality, a little dark at times but nicely detailed. As the theme music from the series is still under copyright, the opening and closing title sequences have had other, vaguely similar music dubbed on to the master. The disc opens automatically to the menu, and offers 10 chapter breaks across the three shows with a continuous time read-out.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/12/1997
UPC: 0084296400942
Original Release: 0000
Rating: NR
Source: Image Entertainment
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:15:00

Special Features

Dogs, Dogs, Dogs (Episode #93); High Noon in Mayberry (Episode #80), Aunt Bee's Medicine Man (Episode #87); Interactive menus; Scene access

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
2. Otis in Jail [15:48]
3. Barney Saves the Dogs [3:24]
4. State Investigator's Surprise [5:34]
5. Suspicious Letter [10:06]
6. Bus Passenger [7:44]
7. Reflection on the Past [5:13]
8. A Friend's Death [7:41]
9. Effects of Indian Elixir [10:35]
10. The Truth Comes Out [5:24]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews